NEVADA Nev. Rev. Stat.

Title 2. Civil Practice

Chapter 12. Parties

12.107 Limitation on commencement of law-suit against manufacturer or distributor of firearm or ammunition or trade association related to firearms or ammunition; exception for breach of contract or warranty.

- 1. Except as otherwise provided in subsection 2, the State of Nevada is the only governmental entity in this state that may commence a lawsuit against a manufacturer or distributor of a firearm or ammunition or a trade association related to firearms or ammunition for damages, abatement or injunctive relief resulting from or relating to the lawful design or manufacture of a firearm or ammunition or the marketing or sale of a firearm or ammunition to the public.
- 2. The provisions of this section do not prohibit a county, city, local government or other political subdivision of this state or an agency thereof from commencing a lawsuit against a manufacturer or distributor of a firearm or ammunition for breach of contract or warranty concerning a firearm or ammunition purchased by the county, city, local government or other political subdivision of this state or agency thereof.

Title 15. Crimes and Punishment

Chapter 202. Crimes Against Public Heath and Safety

Weapons

Dangerous Weapons and Firearms

202.253. Definitions. As used in NRS 202.253 to 202.369, inclusive:

- **1. "Firearm"** means any device designed to be used as a weapon from which a projectile may be expelled through the barrel by the force of any explosion or other form of combustion.
- 2. "Firearm capable of being concealed upon the person" applies to and includes all firearms having a barrel less than 12 inches in length.
- 3. "Motor vehicle" means every vehicle that is self- propelled.

202.254. Private person authorized to obtain background check on person who wishes to obtain firearm from him; fee.

- **1.** A private person who wishes to transfer a firearm to another person may, before he transfers the firearm, request that the central repository for Nevada records of criminal history perform a background check on the person who wishes to acquire the firearm.
- **2.** The person who requests the information pursuant to subsection 1 shall provide the central repository with identifying information about the person who wishes to acquire the firearm.
- 3. Upon receiving a request from a private person pursuant to subsection 1 and the identifying information required pursuant to subsection 2, the central repository shall within 5 business days after receiving the request:
- (a) Perform a background check on the person who wishes to acquire the firearm; and
- **(b)** Notify the person who requests the information whether the information available to the central repository indicates that the receipt of a

firearm by the person who wishes to acquire the firearm would violate a state or federal law.

- **4.** If the person who requests the information does not receive notification from the central repository regarding his request within 5 business days after making the request, he may presume that the receipt of a firearm by the person who wishes to acquire the firearm would not violate a state or federal law.
- **5.** The central repository may charge a reasonable fee for performing a background check and notifying a person of the results of the background check pursuant to this section.
- **6.** The failure of a person to request the central repository to perform a background check pursuant to this section before transferring a firearm to another person does not give rise to any civil cause of action.

202.260. Unlawful possession, manufacture or disposition of explosive or incendiary device: Penalty; exceptions.

- 1. A person who unlawfully possesses, manufactures, or disposes of any explosive or incendiary device with the intent to destroy life or property is guilty of a category B felony and shall be punished by imprisonment in the state prison for a minimum term of not less than 1 year and a maximum term of not more than 6 years, and may be further punished by a fine of not more than \$5,000.
 - 2. For the purposes of this section:
- (a) "Dispose of" means give, give away, loan, offer, offer for sale, sell or transfer.
- (b) "Explosive or incendiary device" means any explosive or incendiary material or substance that has been constructed, altered, packaged or arranged in such a manner that its intended use would cause destruction or injury to life or property.
- 3. Subsection 1 does not prohibit the manufacture, use, possession or disposal of any material, substance or device by those persons engaged in mining or any other lawful activity or who are authorized by governmental agencies, which have lawful control over such matters, to use such items in the performance of their duties.

202.263. Manufacture, purchase, possession, sale, advertisement or transportation of hoax bomb.

- 1. Any person who manufactures, purchases, possesses, sells, advertises for sale or transports a hoax bomb and knows or should have known that it is to be used to make a reasonable person believe that it is an explosive or incendiary device is guilty of a gross misdemeanor.
- 2. The provisions of subsection 1 do not prohibit:
- (a) The purchase, possession, sale, advertising for sale, transportation or use of a military artifact, if the military artifact is harmless or inert, unless the military artifact is used to make a reasonable person believe that the military artifact is an explosive or incendiary device.
- (b) The authorized manufacture, purchase, possession, sale, transportation or use of any material, substance or device by a member of the Armed Forces of the United States, a fire department or a law enforcement agency if the person is acting lawfully while in the line of duty.
- **(c)** The manufacture, purchase, possession, sale, transportation or use of any material, substance or device that is permitted by a specific statute.

- 3. As used in this section:
- (a) "Explosive or incendiary device" has the meaning ascribed to it in NRS 202.260.
 - (b) "Hoax bomb" means:
- (1) An inoperative facsimile or imitation of an explosive or incendiary device: or
- (2) A device or object that appears to be or to contain an explosive or incendiary device.

