Oklahoma State Law OK Stat. Ann.

Title 21, Chapter 53. Manufacturing, Selling * * * Weapons

1273. Allowing minors to possess firearms.

- A. It shall be unlawful for any person within this state, to sell or give to any child any of the arms or weapons designated in Section 1272 of this title; provided, the provisions of this section shall not prohibit a parent from giving his or her child a rifle or shotgun for participation in hunting animals or fowl, hunter safety classes, target shooting, skeet, trap or other recognized sporting events, except as provided in subsection B of this section.
- B. It shall be unlawful for any parent or guardian to intentionally, knowingly, or recklessly permit his or her child to possess any of the arms or weapons designated in Section 1272 of this title, including any rifle or shotgun, if such parent is aware of a substantial risk that the child will use the weapon to commit a criminal offense or if the child has either been adjudicated a delinquent or has been convicted as an adult for any criminal offense.
- C. It shall be unlawful for any child to possess any of the arms or weapons designated in Section 1272 of this title, except rifles or shotguns used for participation in hunting animals or fowl, hunter safety classes, target shooting, skeet, trap or other recognized sporting event. Provided, the possession of rifles or shotguns authorized by this section shall not authorize the possession of such weapons by any person who is subject to the provisions of Section 1283 of this title.
- D. Any person violating the provisions of this section shall, upon conviction, be punished as provided in Section 1276 of this title, and any child violating the provisions of this section shall be subject to adjudication as a delinquent. In addition, any person violating the provisions of this section shall be liable for civil damages for any injury or death to any person and for any damage to property resulting from any discharge of a firearm or use of any other weapon. Any person convicted of violating the provisions of this section after having been issued a concealed handgun license pursuant to the provisions of the Oklahoma Self-Defense Act, Sections 1 through 25 of this act, may be liable for an administrative violation as provided in Section 1276 of this title.
- E. As used in this section, "child" means a person under eighteen (18) years of age.
- 1276. Penalty for 1272 and 1273. Any person violating the provisions of Section 1272 or 1273 shall, upon a first conviction, be adjudged guilty of a misdemeanor and the party offending shall be punished by a fine of not less than One Hundred Dollars (\$100.00) nor more than Two Hundred Fifty Dollars (\$250.00), or by imprisonment in the county jail for a period not to exceed thirty (30) days or both such fine and imprisonment. On the second and every subsequent violation, the party offending shall upon conviction, be punished by a fine of not less than Two Hundred Fifty Dollars (\$250.00) nor more than Five Hundred Dollars (\$500.00), or by imprisonment in the county jail for a period not less than thirty (30) days nor more than three (3) months, or by

both such fine and imprisonment.

Any person convicted of violating the provisions of Section 1272 or 1273 after having been issued a concealed handgun license pursuant to the provisions of the Oklahoma Self-Defense Act, Sections 1 through 25 of this act, shall have the license suspended for a period of six (6) months and shall be liable for an administrative fine of Fifty Dollars (\$50.00) upon a hearing and determination by the Oklahoma State Bureau of Investigation that the person is in violation of the provisions of this section.

