days for the owner to provide an address outside of the city where such gun can be shipped.

- **(f)** Any handgun manufactured 50 or more years ago, or any handgun determined by the U.S.B.A.T.F. to be a relic or curio, or replica of a relic or curio or any firearm that does not fire fixed ammunition. (e.g Black Powder Guns)
- (g) Any person who acquires ownership of a "grandfathered" prohibited handgun (handguns that had previously been in compliance by virtue of having been properly listed on a Handgun Acknowledgement form by an owner who had a valid Handgun Identification Card) by inheritance or otherwise by operation of law shall not be in a Handgun Identification Card and complete a Toledo Handgun Acknowledgement Form within 30 days of acquiring ownership.
- (D) It shall be an affirmative defense to prosecution under this section that at the time of the violation the offender possessed:
- (1) a valid handgun owner's identification card; and
- (2) a Toledo Handgun Acknowledgement form describing by make, model and serial number the handgun(s) which would otherwise be unlawful to possess under this section and which form was signed by the person charged with the violation and acknowledged before a Notary Public on or before the effective date of this section;
- **(E)** The Toledo Handgun Acknowledgment form, Notice, and Appendix A shall be mailed to all persons who possess a Handgun Identification Permit. ....

[Toledo Municipal Code as of July 1, 2000]

#### Publisher's Notes:

Akron restricts the age at which it is lawful for a person to purchase or receive a firearm.

Akron restricts the sale of handgun retailing for less than \$50 and melts/deforms at less than 800° F.

Akron requires a state or local license to sell firearms and impose a recordkeeping requirement as a condition of a lawful sale of firearms.

### OKLAHOMA OKLA. STAT.

#### Title 21. Crimes and Punishments

## Chapter 53. Manufacturing, Selling and Wearing Weapons

1271.1. Detention or arrest of person under 18 years - Confiscation and forfeiture of prohibited weapons and firearms - Disposition of forfeited weapons and firearms.

A. Whenever a person under eighteen (18) years of age is detained or arrested by a law enforcement officer and is carrying any weapon or firearm prohibited by Section 1272 of this title, each such prohibited weapon and firearm may be confiscated and forfeited to the State of Oklahoma by the law enforcement authority. Such confiscation and forfeiture shall not require that criminal charges be filed against the minor.

**B.** However, when a weapon or firearm confiscated pursuant to the provisions of this section has been taken by a minor without the permission of the owner, the weapon or firearm shall be returned to the owner pursuant to the procedures provided in Section 1321 of Title 22 of the Oklahoma Statutes, provided the possession of such weapon or firearm by the owner is not otherwise prohibited by law.

**C.** Any weapon or firearm confiscated and forfeited by any law enforcement authority may be sold at public auction, or when no longer needed as evidence in the criminal proceeding the confiscating authority may lease any firearm confiscated and forfeited by law pursuant to this section to any law enforcement agency for a period of one (1) year. Such lease may be renewed each year thereafter at the discretion of such authority to assist in the enforcement of the laws of this state or its political subdivisions. Any weapon or firearm deemed by the confiscating authority to be inappropriate for lease or sale shall be destroyed.

**D.** For purposes of this section, the term "confiscate" shall not be construed to prohibit any parent, guardian or other adult person from removing or otherwise seizing from any minor any weapon or firearm in the minor's possession. Provided however, no school authority shall return any weapon or firearm removed or otherwise seized from any minor to any person, and shall immediately deliver such weapon or firearm to a law enforcement authority for prosecution and forfeiture.

**1272. Unlawful carry.** It shall be unlawful for any person to carry upon or about his or her person, or in a purse or other container belonging to

the person, any pistol, revolver, shotgun or rifle whether loaded or unloaded ... or any other offensive weapon, whether such weapon be concealed or unconcealed, except this section shall not prohibit:

- 1. The proper use of guns and knives for hunting, fishing, educational or recreational purposes:
- **2.** The carrying or use of weapons in a manner otherwise permitted by statute or authorized by the Oklahoma Self-Defense Act, Section 1290.1 et seq. of this title; or
- **3.** The carrying, possession and use of any weapon by a peace officer in the performance of official duties and in compliance with the rules of the employing agency. Any person convicted of violating the foregoing provision shall be guilty of a misdemeanor punishable as provided in Section 1276 of this title.

### 1273. Allowing minors to possess firearms.

**A.** It shall be unlawful for any person within this state to sell or give to any child any of the arms or weapons designated in Section 1272 of this title; provided, the provisions of this section shall not prohibit a parent from giving his or her child a rifle or shotgun for participation in hunting animals or fowl, hunter safety classes, target shooting, skeet, trap or other recognized sporting events, except as provided in subsection B of this section.

**B.** It shall be unlawful for any parent or guardian to intentionally, knowingly, or recklessly permit his or her child to possess any of the arms or weapons designated in Section 1272 of this title, including any rifle or shotgun, if such parent is aware of a substantial risk that the child will use the weapon to commit a criminal offense or if the child has either been adjudicated a delinquent or has been convicted as an adult for any criminal offense

C. It shall be unlawful for any child to possess any of the arms or weapons designated in Section 1272 of this title, except rifles or shotguns used for participation in hunting animals or fowl, hunter safety classes, target shooting, skeet, trap or other recognized sporting event. Provided, the possession of rifles or shotguns authorized by this section shall not authorize the possession of such weapons by any person who is subject to the provisions of Section 1283 of this title.

