This web site was copied prior to January 20, 2005. It is now a Federal record managed by the National Archives and Records Administration. External links, forms, and search boxes may not function within this collection. Learn more.   [hide]
Skip to main content
Skip to sub-navigation
About USAID Our Work Locations Policy Press Business Careers Stripes Graphic USAID Home
United States Agency for International Development  USAID
Africa Home
Country and Regional Programs »
Sectors »
Initiatives »
Success Stories »
Photo Library »
Publications »
Press Room »
Recent Site Updates
Search


Map of Africa highlighting country location.

Africa Bureau Offices

Country Desk Officers

Office Of The Assistant Administrator

Based in Washington, D.C. this office directs and supervises the activities of the Bureau and the USAID Missions in Africa, and currently includes the Acting Assistant Administrator and Deputy Assistant Administrators.

ASSISTANT ADMINISTRATOR (acting)
Carol A. Peasley
cpeasley@usaid.gov • (202) 712-0500

DEPUTY ASSISTANT ADMINISTRATOR
Katherine J. Almquist
kalmquist@usaid.gov • (202) 712-0500

Victorial Johnson - Secretary
vjohnson@usaid.gov • (202) 712-1801

DEPUTY ASSISTANT ADMINISTRATOR
Frank Young
fyoung@usaid.gov • (202) 712-0500

Julia Simpson - Secretary
jsimpson@usaid.gov • (202) 712-0500

Pat Dixon - Secretary
pdixon@usaid.gov • (202) 712-0500

COMMUNICATIONS ADVISOR
Ranta Russell
rrussell@usaid.gov • (202) 712-1137

Herschelle Challenor - AAAS Fellow
hchallenor@usaid.gov • (202) 712-1562

Back to Top ^

Office of Sustainable Development

The Office of Sustainable Development is responsible for:

  • Leading the Bureau's strategic thinking in key technical areas;
  • Supporting the Bureau and Africa Missions by providing analytical and technical assistance related to country programs; and
  • Coordinating with donors and partner organizations to promote social and economic development.

DIRECTOR
Harry M. Lightfoot, Sr.
hlightfoot@usaid.gov • (202) 712-5534

Back to Top ^

Office of Development Planning

This office assumes the lead in defining the overall policy, program and procedural framework within which the country programs are designed and implemented, plays an active role in identifying and addressing cross-cutting issues, assures necessary budget support and collaborates with all relevant USAID/W offices to:

  • Develop and monitor the Africa Bureau strategy for providing assistance to Africa;
  • Manage an efficient, effective and responsive budget allocation system; and
  • Provide outreach in support of the Africa program

DIRECTOR
Wade Warren
wwarren@usaid.gov
• (202) 712-1660

Back to Top ^

Office of West African Affairs

DIRECTOR
Carol Grigsby
cgrigsby@usaid.gov • (202) 712-0220

PROGRAM ANALYSIS SUPPORT
Gordon Bertolin
gbertolin@usaid.gov • (202) 712-4835

Office of Southern Africa Affairs

DIRECTOR
Patrick Fleuret
pfleuret@usaid.gov • (202) 712-1803

REGIONAL ADVISOR
Edith Houston
ehouston@usaid.gov • (202) 712-4544

Program Analysis Support
Patricia Jordan
pjordan@usaid.gov • (202) 712-0125

Office of Eastern Africa Affairs

DIRECTOR
Jeff Borns
jborns@usaid.gov • (202) 712-4195

DEPUTY DIRECTOR
John Schneider
jschneider@usaid.gov • (202) 712-1621

Back to Top ^

Country Desk Officers

Based in Washington, D.C., the Country Desks function as liaisons between field offices and Washington-based management & technical staff, and between USAID and the public.