202.265. Possession of dangerous weapon on property or in vehicle of school.

- 1. Except as otherwise provided in this section, a person shall not carry or possess, while on the property of the University and Community College System of Nevada or a private or public school or while in a vehicle of a private or public school:
 - (a) An explosive or incendiary device;
 - (b) A dirk, dagger or switchblade knife;
 - (c) A nunchaku or trefoil;
- (d) A blackjack or billy club or metal knuckles; or
 - (e) A pistol, revolver or other firearm.
- **2.** Any person who violates subsection 1 is guilty of a gross misdemeanor.
- **3.** This section does not prohibit the possession of a weapon listed in subsection 1 on the property of a private or public school by a:
 - (a) Peace officer;
 - (b) School security guard; or
- (c) Person having written permission from the president of a branch or facility of the University and Community College System of Nevada or the principal of the school to carry or possess the weapon.
 - **4.** For the purposes of this section:
- (a) "Explosive or incendiary device" has the meaning ascribed to it in NRS 202.260.
 - (b) "Firearm" includes:
- (1) Any device used to mark the clothing of a person with paint or any other substance; and
- (2) Any device from which a metallic projectile, including any ball bearing or pellet, may be expelled by means of spring, gas, air or other force.
- **(f) "Vehicle"** has the meaning ascribed to it in NRS 484.148.

202.273. Unlawful manufacture or sale of certain metal- penetrating bullets: Exceptions; penalty.

- **1.** Except as provided in subsection 2, it is unlawful to manufacture or sell any metal-penetrating bullet capable of being fired from a handgun.
- 2. A person may manufacture and sell metalpenetrating bullets pursuant to an agreement with a law enforcement agency for the sale of such bullets to that agency.
- **3.** A person who violates the provisions of this section is guilty of a gross misdemeanor.
- 4. As used in this section, "metal-penetrating bullet" means a bullet whose core:
- (a) Reduces the normal expansion of the bullet upon impact; and
- **(b)** Is at least as hard as the maximum hardness attainable using solid red metal alloys, and which can be used in a handgun. The term does not include any bullet with a copper or brass jacket and a core of lead or a lead alloy, or a bullet made of lead or lead alloys.

202.275. Possession, manufacture or disposition of short- barreled rifle or short-barreled shotgun: Penalty; exceptions.

1. A person who knowingly or willfully possesses, manufactures or disposes of any short-barrel-ed rifle or short-barreled shotgun is guilty of a

category D felony and shall be punished as provided in NRS 193.130.

- 2. For purposes of this section:
- (a) "Short-barreled rifle" means:
- (1) A rifle having one or more barrels less than 16 inches in length; or
- (2) Any weapon made from a rifle, whether by alteration, modification or other means, with an overall length of less than 26 inches.
 - (b) "Short-barreled shotgun" means:
- (1) A shotgun having one or more barrels less than 18 inches in length; or
- (2) Any weapon made from a shotgun, whether by alteration, modification or other means, with an overall length of less than 26 inches.
 - 3. This section does not prohibit:
- (a) The possession or use of any short-barreled rifle or short-barreled shotgun by any peace officer when authorized to do so in the performance of official duties; or
- **(b)** The possession of any short-barreled rifle or short- barreled shotgun by a person who is licensed as a firearms importer, manufacturer, collector or dealer by the United States Department of the Treasury, or by a person to whom such a rifle or shotgun is registered with the United States Department of the Treasury.

202.277. Changing, altering, removing or obliterating serial number of firearm.

- 1. It is unlawful for any person to change, alter, remove or obliterate the serial number upon any firearm. Possession of any firearm upon which the serial number has been changed, altered, removed or obliterated is prima facie evidence that the possessor has changed, altered, removed or obliterated the serial number.
- **2.** Any person who violates the provisions of subsection 1 is guilty of a gross misdemeanor.
- 202.290 Aiming firearm at human being; discharging weapon where person might be endangered. Unless a greater penalty is provided in NRS 202.287, a person who willfully:
- **1.** Aims any gun, pistol, revolver or other firearm, whether loaded or not, at or toward any human being ...
- is guilty of a gross misdemeanor.
- 202.300. Use or possession of firearm by child under age of 18 years; unlawful to aid or permit child to commit violation; penalties; child 14 years of age or older authorized to possess firearm under certain circumstances.
- 1. Except as otherwise provided in this section, a child under the age of 18 years shall not handle or have in his possession or under his control, except while accompanied by or under the immediate charge of his parent or guardian or an adult person authorized by his parent or guardian to have control or custody of the child, any firearm of any kind for hunting or target practice or for other purposes. A child who violates this subsection commits a delinquent act and the court may order the detention of the child in the same manner as if the child had committed an act that would have been a felony if committed by an adult.
- **2.** A person who aids or knowingly permits a child to violate subsection 1:
- (a) Except as otherwise provided in paragraph (b), for the first offense, is guilty of a misdemeanor.
- (b) For a first offense, if the person knows or has reason to know that there is a substantial risk that the child will use the firearm to commit a violent act, is guilty of a category C felony and shall be punished as provided in NRS 193.130.
- (c) For a second or any subsequent offense, is guilty of a category B felony and shall be punished by imprisonment in the state prison for a

