COMMITTEE ON WAYS AND MEANS

U.S. HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES WASHINGTON, DC 20515

July 10, 2020

Michael Chernew, PhD Chairman Medicare Payment Advisory Commission 425 I Street, NW Suite 701 Washington, DC 20001

Dear Dr. Chernew:

Congratulations on your recent appointment as Chairman of the Medicare Payment Advisory Commission (MedPAC). We look forward to working with you on future Medicare policies and transformation.

In July 2019, the Committee on Ways and Means launched its Rural and Underserved Communities Health Task Force (the Task Force) to tackle issues of health care inequities facing rural and underserved American communities. As part of the Task Force's initial fact-finding work, the bipartisan co-chairs issued a Request for Information (RFI) in November 2019. The RFI sought feedback from stakeholders across the country – industry groups, patient advocates, and researchers, among others – on the key factors driving health inequities across the country.

To complement the responses received and increase the Task Force's depth of knowledge about health inequities in the Medicare space, the Committee requests that MedPAC update its June 2012 report entitled "Serving rural Medicare beneficiaries" which focused on access to and quality of care in rural areas for Medicare beneficiaries as well as special rural payments. As part of this work, the Committee requests that MedPAC:

- 1. Add medically underserved areas as a distinct geographic category to any applicable analysis;
- 2. Add dually eligible Medicare beneficiaries and beneficiaries with multiple chronic conditions to any applicable analysis; and,
- 3. Examine factors and trends that may have impacted these communities since the 2012 report, such as expanded use of telemedicine and provider consolidation.

The Committee requests an interim report by June 15, 2021 and a final report by June 15, 2022.

Thank you for your consideration of this request. If you have any questions about this request, please contact Orriel Richardson of the Committee on Ways and Means Democratic Staff at (202) 225-3625 or Jay Gulshen of the Republican Staff at (202) 225-4021.

Sincerely,

The Honorable Richard E. Neal
Chairman

The Honorable Kevin Brady
Ranking Member

The Honorable Terri A. Sewell
Task Force Co-Chair

The Honorable Danny K. Davis
Task Force Co-Chair

The Honorable Jodey Arrington Task Force Co-Chair The Honorable Brad Wenstrup Task Force Co-Chair

From R. Warner