**D.** Any person violating the provisions of this section shall, upon conviction, be punished as provided in Section 1276 of this title, and, any

child violating the provisions of this section shall be subject to adjudication as a delinquent. In addition, any person violating the provisions of this section shall be liable for civil damages for any injury or death to any person and for any damage to property resulting from any discharge of a firearm or use of any other weapon as provided in Section 10 of Title 23 of the Oklahoma Statutes. Any person convicted of violating the provisions of this section after having been issued a concealed handgun license pursuant to the provisions of the Oklahoma Self-Defense Act may be liable for an administrative violation as provided in Section 1276 of this title.

**E.** As used in this section, "child" means a person under eighteen (18) years of age.

1276. Penalty for 1272 and 1273. Any person violating the provisions of Section 1272 or 1273 shall, upon a first conviction, be adjudged guilty of a misdemeanor and the party offending shall be punished by a fine of not less than One Hundred Dollars (\$100.00) nor more than Two Hundred Fifty Dollars (\$250.00), or by imprisonment in the county jail for a period not to exceed thirty (30) days or both such fine and imprisonment. On the second and every subsequent violation, the party offending shall, upon conviction, be punished by a fine of not less than Two Hundred Fifty Dollars (\$250.00) nor more than Five Hundred Dollars (\$500.00), or by imprisonment in the county jail for a period not less than thirty (30) days nor more than three (3) months, or by both such fine and imprisonment.

Any person convicted of violating the provisions of Section 1272 or 1273 after having been issued a concealed handgun license pursuant to the provisions of the Oklahoma Self-Defense Act, Sections 1 through 25 of this act, shall have the license suspended for a period of six (6) months and shall be liable for an administrative fine of Fifty Dollars (\$50.00) upon a hearing and determination by the Oklahoma State Bureau of Investigation that the person is in violation of the provisions of this section.

## 1277. Unlawful to Carry Valid Concealed Handgun in Certain Places-Exception

**A.** It shall be unlawful for any person in possession of a valid concealed handgun license issued pursuant to the provisions of the Oklahoma Self-Defense Act, Section 1290.1 et seq. of this title, to carry any concealed handgun into any of the following places:

1. Any structure, building, or office space which is owned or leased by a city, town, county,

state, or federal governmental authority for the purpose of conducting business with the public;

- 2. Any meeting of any city, town, county, state or federal officials, school board members, legislative members, or any other elected or appointed officials;
- **3.** Any prison, jail, detention facility or any facility used to process, hold, or house arrested persons, prisoners or persons alleged delinquent or adjudicated delinquent;
- **4.** Any elementary, secondary, or vocational-technical school property;
- **5.** Any sports arena during a professional sporting event;
- **6.** Any place where pari-mutuel wagering is authorized by law; and
- 7. Any other place specifically prohibited by law.
- **B.** For purposes of paragraphs 1, 2, 3, 5 and 6 of subsection A of this section, the prohibited place does not include and specifically excludes the following property:
- **a.** any property set aside for the use of any vehicle, whether attended or unattended, by a city, town, county, state, or federal governmental authority,
- **b.** any property set aside for the use of any vehicle, whether attended or unattended, by any entity offering any professional sporting event which is open to the public for admission, or by any entity engaged in pari-mutuel wagering authorized by law,
- **c.** any property adjacent to a structure, building, or office space in which concealed weapons are prohibited by the provisions of this section,
- d. any property designated by a city, town, county, or state, governmental authority as a park, recreational area, or fairgrounds; provided nothing in this subparagraph shall be construed to authorize any entry by a person in possession of a concealed handgun into any structure, building, or office space which is specifically prohibited by the provisions of subsection A of this section.

Nothing contained in any provision of this subsection shall be construed to authorize or allow any person in control of any place described in paragraph 1, 2, 3, 5 or 6 of subsection A of this section to establish any policy or rule that has the effect of prohibiting any person in lawful possession of a concealed handgun license from possession of a handgun allowable under such license in places described in paragraph a, b, c or d of this subsection.

- C. Any person violating the provisions of subsection A of this section shall, upon conviction, be guilty of a misdemeanor punishable by a fine not to exceed Two Hundred Fifty Dollars (\$250.00). Any person convicted of violating the provisions of this section may be liable for an administrative fine of Two Hundred Fifty Dollars (\$250.00) upon a hearing and determination by the Oklahoma State Bureau of Investigation that the person is in violation of the provisions of this section.
- **D.** No person in possession of any concealed handgun pursuant to the Oklahoma Self-Defense Act shall be authorized to carry the handgun into or upon any college or university property, except as provided in this subsection. For purposes of this subsection, the following property shall not be construed as prohibited for persons having a valid concealed handgun license:
- 1. Any property set aside for the use of any vehicle, whether attended or unattended, provided the handgun is carried or stored as required by law and the handgun is not removed from the vehicle without the prior consent of the

college or university president while the vehicle is on any college or university property;

- 2. Any property authorized for possession or use of handguns by college or university policy:
- 3. Any property authorized by the written consent of the college or university president, provided the written consent is carried with the handgun and the valid concealed handgun license while on college or university property. The college or university may notify the Oklahoma State Bureau of Investigation within ten (10) days of a violation of any provision of this subsection by a licensee. Upon receipt of a written notification of violation, the Bureau shall give a reasonable notice to the licensee and hold a hearing. At the hearing upon a determination that the licensee has violated any provision of this subsection, the licensee may be subject to an administrative fine of Two Hundred Fifty Dollars (\$250.00) and may have the concealed handgun license suspended for three (3) months.