- minimum term of not less than 1 year and a maximum term of not more than 6 years, and may be further punished by a fine of not more than \$5,000.
- **3.** A person does not aid or knowingly permit a child to violate subsection 1 if:
- (a) The firearm was stored in a securely locked container or at a location which a reasonable person would have believed to be secure:
- **(b)** The child obtained the firearm as a result of an unlawful entry by any person in or upon the premises where the firearm was stored;
- (c) The injury or death resulted from an accident which was incident to target shooting, sport shooting or hunting; or
- (d) The child gained possession of the firearm from a member of the military or a law enforcement officer, while the member or officer was performing his official duties.
- **4.** The provisions of subsection 1 do not apply to a child who is a member of the Armed Forces of the United States.
- **5.** Except as otherwise provided in subsection 8, a child who is 14 years of age or older, who has in his possession a valid license to hunt, may handle or have in his possession or under his control, without being accompanied by his parent or guardian or an adult person authorized by his parent or guardian to have control or custody of him:
- (a) A rifle or shotgun that is not a fully automatic firearm, if the child is not otherwise prohibited by law from possessing the rifle or shotgun and the child has the permission of his parent or guardian to handle or have in his possession or under his control the rifle or shotgun; or
- (b) A firearm capable of being concealed upon the person, if the child has the written permission of his parent or guardian to handle or have in his possession or under his control such a firearm and the child is not otherwise prohibited by law from possessing such a firearm, and the child is traveling to the area in which he will be hunting or returning from that area and the firearm is not loaded, or the child is hunting pursuant to that license.
- **6.** Except as otherwise provided in subsection 8, a child who is 14 years of age or older may handle or have in his possession or under his control a rifle or shotgun that is not a fully automatic firearm if the child is not otherwise prohibited by law from possessing the rifle or shotgun, without being accompanied by his parent or guardian or an adult person authorized by his parent or guardian to have control or custody of him, if the child has the permission of his parent or guardian to handle or have in his possession or under his control the rifle or shotgun and the child is:
- (a) Attending a course of instruction in the responsibilities of hunters or a course of instruction in the safe use of firearms;
- **(b)** Practicing the use of a firearm at an established firing range or at any other area where the discharge of a firearm is permitted;
- (c) Participating in a lawfully organized competition or performance involving the use of a firearm:
- (d) Within an area in which the discharge of firearms has not been prohibited by local ordinance or regulation and he is engaging in a lawful hunting activity in accordance with chapter 502 of NRS for which a license is not required:
- (e) Traveling to or from any activity described in paragraph (a), (b), (c) or (d), and the firearm is not loaded;
- (f) On real property that is under the control of an adult, and the child has the permission of that

adult to possess the firearm on the real property; or

- (g) At his residence.
- 7. Except as otherwise provided in subsection 8, a child who is 14 years of age or older may handle or have in his possession or under his control, for the purpose of engaging in any of the activities listed in paragraphs (a) to (g), inclusive, of subsection 6, a firearm capable of being concealed upon the person, without being accompanied by his parent or guardian or an adult person authorized by his parent or guardian to have control or custody of him, if the child:
- (a) Has the written permission of his parent or guardian to handle or have in his possession or under his control such a firearm for the purpose of engaging in such an activity; and
- (b) Is not otherwise prohibited by law from possessing such a firearm.
- **8.** A child shall not handle or have in his possession or under his control a loaded firearm if he is:
 - (a) An occupant of a motor vehicle;
- (b) Within any residence, including his residence, or any building other than a facility licensed for target practice, unless possession of the firearm is necessary for the immediate defense of the child or another person; or
- (c) Within an area designated by a county or municipal ordinance as a populated area for the purpose of prohibiting the discharge of weapons, unless he is within a facility licensed for target practice.
- **9.** For the purposes of this section, a firearm is loaded if:
- (a) There is a cartridge in the chamber of the firearm:
- **(b)** There is a cartridge in the cylinder of the firearm, if the firearm is a revolver; or
- (c) There is a cartridge in the magazine and the magazine is in the firearm or there is a cartridge in the chamber, if the firearm is a semi-automatic firearm.
- 202.310. Sale of firearms to minors; penalty. Any person in this state who sells or barters to a child who is under the age of 18 years, with reckless disregard of whether the child is under the age of 18 years, or with knowledge or reason to know that the child is under the age of 18 years, a pistol, revolver or a firearm capable of being concealed upon the person is guilty of a category B felony and shall be punished by imprisonment in the state prison for a minimum term of not less than 1 year and a maximum term of not more than 6 years, and may be further punished by a fine of not more than \$5,000.
- 202.350. Manufacture or importation of dangerous weapon; possession or use of silencer or dangerous weapon; carrying concealed weapon without permit; penalties; exceptions.
- 1. Except as otherwise provided in this section and NRS 202.3653 to 202.369, inclusive, it is unlawful for a person within this state to:
- (a) Manufacture or cause to be manufactured, or import into the state, or keep, offer or expose for sale, or give, lend or possess any knife which is made an integral part of a belt buckle or any instrument or weapon of the kind commonly known as a switchblade knife, blackjack, slung shot, billy, sand-club, sandbag or metal knuckles; or
 - (b) Carry concealed upon his person any:
- (1) Explosive substance, other than ammunition or any components thereof;
 - (2) Dirk, dagger or machete;
- (3) Pistol, revolver or other firearm, or other dangerous or deadly weapon; or