1283. Convicted felons and delinquents.

- A. Except as provided in subsection B of this section, it shall be unlawful for any person convicted of any felony in any court of this state or of another state or of the United States to have in his possession or under his or her immediate control, or in any vehicle which the person is operating, or in which the person is riding as a passenger, or at the residence where the convicted person resides, any pistol, imitation or homemade pistol, machinegun, sawed-off shotgun or rifle, or any other dangerous or deadly firearm which could be easily concealed on the person, in personal effects or in an automobile.
- B. Any person who has previously been convicted of a nonviolent felony in any court of this state or of another state or of the United States, and who has received a full and complete pardon from the proper authority and has not been convicted of any other felony offense which has not been pardoned, shall have restored the right to possess any firearm or other weapon prohibited by subsection A of this section, the right to apply for and carry a concealed handgun pursuant to the Oklahoma Self-Defense Act, Section 1290.1 et seq. of this title, and the right to perform the duties of a peace officer, gunsmith, or for firearms repair.
- C. It shall be unlawful for any person supervised by the Department of Corrections or any division thereof to have in his or her possession or under his or her immediate control, or at his or her residence, or in any passenger vehicle which the supervised person is operating or is riding as a passenger, any pistol, shotgun or rifle, including any imitation or homemade pistol, shotgun or rifle, while such person is subject to supervision, probation, parole or inmate status.
- D. It shall be unlawful for any person previously adjudicated as a delinquent child for the commission of an offense, which would have constituted a felony offense if committed by an adult, to have in said person's possession or under the person's immediate control, or have in any vehicle which he or she is driving or in which said person is riding as a passenger, or at the person's residence, any pistol, imitation or homemade pistol, machinegun, sawed-off shotgun or rifle, or any other dangerous or deadly firearm which could be easily concealed on the person, in personal effects or in an automobile, within ten (10) years after such adjudication.
- **E.** Any person having been issued a concealed handgun license pursuant to the provisions of the Oklahoma Self-Defense Act, Section 1290.1 et seq. of this title, and who thereafter knowingly or intentionally allows a convicted felon or adjudicated delinquent as prohibited by the provisions of subsections A, C, or D of this section to possess or have control of any pistol authorized by the Oklahoma Self-Defense Act shall, upon conviction, be guilty of a felony punishable by a fine not to exceed Five Thousand Dollars (\$5,000.00).

In addition, the person shall have the handgun license revoked by the Oklahoma State Bureau of Investigation after a hearing and determination that the person has violated the provisions of this section.

- **F.** Any convicted or adjudicated person violating the provisions of this section shall, upon conviction, be guilty of a felony punishable as provided in Section 1284 of this title.
- G. For purposes of this section "sawed-off shotgun or rifle" shall mean any shotgun which has been shortened to any length.
- 1284. Penalty for 1283. Any previously convicted or adjudicated person who violates any provision of Section 1283 of this title shall be guilty of a felony, upon conviction thereof.
- 1289.1. Oklahoma Firearms Act of 1971. This act may be known and cited as the "Oklahoma Firearms Act of 1971."

1289.3. "Pistols" defined.

"Pistols" as used herein shall mean any firearm capable of discharging a projectile composed of any material which may reasonably be expected to be able to cause lethal injury, with a barrel or barrels less than sixteen (16) inches in length, and using either gunpowder, gas or any means of rocket propulsion, but not to include flare guns, underwater fishing guns or blank pistols.

1289.4. "Rifles" defined.

"Rifles" as used herein shall mean any firearm capable of discharging a projectile composed of any material which may reasonably be expected to be able to cause lethal injury, with a barrel or barrels more than sixteen (16) inches in length, and using either gunpowder, gas or any means of rocket propulsion, but not to include archery equipment, flare guns or underwater fishing guns. In addition, any rifle capable of firing "shot" but primarily designed to fire single projectiles will be regarded as a "rifle".

1289.5. "Shotguns" defined.

"Shotguns" as used herein shall mean any firearm capable of discharging a series of projectiles of any material which may reasonably be expected to be able to cause lethal injury, with a barrel or barrels more than eighteen (18) inches in length, and using either gunpowder, gas or any means of rocket propulsion, but not to include any weapon so designed with a barrel less than eighteen (18) inches in length. In addition, any "shotgun" capable of firing single projectiles but primarily designed to fire multiple projectiles such as "shot" will be regarded as a "shotgun".

1289.10. Furnishing firearms to incompetent persons. It shall be unlawful for any person to knowingly transmit, transfer, sell, lend or furnish any shot-gun, rifle or pistol to any person who is under an adjudication of mental incompetency, or to any person who is mentally deficient or of unsound mind. Any person convicted of a violation of the provisions of this section shall be punished as provided in Section 1289.15 of this title.