Nothing contained in any provision of this subsection shall be construed to authorize or allow any college or university to establish any policy or rule that has the effect of prohibiting any person in lawful possession of a concealed handgun license from possession of a handgun allowable under such license in places described in paragraphs 1, 2 and 3 of this subsection. Nothing contained in any provision of this subsection shall be construed to limit the authority of any college or university in this state from taking administrative action against any student for any violation of any provision of this subsection.

E. The provisions of this section shall not apply to any peace officer or to any person authorized by law to carry a pistol in the course of employment.

1278. Unlawful Intent to Carry-Penalty. Any person in this state who carries or wears any deadly weapons or dangerous instrument whatsoever with the intent or for the avowed purpose of unlawfully injuring another person, upon conviction, shall be guilty of a felony punishable by a fine not exceeding Five Thousand Dollars (\$5,000.00), by imprisonment for a period not exceeding two (2) years, or by both such fine and imprisonment. The mere possession of such a weapon or dangerous instrument, without more, however, shall not be sufficient to establish intent as required by this section.

Any person convicted of violating the provisions of this section after having been issued a concealed handgun license pursuant to the provisions of the Oklahoma Self-Defense Act, Sections 1290.1 et seq. of this title, shall have the license permanently revoked and shall be liable for an administrative fine of One Thousand Dollars (\$1,000.00) upon a hearing and determination by the Oklahoma State Bureau of Investigation that the person is in violation of the provisions of this section.

**1279. Misdemeanor pointing a firearm.** Except for an act of self-defense, it shall be unlawful for any person to point any pistol or any other deadly weapon whether loaded or not, at any other person or persons. Any person violating the provisions of this section shall, upon conviction, be guilty of a misdemeanor punishable as provided in Section 1280 of this title.

Any person convicted of violating the provisions of this section after having been issued a concealed handgun license pursuant to the provisions of the Oklahoma Self- Defense Act, Sections 1 through 20 of this act, may be subject to an administrative violation as provided in Section 1280 of this title.

1280. Penalty for 1279. Any person violating the provisions of Section 1279 of this title, upon conviction, shall be guilty of a misdemeanor. The person offending shall be punished by a fine of not less than One Hundred Dollars (\$100.00) more than One Thousand Dollars (\$1,000.00) and shall be imprisoned in the county jail for a period not less than three (3) nor more than twelve (12) months. Any person convicted of violating the provisions of Section 1279 of this title after having been issued a handgun license pursuant to the provisions of the Oklahoma Self-Defense Act. Sections I through 25 of this act, shall have the handgun license permanently revoked and shall be liable for an administrative fine of Fifty Dollars (\$50.00) upon a hearing and determination by the Oklahoma State Bureau of Investigation that the person is in violation of the provisions of this section.

## 1280.1. Possession of firearm on school property.

A. It shall be unlawful for any person, except a peace officer or other person authorized by the board of education of that district or governing body for any public or private school, to have in his or her possession on any public or private school property or while in any school bus or vehicle used by any school for transportation of students or teachers any firearm or weapon designated in Section 1272 of this title.

**B. "School property"** means any publicly or privately owned property held for purposes of elementary, secondary or vocational-technical education, and shall not include property owned by public school districts or private educational entities where such property is leased or rented to an individual or corporation and used for purposes other than educational.

C. A gun or knife designed for hunting or fishing purposes kept in a privately owned vehicle and properly displayed or stored as required by law, or a handoun carried in a vehicle pursuant to a valid handgun license authorized by the Oklahoma Self-Defense Act, shall not be in violation of the provisions of this section, provided such vehicle containing said oun or knife is driven onto school property only to transport a student to and from school and such vehicle does not remain unattended on school property. However, for the purposes of participating in the Oklahoma Department of Wildlife certified hunter training education course or any other hunting, safety or firearms training courses, the principal or chief administrator of any public or private school where said course is offered may authorize firearms or other weapons to be brought onto school property and used in such training

**D.** Any person violating the provisions of this section shall, upon conviction, be guilty of a felony punishable by a fine not to exceed Five Thousand Dollars (\$5,000.00), and imprisonment for not more than two (2) years. Any person convicted of violating the provisions of this section after having been issued a concealed handgun license pursuant to the provisions of the Oklahoma Self-Defense Act, Section 1290.1 et seq. of this title, shall have the license permanently revoked and shall be liable for an administrative fine of One Hundred Dollars (\$100.00) upon a hearing and determination by the Oklahoma State Bureau of Investigation that the person is in violation of the provisions of this section

#### 1283. Convicted felons and delinquents.

A. Except as provided in subsection B of this section, it shall be unlawful for any person convicted of any felony in any court of this state or of another state or of the United States to have

in his or her possession or under his or her immediate control, or in any vehicle which the person is operating, or in which the person is riding as a passenger, or at the residence where the convicted person resides, any pistol, imitation or homemade pistol, machine gun, sawed-off shotgun or rifle, or any other dangerous or deadly firearm which could be easily concealed on the person, in personal effects or in an automobile.