ATF P 5300.3 (2000 - 22nd ed.)

- (4) Knife which is made an integral part of a belt buckle.
- 2. Except as otherwise provided in this section, it is unlawful for a person to possess or use a:
- (a) Nunchaku or trefoil with the intent to inflict harm upon the person of another; or
 - (b) Machine gun or a silencer.
- **3.** Except as otherwise provided in NRS 202.275 and 212.185, a person who violates any of the provisions of subsection 1 or 2 is quilty:
- (a) For the first offense, of a gross misdemeanor.
- **(b)** For any subsequent offense, of a category D felony, and shall be punished as provided in NRS 193 130
- 4. Except as otherwise provided in this subsection, the sheriff of any county may, upon written application by a resident of that county showing the reason or the purpose for which a concealed weapon is to be carried, issue a permit authorizing the applicant to carry in this state the concealed weapon described in the permit. The sheriff shall not issue a permit to a person to carry a switchblade knife. This subsection does not authorize the sheriff to issue a permit to a person to carry a pistol, revolver or other firearm
- **5.** Except as otherwise provided in subsection 6, this section does not apply to:
- **(a)** Sheriffs, constables, marshals, peace officers, special police officers, police officers of this state, whether active or honorably retired, or other appointed officers.
- **(b)** Any person summoned by any peace officer to assist in making arrests or preserving the peace while the person so summoned is actually engaged in assisting such an officer.
- (c) Any full-time paid peace officer of an agency of the United States or another state or political subdivision thereof when carrying out official duties in the State of Nevada.
- (d) Members of the Armed Forces of the United States when on duty.
- **6.** The exemptions provided in subsection 5 do not include a former peace officer who is retired for disability unless his former employer has approved his fitness to carry a concealed weapon.
- 7. The provisions of paragraph (b) of subsection 2 do not apply to any person who is licensed, authorized or permitted to possess or use a machine gun or silencer pursuant to federal law. The burden of establishing federal licensure, authorization or permission is upon the person possessing the license, authorization or permission.
 - 8. As used in this section:
- (a) "Concealed weapon" means a weapon described in this section that is carried upon a person in such a manner as not to be discernible by ordinary observation.
- (b) "Honorably retired" means retired in Nevada after completion of 10 years of credit-able service as a member of the public employees' retirement system. A former peace officer is not "honorably retired" if he was discharged for cause or resigned before the final disposition of allegations of serious misconduct.
- (c) "Machine gun" means any weapon which shoots, is designed to shoot or can be readily restored to shoot more than one shot, without manual reloading, by a single function of the trigger.
- (d) "Nunchaku" means an instrument consisting of two or more sticks, clubs, bars or rods connected by a rope, cord, wire or chain used as a weapon in forms of Oriental combat.

- (e) "Silencer" means any device for silencing, muffling or diminishing the report of a firearm, including any combination of parts, designed or redesigned, and intended for use in assembling or fabricating a silencer or muffler, and any part intended only for use in such assembly or fabrication.
- (f) "Switchblade knife" means a spring-blade knife, snap-blade knife or any other knife having the appearance of a pocket knife, any blade of which is 2 or more inches long and which can be released automatically by a flick of a button, pressure on the handle or other mechanical device, or is released by any type of mechanism.
- (g) "Trefoil" means an instrument consisting of a metal plate having three or more radiating points with sharp edges, designed in the shape of a star, cross or other geometric figure and used as a weapon for throwing.

202.360 Ex-felon not to possess firearm; penalty.

- 1. A person who has been convicted of a felony in this or any other state, or in any political subdivision thereof, or of a felony in violation of the laws of the United States of America, unless he has received a pardon and the pardon does not restrict his right to bear arms, shall not own or have in his possession or under his custody or control any firearm.
- 2. As used in this section, "firearm" includes any firearm that is loaded or unloaded and operable or inoperable.
- **3.** A person who violates the provisions of this section is guilty of a category B felony and shall be punished by imprisonment in the state prison for a minimum term of not less than 1 year and a maximum term of not more than 6 years, and may be further punished by a fine of not more than \$5,000.