West Africa

BENIN - Cotonou
Linda Crawford • lcrawford@usaid.gov • (202) 712-5643

BURKINA FASO - Ouagadougou
Crystal Garrett • cgarrett@usaid.gov • (202) 712-0371

CAMEROON - Yaounde
Torina Way • tway@usaid.gov • (202) 712-5963

CAPE VERDE - Praia
Crystal Garrett • cgarrett@usaid.gov • (202) 712-0371

CENTRAL AFRICAN REPUBLIC
Vic Duarte • vduarte@usaid.gov • (202) 712-1627

CHAD - N'Djamena
Bernard Lane • blane@usaid.gov • (202) 712-4153

CÔTE D' IVOIRE - Abidjan
Harry Proctor • hproctor@usaid.gov • (202) 712-5117

EQUATORIAL GUINEA - Malabo
Linda Crawford • lcrawford@usaid.gov • (202) 712-5643

GABON - Libreville
Torina Way • tway@usaid.gov • (202) 712-5963

GAMBIA - Banjul
Bernard Lane • blane@usaid.gov • (202) 712-4153

GHANA - Accra
Torina Way • tway@usaid.gov • (202) 712-5963

GUINEA - Conakry
Bernard Lane • blane@usaid.gov • (202) 712-4153

GUINEA BISSAU - Bissau
Bernard Lane • blane@usaid.gov • (202) 712-4153

LIBERIA - Monrovia
(Acting) Angela Reading • areading@usaid.gov • (202) 712-1636

MALI - Bamako
Lisa Chandonnet • lchandonnet@usaid.gov • (202) 712-4136

MAURITANIA - Nouakchott
Crystal Garrett • cgarrett@usaid.gov • (202) 712-0371

NIGER - Niamey
Lisa Chandonnet • lchandonnet@usaid.gov • (202) 712-4136

NIGERIA - Abuja
Akua Kwateng-Addo • AKwateng-addo@usaid.gov • (202) 712-0673

SÃO TOMÉ and PRINCIPE
Torina Way • tway@usaid.gov • (202) 712-5963

SENEGAL - Dakar
Harry Proctor • hproctor@usaid.gov • (202) 712-5117

SIERRA LEONE - Freetown
Lydia Hall • lhall@usaid.gov • (202) 712-5053

TOGO
Linda Crawford • lcrawford@usaid.gov • (202) 712-5643

West Africa Regional Program (WARP) - Ghana
Crystal Garrett • cgarrett@usaid.gov • (202) 712-0371

Back to Top ^

Southern Africa

ANGOLA - Luanda
C.W.T. Hagelman III • cwthagelman@usaid.gov • (202) 712-1515

BOTSWANA
(Acting) Ayanna Toure • aytoure@usaid.gov • (202) 712-5051

LESOTHO
Dwight Wilson • dwilson@usaid.gov • (202) 712-0902

MALAWI - Lilongwe
Sharon Cooke • scooke@usaid.gov• (202) 712-1141

MOZAMBIQUE - Maputo
Deborah Mendelson • dmendelson@usaid.gov • (202) 712-0302

NAMIBIA - Windhoek
Rosalind Best • rbest@usaid.gov • (202) 712-0839

SOUTH AFRICA - Pretoria
Lorie Dobbins • ldobbins@usaid.gov • (202) 712-1805

SWAZILAND
Dwight Wilson • dwilson@usaid.gov • (202) 712-0902

ZAMBIA - Lusaka
Katie Donohoe • kdonohue@usaid.gov • (202) 712-1518

ZIMBABWE - Harare
Marjorie Copson • mcopson@usaid.gov • (202) 712-1504

REGIONAL CENTER FOR SOUTHERN AFRICA (RCSA)
(Acting) Ayanna Toure • aytoure@usaid.gov • (202) 712-5051

Back to Top ^

Eastern Africa

Great Lakes Group/Horn of Africa Team Leader
Karen Nelson • knelson@usaid.gov • (202) 712-1626

BURUNDI - Bujumbura
Olutokunbo L. Cole • ocole@usaid.gov • (202) 712-5453

DR CONGO - Kinshasa
Karen O'Donnell • kodonnell@usaid.gov • (202) 712-1649

DJIBOUTI
Sean McClure • smcclure@usaid.gov • (202) 712-1959

ERITREA - Asmara
Karen Nelson • knelson@usaid.gov • (202) 712-1626

ETHIOPIA - Addis Ababa
Karen Nelson • knelson@usaid.gov • (202) 712-1959

KENYA - Nairobi
Julia Escalona • jescalona@usaid.gov • (202) 712-4981

MADAGASCAR - Antananarivo
Kathryn Walsh • kwalsh@usaid.gov • (202) 712-0335

MAURITIUS/SEYCHELLES/COMOROS
Kathryn Walsh • kwalsh@usaid.gov • (202) 712-0335

RWANDA - Kigali
Olutokunbo L. Cole • ocole@usaid.gov • (202) 712-5453

SOMALIA - Nairobi
Sean McClure • smcclure@usaid.gov • (202) 712-1959

SUDAN - Nairobi
Rebecca Niec • rniec@usaid.gov • (202) 712-5441

TANZANIA - Dar Es Salaam
Krista DesGranges • kdesgranges@usaid.gov • (202) 712-4457

UGANDA - Kampala
Krista DesGranges • kdesgranges@usaid.gov • (202) 712-4457

Regional Economic Development Services Office for East and Southern Africa (REDSO/ESA) - Nairobi
Julia Escalona • jescalona@usaid.gov • (202) 712-4981

Back to Top ^

Star