**B.** Any person who has previously been convicted of a nonviolent felony in any court of this state or of another state or of the United States, and who has received a full and complete pardon from the proper authority and has not been convicted of any other felony offense which has not been pardoned, shall have restored the right to possess any firearm or other weapon prohibited by subsection A of this section, the right to apply for and carry a concealed handgun pursuant to the Oklahoma Self-Defense Act, Section 1290.1 et seq. of this title, and the right to perform the duties of a peace officer, gunsmith, or for firearms repair.

C. It shall be unlawful for any person supervised by the Department of Corrections or any division thereof to have in his or her possession or under his or her immediate control, or at his or her residence, or in any passenger vehicle which the supervised person is operating or is riding as a passenger, any pistol, shotgun or rifle, including any imitation or homemade pistol, shotgun or rifle, while such person is subject to supervision, probation, parole or inmate status.

D. It shall be unlawful for any person previously adjudicated as a delinquent child for the commission of an offense, which would have constituted a felony offense if committed by an adult, to have in said person's possession or under the person's immediate control, or have in any vehicle which he or she is driving or in which said person is riding as a passenger, or at the person's residence, any pistol, imitation or homemade pistol, machine gun, sawed-off shotgun or rifle, or any other dangerous or deadly firearm which could be easily concealed on the person, in personal effects or in an automobile, within ten (10) years after such adjudication.

E. Any person having been issued a concealed handgun license pursuant to the provisions of the Oklahoma Self-Defense Act, Section 1290.1 et seq. of this title, and who thereafter knowingly or intentionally allows a convicted felon or adjudicated delinquent as prohibited by the provisions of subsections A, C, or D of this section to possess or have control of any pistol authorized by the Oklahoma Self-Defense Act shall, upon conviction, be guilty of a felony punishable by a fine not to exceed Five Thousand (\$5,000.00). In addition, the person shall have the handgun license revoked by the Oklahoma State Bureau of Investigation after a hearing and determination that the person has violated the provisions of this section.

**F.** Any convicted or adjudicated person violating the provisions of this section shall, upon conviction, be guilty of a felony punishable as provided in Section 1284 of this title.

**G.** For purposes of this section, "sawed-off shotgun or rifle" shall mean any shotgun or rifle which has been shortened to any length.

**1284. Penalty for 1283.** Any previously convicted or adjudicated person who violates any provision of Section 1283 of this title shall be guilty of a felony and, upon conviction there-of, shall be punished by imprisonment in the State Penitentiary for a period not less than one (1) year nor more than ten (10) years.

1288. Purchases of firearms.

(a) Residents of the State of Oklahoma may purchase rifles, shotguns, ammunition, cartridge and shotgun shell handloading components and equipment in a state contiguous to the State of Oklahoma, provided that such residents conform to the applicable provisions of the Federal Gun Control Act of 1968, and regulations thereunder, as administered by the United States Secretary of the Treasury, and provided further that such residents conform to the provisions of law applicable to such purchase in the State of Oklahoma and in the contiguous state in which the purchase is made.

(b) Residents of a state contiguous to the State of Oklahoma may purchase rifles, shotguns, ammunition, cartridge and shotgun shell handloading components and equipment in the State of Oklahoma, provided that such residents conform to the applicable provisions of the Gun Control Act of 1968, and regulations thereunder, as administered by the United States Secretary of the Treasury and provided further that such residents conform to the provisions of law applicable to such purchase in the State of Oklahoma and in the state in which such persons reside.

**1289.1. Oklahoma Firearms Act of 1971.** Sections 1289.1 through 1289.17 of this title may be known and cited as the "Oklahoma Firearms Act of 1971".

1289.3. Definitions for Firearms Act – Pistols. "Pistols" as used in the Oklahoma Firearms Act of 1971, Sections 1289.1 through 1289.17 of this title, shall mean any firearm capable of discharging a projectile composed of any material which may reasonably be expected to be able to cause lethal injury, with a barrel or barrels less than sixteen (16) inches in length, and using either gunpowder, gas or any means of rocket propulsion, but not to include flare guns, underwater fishing guns or blank pistols.

1289.4. Definitions for Firearms Act - Rifles. "Rifles" as used in the Oklahoma Firearms Act of 1971, Sections 1289.1 through 1289.17 of this title, shall mean any firearm capable of discharging a projectile composed of any material which may reasonably be expected to be able to cause lethal injury, with a barrel or barrels more than sixteen (16) inches in length, and using either gunpowder, gas or any means of rocket propulsion, but not to include archery equipment, flare guns or underwater fishing guns. In addition, any rifle capable of firing "shot" but primarily designed to fire single projectiles will be regarded as a "rifle".