Concealed Firearms

- **202.3653 Definitions.** As used in NRS 202.3653 to 202.369, inclusive, unless the context otherwise requires:
- 1. "Concealed firearm" means a loaded or unloaded pistol, revolver or other firearm which is carried upon a person in such a manner as not to be discernible by ordinary observation.
- 2. "Department" means the department of motor vehicles and public safety.
- **3. "Permit"** means a permit to carry a concealed firearm issued pursuant to the provisions of NRS 202.3653 to 202.369, inclusive.

202.3657 Application for permit; eligibility; denial or revocation of permit.

- 1. Any person may apply to the sheriff of the county in which he resides for a permit on a form prescribed by regulation of the department. Application forms for permits must be furnished by the sheriff of each county upon request.
- 2. Except as otherwise provided in this section, the sheriff shall issue a permit for no more than two specific firearms to any person who is qualified to possess a firearm under state and federal law, who submits an application in accordance with the provisions of this section and who:
 - (a) Is a resident of this state;
 - (b) Is 21 years of age or older;
- (c) Is not prohibited from possessing a firearm pursuant to NRS 202.360; and
- (d) Demonstrates competence with a firearm by presenting a certificate or other documentation to the sheriff which shows that he:
- (1) Successfully completed a course in firearm safety approved by a sheriff in this state; or
- (2) Successfully completed a course in firearm safety offered by a federal, state or local law

enforcement agency, community college, university or national organization that certifies instructors in firearm safety. Such a course must include instruction in the use of each firearm to which the application pertains and in the laws of this state relating to the proper use of a firearm. A sheriff may not approve a course in firearm safety pursuant to subparagraph (1) unless he determines that the course meets any standards that are established by the Nevada Sheriffs and Chiefs Association, or if the Nevada Sheriffs and Chiefs Association ceases to exist, its legal successor.

- **3.** The sheriff shall deny an application or revoke a permit if he determines that the applicant or permittee:
 - (a) Has an outstanding warrant for his arrest.
- (b) Has been judicially declared incompetent or insane.
- (c) Has been voluntarily or involuntarily admitted to a mental health facility during the immediately preceding 5 years.
- (d) Has habitually used intoxicating liquor or a controlled substance to the extent that his normal faculties are impaired. For the purposes of this paragraph, it is presumed that a person has so used intoxicating liquor or a controlled substance if, during the immediately preceding 5 years, he has been:
- (1) Convicted of violating the provisions of NRS 484.379; or
- (2) Committed for treatment pursuant to NRS 458.290 to 458.350, inclusive.
- **(e)** Has been convicted of a crime involving the use or threatened use of force or violence punishable as a misdemeanor under the laws of this or any other state, or a territory or possession of the United States at any time during the immediately preceding 3 years.
- **(f)** Has been convicted of a felony in this state or under the laws of any state, territory or possession of the United States.
- (g) Has been convicted of a crime involving domestic violence or stalking, or is currently subject to a restraining order, injunction or other order for protection against domestic violence.
- (h) Is currently on parole or probation from a conviction obtained in this state or in any other state or territory or possession of the United States.
- (i) Has, within the immediately preceding 5 years, been subject to any requirements imposed by a court of this state or of any other state or territory or possession of the United States, as a condition to the court's:
- (1) Withholding of the entry of judgment for his conviction of a felony; or
- (2) Suspension of his sentence for the conviction of a felony.
- (j) Has made a false statement on any application for a permit or for the renewal of a permit.
- **4.** The sheriff may deny an application or revoke a permit if he receives a sworn affidavit stating articulable facts based upon personal knowledge from any natural person who is 18 years of age or older that the applicant or permittee has or may have committed an offense or engaged in any other activity specified in subsection 3 which would preclude the issuance of a permit to the applicant or require the revocation of a permit pursuant to this section.
- 5. If the sheriff receives notification submitted by a court or law enforcement agency of this or any other state, the United States or a territory or possession of the United States that a permittee or an applicant for a permit has been charged with a crime involving the use or threatened use of force or violence, the conviction for which would require the revocation of a permit or pre-

clude the issuance of a permit to the applicant pursuant to this section, the sheriff shall suspend the person's permit or the processing of his application until the final disposition of the charges against him. If a permittee is acquittee of the charges against him, or if the charges are dropped, the sheriff shall restore his permit without imposing a fee.

