## Congress of the United States Washington, DC 20515

Mr. Robert M. Duncan Chairman, Board of Governors U.S. Postal Service U.S. Postal Service Headquarters 475 L'Enfant Plaza SW Washington, D.C. 20260

Mr. Ron A. Bloom Member, Board of Governors U.S. Postal Service U.S. Postal Service Headquarters 475 L'Enfant Plaza SW Washington, D.C. 20260

Mr. Donald L. Moak Member, Board of Governors U.S. Postal Service U.S. Postal Service Headquarters 475 L'Enfant Plaza SW Washington, D.C. 20260 Mr. John M. Barger Member, Board of Governors U.S. Postal Service U.S. Postal Service Headquarters 475 L'Enfant Plaza SW Washington, D.C. 20260

Mr. Roman Martinez IV Member, Board of Governors U.S. Postal Service U.S. Postal Service Headquarters 475 L'Enfant Plaza SW Washington, D.C. 20260

Mr. William D. Zollars Member, Board of Governors U.S. Postal Service U.S. Postal Service Headquarters 475 L'Enfant Plaza SW Washington, D.C. 20260

August 19, 2020

Dear Chairman Duncan and Members of the Board:

We write to urge you to immediately remove Postmaster General Louis DeJoy using your powers under 39 U.S. Code § 202. Mr. DeJoy has used his time as Postmaster General to sabotage the United States Postal Service (USPS) and he must be removed immediately to protect this critical institution. Despite recent claims by Mr. DeJoy that implementation of certain changes may be delayed, he has already done considerable damage to the institution and we believe his conflicts of interest are insurmountable.

Mail is an essential government service and a critical lifeline for many during the COVID-19 pandemic. Americans rely on the USPS to deliver their medications, paychecks, ballots and other essential goods. In his brief time as Postmaster General, Mr. DeJoy has implemented policies that have slowed delivery times to unacceptable levels and resulted in undelivered mail. Americans must be able to rely on USPS to deliver essential goods like medicine, and Mr. DeJoy's actions have consistently undermined the Postal Service's ability to deliver such items on time.

Furthermore, Mr. DeJoy holds a significant investment in his former company, XPO Logistics, a USPS contractor. Since becoming Postmaster General, he has also invested tens of thousands of dollars in stock options in another USPS contractor and competitor.<sup>1</sup> Both investments represent a tremendous conflict of interest. We cannot trust that Mr. DeJoy will act in best interest of the USPS or the people who rely on it.

It is your responsibility as the Board of Governors to ensure that the USPS is able to discharge its critically important duties and to ensure the institution's long-term wellbeing. You must not allow it to be used as a political tool. We urge you to remove Mr. DeJoy immediately.

Sincerely,

acheine M. Clark

Mark Pocan Member of Congress

Katherine M. Clark Member of Congress

Cindy Axne Member of Congress

Karen Bass Member of Congress

Joyce Beatty Member of Congress

Donald S. Beyer, Jr. Member of Congress

Sanford D. Bishop, Jr. Member of Congress

Earl Blumenauer Member of Congress

Lisa Blunt Rochester Member of Congress

Brendan F. Boyle Member of Congress

Julia Brownley Member of Congress

<sup>&</sup>lt;sup>1</sup> <u>https://www.cnn.com/2020/08/12/politics/postal-service-dejoy-conflicts-amazon-trades-xpo-stake/index.html</u>

André Carson Member of Congress

Judy Chu Member of Congress

David N. Cicilline Member of Congress

Yvette Clarke Member of Congress

Steve Cohen Member of Congress

Gerald E. Connolly Member of Congress

Jim Cooper Member of Congress

Sharice L. Davids Member of Congress

Danny K. Davis Member of Congress

Diana DeGette Member of Congress

Rosa DeLauro Member of Congress

Debbie Dingell Member of Congress

Lloyd Doggett Member of Congress

Mike Doyle Member of Congress

Eliot L. Engel Member of Congress

Anna G. Eshoo Member of Congress Adriano Espaillat Member of Congress

Bill Foster Member of Congress

Ruben Gallego Member of Congress

John Garamendi Member of Congress

Jesús G. "Chuy" García Member of Congress

Raúl M. Grijalva Member of Congress

Deb Haaland Member of Congress

Alcee L. Hastings Member of Congress

Steven Horsford Member of Congress

Jared Huffman Member of Congress

Sheila Jackson Lee Member of Congress

Pramila Jayapal Member of Congress

Hakeem Jeffries Member of Congress

Henry C. "Hank" Johnson, Jr. Member of Congress

Marcy Kaptur Member of Congress

Robin L. Kelly Member of Congress Joseph P. Kennedy, III Member of Congress

Ro Khanna Member of Congress

Daniel T. Kildee Member of Congress

Andy Kim Member of Congress

Ann Kirkpatrick Member of Congress

Brenda L. Lawrence Member of Congress

Barbara Lee Member of Congress

Andy Levin Member of Congress

Mike Levin Member of Congress

Alan Lowenthal Member of Congress

Stephen F. Lynch Member of Congress

A. Donald McEachin Member of Congress

James P. McGovern Member of Congress

Jerry McNerney Member of Congress

Gregory Meeks Member of Congress

Grace Meng Member of Congress

Kweisi Mfume Member of Congress Gwen Moore Member of Congress

Grace F. Napolitano Member of Congress

Eleanor Holmes Norton Member of Congress

Frank Pallone, Jr. Member of Congress

Donald M. Payne, Jr. Member of Congress

Chellie Pingree Member of Congress

Katie Porter Member of Congress

Ayanna Pressley Member of Congress

Jamie Raskin Member of Congress

Jan Schakowsky Member of Congress

Bradley S. Schneider Member of Congress

José E. Serrano Member of Congress

Donna Shalala Member of Congress

Brad Sherman Member of Congress

Mikie Sherrill Member of Congress

Jackie Speier Member of Congress Mark Takano Member of Congress

Mike Thompson Member of Congress

Dina Titus Member of Congress

Rashida Tlaib Member of Congress

Norma J. Torres Member of Congress

Lori Trahan Member of Congress

David Trone Member of Congress

Juan Vargas Member of Congress

Nydia M. Velázquez Member of Congress

Debbie Wasserman Schultz Member of Congress

Bonnie Watson Coleman Member of Congress

Peter Welch Member of Congress

Susan Wild Member of Congress

John Yarmuth Member of Congress