1289.5. Definitions for Firearms Act - Shotguns. "Shotguns" as used in the Oklahoma Firearms Act of 1971, Sections 1289.1 through 1289.17 of this title, shall mean any firearm capable of discharging a series of projectiles of any material which may reasonably be expected to be able to cause lethal injury, with a barrel or barrels more than eighteen (18) inches in length, and using either gunpowder, gas or any means of rocket propulsion, but not to include any weapon so designed with a barrel less than eighteen (18) inches in length. In addition, any "shotgun" capable of firing single projectiles but primarily designed to fire multiple projectiles such as "shot" will be regarded as a "shotgun".

1289.6. Conditions under which firearms may be carried.

**A.** A person shall be permitted to carry loaded and unloaded shotguns, rifles and pistols, open and not concealed and without a handgun license as authorized by the Oklahoma Self-Defense Act, Sections 1 through 25 of this act, pursuant to the following conditions:

1. When hunting animals or fowl;

- **2.** During competition in or practicing in a safety or hunter safety class, target shooting, skeet, trap or other recognized sporting events:
- **3.** During participation in or in preparation for a military function of the state military forces to be defined as the Oklahoma Army or Air National Guard, Federal Military Reserve and active military forces;
- **4.** During participation in or in preparation for a recognized police function of either a municipal, county or state government as functioning police officials:
- **5.** During a practice for or a performance for entertainment purposes; or
- **6.** For any legitimate purpose not in violation of the Oklahoma Firearms Act of 1971, Sections 1289.1 through 1289.17 of this title or any legislative enactment regarding the use, ownership and control of firearms.
- **B.** A person shall be permitted to carry unloaded shotguns, rifles and pistols, open and not concealed and without a handgun license as authorized by the Oklahoma Self-Defense Act pursuant to the following conditions:
- 1. When going to or from the person's private residence or vehicle or a vehicle in which the person is riding as a passenger to a place designated or authorized for firearms repairs or reconditioning, or for firearms trade, sale, or barter, or gunsmith, or hunting animals or fowl, or hunter safety course, or target shooting, or skeet or trap shooting or any recognized firearms activity or event and while in such places; or
- 2. For any legitimate purpose not in violation of the Oklahoma Firearms Act of 1971, Sections 1289.1 through 1289.17 of this title.
- **C.** The provisions of this section shall not be construed to prohibit educational or recreational activities, exhibitions, displays or shows involving the use or display of rifles, shotguns or pistols or other weapons if the activity is approved by the property owner and sponsor of the activity.

1289.7. Firearms in Motor Vehicles - Exceptions. Any person, except a convicted felon, may transport in a motor vehicle a rifle, shotgun or pistol, open and unloaded, at any time. For purposes of this section "open" means the firearm is transported in plain view, in a case designed for carrying firearms, which case is wholly or partially visible, in a gun rack mounted in the vehicle, in an exterior locked compartment or a trunk of a vehicle.

Any person, except a convicted felon, may transport in a motor vehicle a rifle or shotgun concealed behind a seat of the vehicle or within the interior of the vehicle provided the rifle or shotgun is not clip, magazine or chamber loaded. The authority to transport a clip or magazine loaded rifle or shotgun shall be pursuant to Section 1289.13 of this title.

Any person who is the operator of a vehicle or is a passenger in any vehicle wherein another person who is licensed pursuant to the Oklahoma Self-Defense Act, Sections 1290.1 through 1290.25 of Title 21 of the Oklahoma Statutes, to carry a concealed handgun and is carrying a concealed handgun or has concealed the handgun in such vehicle, shall not be deemed in violation of the provisions of this section provided the licensee is in or near the vehicle.

1289.9. Carrying weapons under influence of alcohol. It shall be unlawful for any person to carry or use shotguns, rifles or pistols in any circumstances while under the influence of beer, intoxicating liquors or any hallucinogenic, or any unlawful or unprescribed drug, and it shall be unlawful for any person to carry or use shotguns, rifles or pistols when under the influence

of any drug prescribed by a licensed physician if the aftereffects of such consumption affect mental, emotional or physical processes to a degree that would result in abnormal behavior. Any person convicted of a violation of the provisions of this section shall be punished as provided in Section 1289.15 of this title.

Any person convicted of a violation of the provisions of this section after having been issued a concealed handgun license pursuant to the provisions of the Oklahoma Self-Defense Act, Sections 1 through 25 of this act shall have the license suspended for a term of six (6) months and shall be subject to an administrative fine of Fifty Dollars (\$50.00), upon a hearing and determination by the Oklahoma State Bureau of Investigation that the person is in violation of the provisions of this section.

1289.10. Furnishing firearms to incompetent persons. It shall be unlawful for any person to knowingly transmit, transfer, sell, lend or furnish any shotgun, rifle or pistol to any person who is under an adjudication of mental incompetency, or to any person who is mentally deficient or of unsound mind. Any person convicted of a violation of the provisions of this section shall be punished as provided in Section 1289.15 of this title

Any person convicted of a violation of the provisions of this section after having been issued a concealed handgun license pursuant to the provisions of the Oklahoma Self-Defense Act, Section 1290.1 et seq. of this title, shall have the license suspended for a term of six (6) months and shall be subject to an administrative fine of Fifty Dollars (\$50.00), upon a hearing and determination by the Oklahoma State Bureau of Investigation that the person is in violation of the provisions of this section.