- **6.** An application submitted pursuant to this section must be completed and signed under oath by the applicant. The applicant's signature must be witnessed by an employee of the sheriff or notarized by a notary public. The application must include:
- (a) The name, address, place and date of birth, social security number, occupation and employer of the applicant and any other names used by the applicant;
- **(b)** A complete set of the applicant's finger-prints taken by the sheriff or his agent;
- (c) A front-view colored photograph of the applicant taken by the sheriff or his agent;
- (d) The applicant's driver's license number or identification card number issued by the department:
- **(e)** The make, model and caliber of each firearm to which the application pertains;
- (f) A nonrefundable fee in the amount necessary to obtain the report required pursuant to subsection 1 of NRS 202.366; and
- **(g)** A nonrefundable fee set by the sheriff not to exceed \$60.

202.3667 Permittee to carry permit and proper identification when in possession of concealed firearm; penalty.

- 1. Each permittee shall carry the permit, or a duplicate issued pursuant to the provisions of NRS 202.367, together with proper identification whenever the permittee is in actual possession of a concealed firearm. Both the permit and proper identification must be presented if requested by a peace officer.
- **2.** A permittee who violates the provisions of this section is subject to a civil penalty of \$25 for each violation.
- **202.369 Regulations.** The department may adopt such regulations as are necessary to carry out the provisions of NRS 202.3653 to 202.369, inclusive.

Tear Gas Bombs and Weapons

- **202.370. Definitions.** As used in NRS 202.370 to 202.440, inclusive:
- 1. "Shell," "cartridge" or "bomb" includes all shells, cartridges or bombs capable of being discharged or exploded, when such discharge or explosions will cause or permit the release or emission of tear gas.
- 2. "Tear gas" includes all liquid, gaseous or solid substances intended to produce temporary physical discomfort or permanent injury through being vaporized or otherwise dispersed in the air. The term does not include a liquid, gaseous or solid substance whose active ingredient is composed of natural substances or products derived from natural substances which cause no permanent injury through being vaporized or otherwise dispersed in the air.
- 3. "Weapon designed for the use of such shell, cartridge or bomb" includes all revolvers, pistols, fountain pen guns, billies, riot guns or other form of device, portable or fixed, intended for the projection or release of tear gas except those regularly manufactured and sold for use with firearm ammunition.
- 202.375. Applicability of NRS 202.370 to 202.440, inclusive, to small weapons contain-

ing "CS" tear gas and to certain law enforcement, correctional and military personnel.

- 1. The provisions of NRS 202.370 to 202.440, inclusive, do not apply to the sale or purchase by any adult, or the possession or use by any person, including a minor but not including a convicted person as defined in NRS 179C.010, of any form of:
- (a) Cartridge which contains not more than 2 fluid ounces in volume of "CS" tear gas that may be propelled by air or another gas, but not an explosive, in the form of an aerosol spray; or
- **(b)** Weapon designed for the use of such a cartridge which does not exceed that size, and which is designed and intended for use as an instrument of self-defense.
- 2. A seller, before delivering to a purchaser a cartridge or weapon which may be sold pursuant to subsection 1, must record and maintain for not less than 2 years the name and address of the purchaser and the brand name, model number or type, and serial number if there is one, of the weapon or cartridge, or both.
- **3.** The provisions of NRS 202.370 to 202.440, inclusive, do not prohibit police departments or regular salaried peace officers thereof, sheriffs and their regular salaried deputies, the director, deputy director and superintendents of, and guards employed by, the department of prisons, personnel of the Nevada highway patrol or the United States from purchasing, possessing or transporting any shells, cartridges, bombs or weapons for official use in the discharge of their duties.
- **4.** As used in this section, "CS" tear gas means a crystalline powder containing orthochlorobenzalmalononitrile.

202.380. Sale or possession of tear gas bombs or weapons which are not permitted under NRS 202.370 to 202.440, inclusive; penalties.

- 1. A person, other than a convicted person, who within this state knowingly sells or offers for sale, possesses or transports any form of shell, cartridge or bomb containing or capable of emitting tear gas, or any weapon designed for the use of such shell, cartridge or bomb, except as permitted under the provisions of NRS 202.370 to 202.440, inclusive, is guilty of a gross misdemeanor.
- 2. A convicted person who owns or has in his possession or under his custody or control any form of shell, cartridge or bomb containing or capable of emitting tear gas, or any weapon designed for the use of such a shell, cartridge or bomb, is guilty of a category B felony and shall be punished by imprisonment in the state prison for a minimum term of not less than 1 year and a maximum term of not more than 6 years, or by a fine of not more than \$5,000, or by both fine and imprisonment.
- 3. As used in this section, the term "convicted person" has the meaning ascribed to it in NRS 179C.010.

202.390. Weapon to bear name of manufacturer and serial number; penalty for removal.

- 1. Each tear gas weapon sold, transported or possessed under the authority of NRS 202.370 to 202.440, inclusive, shall bear the name of the manufacturer and a serial number applied by him.
- 2. No person shall change, alter, remove or obliterate the name of the manufacturer, the serial number or any other mark of identification on any tear gas weapon. Possession of any such weapon upon which the same shall have been changed, altered, removed or obliterated,

shall be presumptive evidence that such possessor has changed, altered, removed or obliterated the same.