- 1289.12. Giving firearms to convicted felons. It shall be unlawful for any person within this state to knowingly sell, trade, give, transmit or otherwise cause the transfer of rifles, shotguns or pistols to any convicted felon, or an adjudicated delinquent, and it shall be lawful for any person within this state to knowingly sell, trade, give, transmit or otherwise cause the transfer of any shotgun, rifle or pistol to any individual who is under the influence of alcohol or drugs or is mentally or emotionally unbalanced or disturbed. All persons who engage in selling, trading or otherwise transferring firearms will display this section prominently in full view at or near the point of normal firearms sale, trade or transfer. Any person convicted of violating the provisions of this section shall be punished as provided in Section 1289.15 of this title.
- 1289.15. Penalty for Firearms Act of 1971. Any person adjudged guilty of violating any provision of Section 1289.9, 1289.10, 1289.11, 1289.12, or 1289.13 of this title shall, upon conviction, be punished b a fine of not less than Fifty Dollars (\$50.00) nor more than Five Hundred Dollars (\$500.00), or imprisonment in the county jail for not less than ten (10) days nor more than six (6) months, or by both such fine and imprisonment.

1289.18. Sawed-off shotgun and sawed-off rifle defined - Violations - Penalties.

- A. "Sawed-off shotgun" shall mean any firearm capable of discharging a series of projectiles of any material which may reasonably be expected to be able to cause lethal injury, with a barrel or barrels less than eighteen (18) inches in length, and using either gunpowder, gas or any means of rocket propulsion.
- **B. "Sawed-off rifle"** shall mean any rifle having a barrel or barrels less than sixteen (16) inches in length or any weapon made from a rifle (whether by alteration, modification, or otherwise) if such a weapon as modified has an overall length of less than twenty-six (26) inches in length, including the stock portion.
- C. Every person who has in his possession or under his immediate control a sawed-off shotgun or a sawed-off rifle, whether concealed or not, shall upon conviction be guilty of a felony for the possession of such device, and shall be punishable by a fine not to exceed One Thousand Dollars (\$1,000.00) or imprisonment in the penitentiary for a period not to exceed two (2) years, or both such fine and imprisonment.
- **D.** It is a defense to prosecution under this section, if the approved application form that authorized the making or transfer of the particular firearm to the defendant, which indicates the registration of the firearm to said defendant pursuant to the National Firearms Act, is introduced.
- 1289.19. Restricted bullet and body armor defined. As used in this act:

 1. "Restricted bullet" means a round or elongated missile with a core of less than sixty percent (60%) lead and having a fluorocarbon coating, which is designed to travel at a high velocity and is capable of penetrating body armor; and
- 2. "Body armor" means a vest or shirt of ten (10) plies or more of bullet resistant material as defined by the Office of Development, Testing and Dissemination, a division of the United States Department of Justice.

1289.20. Manufacture, importation or advertisement for sale of restricted bullets - Penalty.

- A. Except for the purpose of public safety or national security, it shall be unlawful to manufacture, cause to be manufactured, import, advertise for sale or sell within this state any restricted bullet as defined in [§ 1289.19]. *

 * * *
- 1289.21. Use or attempted use of restricted bullet Penalty. A. It shall be unlawful for any person to possess, carry upon his person, use or attempt to use against another person any restricted bullet as defined in [§ 1289.19]. * * * *
- 1289.22. Exemptions. The prohibition of possessing or using a restricted bullet shall not apply to law enforcement agencies when such bullet is used for testing, training or demonstration. * * * *

1289.24. Firearm regulation - State Preemption.

- A. The State Legislature hereby occupies and preempts the entire field of legislation in this state touching in any way firearms, components, ammunition, and supplies to the complete exclusion of any order, ordinance, or regulation by any municipality or other political subdivision of this state. Any existing or future orders, ordinances, or regulations in this field except as provided for in subsection C of this section are null and void. Provided however, a municipality may adopt any ordinance relating to the discharge of firearms within the jurisdiction of the municipality.
- **B.** No municipality or other political subdivision of this state shall adopt any order, ordinance, or regulation concerning in any way the sale, purchase, purchase delay, transfer, ownership, use, keeping, possession, carrying, bearing, transportation, licensing, permit, registration, taxation other than sales and compensating use taxes, or other controls on firearms, components, ammunition, and supplies.
- **C.** Nothing contained in this section shall prohibit any order, ordinance, or regulation by any municipality concerning the confiscation of property used in violation of the ordinances of the municipality as provided for in Section 28-121 of Title 11 of the Oklahoma Statutes.