1289.11. Reckless Conduct. It shall be unlawful for any person to engage in reckless conduct while having in his or her possession any shotgun, rifle or pistol, such actions consisting of creating a situation of unreasonable risk and probability of death or great bodily harm to another, and demonstrating a conscious disregard for the safety of another person. Any person convicted of violating the provisions of this section shall be punished as provided in Section 1289.15 of this title.

Any person convicted of a violation of the provisions of this section after having been issued a concealed handgun license pursuant to the Oklahoma Self-Defense Act, Sections 1 through 25 of this act, shall have the license revoked and shall be subject to an administrative fine of One Thousand Dollars (\$1,000.00), upon a hearing and determination by the Oklahoma State Bureau of Investigation that the person is in violation of the provisions of this section.

1289.12. Giving firearms to convicted persons. It shall be unlawful for any person within this state to knowingly sell, trade, give, transmit or otherwise cause the transfer of rifles, shotguns or pistols to any convicted felon or an adjudicated delinquent, and it shall be unlawful for any person within this state to knowingly sell, trade, give, transmit or otherwise cause the transfer of any shotgun, rifle or pistol to any individual who is under the influence of alcohol or drugs or is mentally or emotionally unbalanced or disturbed. All persons who engage in selling, trading or otherwise transferring firearms will display this section prominently in full view at or near the point of normal firearms sale, trade or transfer. Any person convicted of violating the provisions of this section shall be punished as provided in Section 1289.15 of this title.

Any person convicted of a violation of this section after having been issued a concealed handgun license pursuant to the Oklahoma Self-Defense Act, Sections 1 through 25 of this act, shall have the license suspended for six (6) months and shall be liable for an administrative fine of Fifty Dollars (\$50.00), upon a hearing and determination by the Oklahoma State Bureau of Investigation that the person is in violation of the provisions of this section.

1289.13. Transporting Loaded Firearm in Motor Vehicle. Except as otherwise provided by the provisions of the Oklahoma Self-Defense Act, Sections 1 through 25 of this act, or another provision of law of this state, it shall be unlawful to transport a loaded pistol, rifle or shotgun in a landborne motor vehicle over a public highway or roadway. However, a rifle or shotgun may be transported when clip or magazine loaded and not chamber loaded when transported in an exterior locked compartment of the vehicle or trunk of the vehicle.

Any person convicted of a violation of this section shall be punished as provided in Section 1289.15 of this title.

Any person who is the operator of a vehicle or is a passenger in any vehicle wherein another person who is licensed pursuant to the Oklahoma Self-Defense Act, Sections 1 through 25 of this act, to carry a concealed handgun and is carrying a concealed handgun or has concealed the handgun in such vehicle, shall not be deemed in violation of the provisions of this section provided the licensee is in or near the vehicle.

1289.15. Penalty for Firearms Act of 1971. Any person adjudged guilty of violating any provision of Section 1289.9, 1289.10, 1289.11, 1289.12 or 1289.13 of this title shall, upon conviction, be punished by a fine of not less than Fifty Dollars (\$50.00) nor more than Five Hundred Dollars (\$500.00), or imprisonment in the county jail for not less than ten (10) days nor more than six (6) months, or by both such fine and imprisonment.

1289.16. Pointing Firearms. It shall be unlawful for any person to willfully or without lawful cause point a shotgun, rifle or pistol, or any deadly weapon, whether loaded or not, at any person or persons for the purpose of threatening or with the intention of discharging the firearm or with any malice or for any purpose of injuring, either through physical injury or mental or emotional intimidation or for purposes of whimsy, humor or prank, or in anger or otherwise, but not to include the pointing of shotguns, rifles or pistols by law enforcement authorities in the performance of their duties, members of the state military forces in the performance of their duties, members of the federal military reserve and active military components in the performance of their duties, or any federal government law enforcement officer in the performance of any duty, or in the performance of a play on stage, rodeo, television or on film, or in defense of any person, one's home or property. Any person convicted of a violation of the provisions of this section shall be punished as provided in Section 1289.17 of this title.

Any person convicted of a violation of the provisions of this section after having been issued a concealed handgun license pursuant to the Oklahoma Self-Defense Act, Sections 1 through 25 of this act, shall have the license revoked and shall be subject to an administrative fine of One Thousand Dollars (\$1,000.00), upon a hearing and determination by the Oklahoma State Bureau of Investigation that the person is in violation of the provisions of this section.

#### 1289.18. Definitions.

A. "Sawed-off shotgun" shall mean any firearm capable of discharging a series of projectiles of any material which may reasonably be expected to be able to cause lethal injury, with a barrel or barrels less than eighteen (18) inches in length, and using either gunpowder, gas or any means of rocket propulsion.

**B. "Sawed-off rifle"** shall mean any rifle having a barrel or barrels of less than sixteen (16) inches in length or any weapon made from a rifle (whether by alteration, modification, or otherwise) if such a weapon as modified has an overall length of less than twenty-six (26) inches in length, including the stock portion.