3. Any person who violates any of the provisions of this section is guilty of a gross misdemeanor

202.400. Permit for possession, transportation and use in protective system to be issued by sheriff.

- **1.** The sheriff of any county may issue a permit for the possession and transportation of such shells, cartridges, bombs or weapons to any applicant who submits proof that good cause exists for issuance of the permit.
- 2. The permit may also allow the applicant to install, maintain and operate a protective system involving the use of such shells, cartridges, bombs or weapons in any place which is accurately and completely described in the application for the permit.
- 202.440. License for retail sale of bombs or weapons; conditions. The sheriff of any county may also grant licenses in a form to be prescribed by him, effective for not more than 1 year from the date of issuance, to permit the sale at retail, at the place specified in the license, of such shells, cartridges, bombs or weapons, and to permit the installation and maintenance of protective systems involving the use of such shells, cartridges, bombs or weapons, subject to the following conditions, upon breach of any of which the license shall be subject to forfeiture:
- 1. Such business shall be carried on only in the building designated in the license.
- 2. Such license or certified copy thereof must be displayed on the premises in a place where it may easily be read.
- 3. No such shell, cartridge, bomb or weapon shall be delivered to any person not authorized to possess or transport the same under the provisions of NRS 202.370 to 202.440, inclusive. No protective system involving the use of such shells, cartridges, bombs or weapons shall be installed, nor shall supplies be sold for the maintenance of such system, unless the licensee has personal knowledge of the existence of a valid permit for the operation and maintenance of such system.
- **4.** A complete record must be kept of sales made under the authority of the license, showing the name and address of the purchaser, the quantity and description of the articles purchased, together with the serial number, if any, the number and date of issue of the purchaser's permit, and the signature of the purchaser or purchasing agent. No sale shall be made unless the permit authorizing possession and transportation of shells, cartridges, bombs or weapons is displayed to the seller and the information herein required is copied therefrom. This record shall be open to the inspection of any peace officer or other person designated by the sheriff.

Title 42. Protection from Fire; Explosives

Chapter 476. Explosives and Inflammable Materials

476.010. Sales and records of dealers in explosives; penalty.

- 1. Except in the due course of trade, it is unlawful for any dealer in dynamite, nitroglycerine, gunpowder or other high explosive to dispose of, transfer or sell to any person, in any unusual manner, an excessive amount of such commodities.
- 2. A record shall be kept by all dealers in such commodities of all such sales of the same made

by them, showing the purpose for which the same is to be used and to whom sold.

- **3.** No such sale of such commodities shall be made to any person except upon a signed order delivered to the merchant dealing in the same, stating the purpose and use to which the same is to be put.
- **4.** Any person violating the provisions of this section shall be guilty of a gross misdemeanor.

Title 54. Professions, Occupations and Businesses

Chapter 647. Dealers in Junk and Secondhand Materials

647.018 "Secondhand dealer" defined.

1. "Secondhand dealer" means any person engaged in whole or in part in the business of buying and selling metal junk, melted metals or secondhand personal property, other than used books, including, without limitation, antiques and collectibles.

- 2. The term does not include a person who engages in the business of buying or selling secondhand firearms or any antique parts, accessories or other equipment relating to those firearms if:
- (a) The person engages in that business at a show that:
 - (1) Is held at:
- (I) A convention facility which is owned or operated by and located on the premises of a resort hotel; or
- (II) A recreational facility which is owned or operated by a county fair and recreation board; and
- (2) Is conducted for not more than 7 days during any 6-month period; and
- (b) The person has been issued a license as a manufacturer, importer, dealer or collector pursuant to the provisions of 18 U.S.C. § 923.

[Current through 1999 Legislative Session]

Publisher's Notes:

Clark County and Las Vegas restrict the age at which it is legal for a person to purchase or receive a pistol and prohibit the sale, possession, or receipt of pistols by a particular class of persons (e.g. convicted felons, fugitives, illegal aliens, mental incompetents, illegal drug users or addicts).

Clark County and Las Vegas restrict the sale, possession, or receipt of pistols with altered manufacturer's identification numbers and homemade pistols.

Clark County and Las Vegas require a 72 hour waiting period before pistols may be delivered to purchasers and require a local license and recordkeeping to sell pistols.

Firearms must be registered with the chief of police by the seller or transferor prior to their transfer in Henderson.

NEW HAMPSHIRE N.H. Rev. Stat.

Title XII. Public Safety and Welfare

Chapter 159. Pistols and Revolvers

159:1. Definition. Pistol or revolver, as used herein, means any firearm with barrel less than 16 inches in length. It does not include antique pistols, gun canes, or revolvers. An antique pistol, gun cane, or revolver, for the purposes of this chapter means any pistol, gun cane, or revolver utilizing an early type of ignition, includeing, but not limited to, flintlocks, wheel locks, matchlocks, percussions and pin-fire, but no pistol, gun cane, or revolver which utilizes readily available center fire or rim-fire cartridges which are in common, current use shall be deemed to be an antique pistol, gun cane, or revolver. Nothing in this section shall prevent antique pistols, gun canes, or revolvers from being owned or transferred by museums, antique or arms collectors, or licensed gun dealers at auctions, gun shows, or private premises provided such ownership or transfer does not conflict with federal statutes.

159:3. Convicted Felons.

- I. A person is guilty of a class B felony if he:
- (a) Owns or has in his possession or under his control, a pistol, revolver, or other firearm, or slungshot, metallic knuckles, billies, stiletto, switchblade knife, sword cane, pistol cane, blackjack, dagger, dirk-knife, or any other dangerous weapon; and
- **(b)** Has been convicted in either a state or federal court in this or any other state, the District of Columbia, the Commonwealth of Puerto Rico, or any territory or possession of the United States of:
- (1) A felony against the person or property of another; or
 - (2) A felony under RSA 318-B; or
- (3) A felony violation of the laws of any other state, the District of Columbia, the United States, the Commonwealth of Puerto Rico or any territory or possession of the United States relating to controlled drugs as defined in RSA 318-B.
- **II.** The state shall confiscate to the use of the state the weapon or weapons of persons convicted under this section.

III. It is an affirmative defense to a charge under this section that a felony of which a defendant has been convicted in another jurisdiction would not have constituted a felony in the state of New Hampshire at the time such felony was committed.

159:5. Exceptions. The provisions of RSA 159:3 and 4 shall not apply to marshals, sheriffs, policemen or other duly appointed peace and other law enforcement officers, or bailiffs and court officers responsible for court security; nor to the regular and ordinary transportation of pistols or revolvers as merchandise, nor to members of the armed services of the United States when on duty; nor to the national guard when on duty; nor to organizations by law authorized to purchase or receive such weapons; nor to duly authorized military or civil organizations when parading, or the members thereof when at, or going to or from, their customary places of assembly.

159:7. Sales to Felons. No person shall sell, deliver, or otherwise transfer a pistol, revolver or any other firearm, to a person who has been convicted, in any jurisdiction, of a felony. Whoever violates the provisions of this section shall be guilty of a class B felony.

159:8. License to Sell. The selectmen of a town and the chief of police of a city may grant licenses, the form of which shall be prescribed by the director of the division of state police, effective for not more than 3 years from date of issue, permitting the licensee to sell at retail pistols and revolvers subject to the following conditions, for breach of any of which the licensee shall be subject to forfeiture:

- I. The business shall be carried on only in the building designated in the license or at any organized sporting show or arms collectors' meeting sponsored by a chartered club or organization.
- II. The license or a copy thereof, certified by the issuing authority, shall be displayed on the premises where it can easily be read.
- **III.** No pistol, revolver, or other firearm shall be delivered to a purchaser not personally known to the seller or who does not present clear evidence of his identity; nor to a person who has been convicted of a felony.

159:8-a. Sales to Nonresidents: Attorney General. No person holding a license issued under the provisions of RSA 159:8 shall sell a pistol or revolver to a nonresident unless such nonresident has authority under the laws of the state of his residence, to purchase a pistol or revolver in the state of his residence, or unless the director of the division of state police, for good cause shown, has issued to such nonresident a permit for the purchase of a pistol or revolver. The attorney general shall, at least once annually, file with the secretary of state a summary of the laws of each state of the United States relative to the purchase of pistols and revolvers in such states; and a licensee may rely upon such summary in determining if a nonresident offering to purchase a pistol or revolver has authority to make such purchase under the laws of the state of his residence.

159:10. Sale Without License. Any person who, without being licensed as herein provided, sells, advertises or exposes for sale, or has in his possession with intent to sell, pistols or revolvers shall be guilty of a class B felony if a natural person, or guilty of a felony if any other person.

159:11. False Information. Any person who, in purchasing or otherwise securing delivery of a pistol, revolver, or other firearm, gives false information or offers false evidence of his identity, shall be guilty of a misdemeanor for the first offense, and be guilty of a class B felony for any subsequent offense.

159:12. Sale to Minors. Any person who

159:12. Sale to Minors. Any person who shall sell, barter, hire, lend or give to any minor any pistol or revolver shall be guilty of a misdemeanor. This section shall not apply to fathers, mothers, guardians, administrators or executors who give a revolver to their children or wards or to heirs to an estate.

159:13. Changing Marks. No person shall change, alter, remove or obliterate the name of the maker, model, manufacturer's number or other mark of identification on any pistol or revolver. Possession of any such firearms upon which the same shall have been changed, altered, removed or obliterated shall be presumptive evidence that such possessor has changed, altered, removed or obliterated the