**C.** Every person who has in his possession or under his immediate control a sawed-off shotgun or a sawed-off rifle, whether concealed or not, shall upon conviction be guilty of a felony for the possession of such device, and shall be punishable by a fine not to exceed One Thousand Dollars (\$1,000.00), or imprisonment in the State Penitentiary for a period not to exceed two (2) years, or both such fine and imprisonment.

**D.** It is a defense to prosecution under this section, if the approved application form that authorized the making or transfer of the particular firearm to the defendant, which indicates the registration of the firearm to said defendant pursuant to the National Firearm's Act, is introduced.

**1289.19. Restricted Bullet and Body Armor Defined.** As used in Sections 1289.20 through 1289.22 of this title and Section 2 of this act

- 1. "Restricted bullet" means a round or elongated missile with a core of less than sixty percent (60%) lead and having a fluorocarbon coating, which is designed to travel at a high velocity and is capable of penetrating body armor; and
- **2. "Body armor"** means a vest or shirt of ten (10) plies or more of bullet resistant material as defined by the Office of Development, Testing and Dissemination, a division of the United States Department of Justice.

#### 1289.20. Manufacture of Restricted Bullets.

**A.** Except for the purpose of public safety or national security, it shall be unlawful to manufacture, cause to be manufactured, import, advertise for sale or sell within this state any restricted bullet as defined in Section 1289.19 of this title.

**B.** Any person convicted of violating subsection A of this section shall be guilty of a felony and shall be punished by a fine of not less than Five Hundred Dollars (\$500.00) nor more than Ten Thousand Dollars (\$10,000.00), or by imprisonment in the State Penitentiary for not more than ten (10) years, or by both such fine and imprisonment.

### 1289.21. Possession or Use of Restricted Bullets.

**A.** It shall be unlawful for any person to possess, carry upon his person, use or attempt to use against another person any restricted bullet as defined in Section 1289.19 of this title.

**B.** Any person convicted of violating subsection A of this section shall be guilty of a felony and shall be punished by imprisonment in the State Penitentiary for not less than two (2) years nor more than ten (10) years. The sentence so imposed shall not be suspended.

**1289.22.** Exemptions. The prohibition of possessing or using a restricted bullet shall not apply to law enforcement agencies when such bullet is used for testing, training or demonstration.

1289.24. Firearm Regulation - State Preemption.

- A. The State Legislature hereby occupies and preempts the entire field of legislation in this state touching in any way firearms, components, ammunition, and supplies to the complete exclusion of any order, ordinance, or regulation by any municipality or other political subdivision of this state. Any existing or future orders, ordinances, or regulations in this field, except as provided for in subsection C of this section, are null and void. Provided, however, a municipality may adopt any ordinance relating to the discharge of firearms within the jurisdiction of the municipality.
- **B.** No municipality or other political subdivision of this state shall adopt any order, ordinance, or regulation concerning in any way the sale, purchase, purchase delay, transfer, ownership, use, keeping, possession, carrying, bearing, transportation, licensing, permit, registration, taxation other than sales and compensating use taxes, or other controls on firearms, components, ammunition, and supplies.
- C. Nothing contained in this section shall prohibit any order, ordinance, or regulation by any municipality concerning the confiscation of property used in violation of the ordinances of the municipality as provided for in Section 28-121 of Title 11 of the Oklahoma Statutes.
- **1290.1. Short title.** Sections 1 through 25 of this act shall be known and may be cited as the "Oklahoma Self-Defense Act".

# 1289.24a. Manufacture of Firearms and Ammunition - Actions Against Manufacturers.

- 1. the state Legislature declares that the lawful design, marketing, manufacturing, or sale of firearms or ammunition to the public is not unreasonably dangerous activity and does not constitute a nuisance.
- 2. The authority to bring suit and right to recover against any firearms or ammunition manufacturer, trade association, or dealer by or on behalf of any governmental unit created by or pursuant to an act of the Legislature or the Constitution, or any department, agency, or authority thereof, for damages, abatement, or injunctive relief resulting from or relating to the lawful design, manufacturing, marketing, or sale of firearms or ammunition to the public shall be reserved exclusively to the state. This paragraph shall not prohibit a political subdivision or local government authority from bringing an action against a firearms or ammunition manufacturer or dealer for breach of contract or warranty as to firearms or ammunition purchased by the political subdivision or local government authority. This bill shall not be construed to prohibit an individual from bringing a cause of action based upon an existing recognized theory of law.
- **1290.2. Definitions.** As used in Sections 1 through 25 of this act:
- 1. "Concealed handgun" means a loaded or unloaded pistol carried hidden from the detection and view of another person either upon or about the person, in a purse or other container belonging to the person, or in a vehicle which is operated by the person or in which the person is riding as a passenger; and
- 2. "Pistol" means any derringer, revolver or semiautomatic firearm which:

- **a.** has an overall length of less than sixteen (16) inches and is able to be fully concealed from detection and view.
- **b.** is capable of discharging a projectile composed of any material which may reasonably be expected to be able to cause lethal injury,
- **c.** is designed to be held and fired by the use of a single hand, and
- **d.** uses either gunpowder, gas or any means of rocket propulsion to discharge the projectile.

The definition of pistol for purposes of the Oklahoma Self-Defense Act shall not apply to homemade or imitation pistols, flare guns, underwater fishing guns or blank pistols.

1290.3. Authority to issue license. The Oklahoma State Bureau of Investigation is hereby authorized to license an eligible person to carry a concealed handgun as provided by the provisions of the Oklahoma Self-Defense Act, Sections 1 through 25 of this act. The Bureau's authority shall be limited to the provisions specifically provided in the Oklahoma Self-Defense Act. The Bureau shall promulgate rules, forms and procedures necessary to implement the provisions of the Oklahoma Self-Defense Act.

**1290.4. Unlawful carry.** As provided by Section 1272 of Title 21 of the Oklahoma Statutes, it is unlawful for any person to carry a concealed handgun in this state, except as hereby authorized by the provisions of the Oklahoma Self-Defense Act, Sections 1 through 25 of this act, or as may otherwise be provided by law.

1290.6. Prohibited ammunition. Any concealed handoun when carried in a manner authorized by the provisions of the Oklahoma Self-Defense Act. Sections 1 through 25 of this act. when loaded with any ammunition which is either a restricted bullet as defined by Section 1289.19 of Title 21 of the Oklahoma Statutes or is larger than .45 caliber or is otherwise prohibited by law shall be deemed a prohibited weapon for purposes of the Oklahoma Self-Defense Act. Any person violating the provisions of this section shall be punished for a criminal offense as provided by Section 1272 of Title 21 of the Oklahoma Statutes or any other applicable provision of law. In addition to any criminal prosecution for a violation of the provisions of this section, the licensee shall be subject to an administrative fine of Five Hundred Dollars (\$500.00), upon a hearing and determination by the Oklahoma State Bureau of Investigation that the person is in violation of the provisions of this section.

1290.22. Business owner's rights. Nothing contained in any provision of the Oklahoma Self-Defense Act, Section 1290.1 et seq. of this title, shall be construed to limit, restrict or prohibit in any manner the existing rights of any person, property owner, tenant, employer, or business entity to control the possession of weapons on any property owned or controlled by the person or business entity.

1290.25. Legislative intent. The Legislature finds as a matter of public policy and fact that it is necessary to provide statewide uniform standards for issuing licenses to carry concealed handguns for lawful self-defense and self-protection, and further finds it necessary to occupy the field of regulation of the bearing of conceal-

ed handguns to ensure that no honest, law-abiding citizen who qualifies pursuant to the provisions of the Oklahoma Self-Defense Act, Section 1290.1 et seq. of this title, is subjectively or arbitrarily denied his or her rights. The Legislature does not delegate to the Oklahoma State Bureau of Investigation any authority to regulate or restrict the issuing of licenses except as provided by the provisions of this act. Subjective or arbitrary actions or rules which encumber the issuing process by placing burdens on the applicant beyond those requirements detailed in the provisions of the Oklahoma Self-Defense Act or which create restrictions beyond those specified in this act are deemed to be in conflict with the intent of this act and are hereby prohibited. The Oklahoma Self-Defense Act shall be liberally construed to carry out the constitutional right to bear arms for self-defense and self-protection. The provisions of the Oklahoma Self- Defense Act are cumulative to existing rights to bear arms and nothing in Section 1290.1 et seq. of this title shall impair or diminish those rights.

However, the conditions that mandate the administrative actions of license denial, suspension, revocation or an administrative fine are intended to protect the health, safety and public welfare of the citizens of this state. The restricting conditions specified in the Oklahoma Self-Defense Act generally involve the criminal history, mental state, alcohol or substance abuse of the applicant or licensee, a hazard of domestic violence, a danger to police officers, or the ability of the Oklahoma State Bureau of Investigation to properly administer the Oklahoma Self-Defense Act. The restricting conditions that establish a risk of injury or harm to the public are tailored to reduce the risks to the benefit of the citizens of this state.

**1290.26.** Reciprocal Agreement Authority. The State of Oklahoma hereby recognizes any valid concealed carry weapons permit or license issued by another state, provided the issuing state recognizes this state's concealed handgun license and the reciprocal state:

- 1. Requires a state and national criminal history records search to be conducted on each applicant;
- 2. Prohibits any person convicted of a felony offense from obtaining a concealed carry weapons permit or license;
- 3. Requires competence qualification, or training with the firearm to be carried by the person; and
- **4.** Does not authorize any weapon to be carried which would be a violation of Oklahoma law.

Any person entering this state in possession of a firearm authorized for concealed carry upon the authority of a reciprocal state is authorized to continue to carry a concealed firearm in this state; provided the firearm remains fully concealed from detection and view, and that upon coming in contact with any peace officer of this state, the person discloses the fact that he or she is in possession of a concealed firearm pursuant to a valid concealed carry weapons permit or license issued in another state.

[Current through 2000 Regular Session, including 2000 Okla. Sess. Laws 382 (SB 1496)]

ATF P 5300.3 (2000 – 22<sup>nd</sup> ed.) page 259