Congress of the United States Washington, DC 20515

June 15, 2020

The Honorable Nancy Pelosi Speaker U.S. House of Representatives Washington, D.C. 20515

The Honorable Kevin McCarthy Republican Leader U.S. House of Representatives Washington, D.C. 20515 The Honorable Mitch McConnell Majority Leader U.S. Senate Washington DC 20510

The Honorable Charles Schumer Democratic Leader U.S. Senate Washington DC 20510

Dear Speaker Pelosi, Senator McConnell, Representative McCarthy, and Senator Schumer,

The coronavirus health crisis has presented our nation with challenges unlike any we have seen in our lifetime. During this crisis, our frontline farmworkers are laboring every day to put food on America's dinner table and maintain the world food supply. As this virus threatens the resiliency of our food supply chains, it has never been more important to ensure the well-being of our agricultural producers and workforce. Future legislation in response to the coronavirus pandemic must include protections for these vital members of our communities.

Our nation's food security depends on the ability of farmworkers to continue to work safely to produce our nation's food. We have key recommendations for policies to support farmworkers and contain the spread of COVID-19 in agricultural communities:

- Until the bipartisan Farm Workforce Modernization Act (H.R.5038) can become law, provide our essential agricultural workforce with legal protections from deportation.
- Direct financial assistance to agricultural employers to: provide farmworkers with job security, pandemic premium pay (in line with pay for other frontline workers in our country's critical infrastructure), sick pay, and family leave; and disseminate and implement CDC recommendations on sanitation and social distancing in work sites, employer provided housing and transportation.
- Ensure that farmworker families can feed themselves by working with recipients of federal nutrition funding to have dedicated efforts that specifically target farmworker communities.
- Support the childcare needs of farmworkers by expanding the eligibility for childcare programs, along with additional funding and flexibility for the Migrant and Seasonal Head Start program.
- Additional support for community health centers, in particular those in rural, agricultural communities.

Farmworkers need our support. They should not live in fear. As this crisis evolves and Congress continues to explore response packages, we stand ready to work with you to ensure these protections are made available. Hardworking farmworkers deserve and require our action. Their wellbeing and the stabilization of our food supply depend on these actions.

Sincerely,

Jim Costa Member of Congress

Joaquin Castro Member of Congress

Adriano Espaillat Member of Congress

Albio Sires Member of Congress

Debbie Mucarsel-Powell Member of Congress

Grace F. Napolitano Member of Congress

Jesús G. "Chuy" García Member of Congress

Juan Vargas Member of Congress

Lou Correa Member of Congress

Mike Levin Member of Congress

Pete Aguilar Member of Congress

Sylvia R. Garcia Member of Congress Ruben Gallego Member of Congress

Veronica Escobar Member of Congress

Alexandria Ocasio-Cortez Member of Congress

Filemon Vela Member of Congress

Gregorio Kilili Camacho Sablan Member of Congress

Jimmy Gomez Member of Congress

Linda T. Sánchez Member of Congress

Lucille Roybal-Allard Member of Congress

Norma J. Torres Member of Congress

Raúl Grijalva Member of Congress

Tony Cardenas Member of Congress

Xochitl Torres Small Member of Congress Salud Carbajal Member of Congress

Nanette Diaz Barragán Member of Congress

Ben Ray Luján Member of Congress

Darren Soto Member of Congress

Gilbert R. Cisneros, Jr. Member of Congress

Henry Cuellar Member of Congress

José E. Serrano Member of Congress

Lori Trahan Member of Congress

Michael F.Q. San Nicolas Member of Congress

Nydia M. Velázquez Member of Congress

Raul Ruiz, M.D. Member of Congress

Vicente Gonzalez Member of Congress A. Donald McEachin Member of Congress

Alan Lowenthal Member of Congress

Ami Bera, M.D. Member of Congress

Ann McLane Kuster Member of Congress

Ayanna Pressley Member of Congress

Betty McCollum Member of Congress

Bonnie Watson Coleman Member of Congress

Carolyn B. Maloney Member of Congress

Cheri Bustos Member of Congress

Danny K. Davis Member of Congress

David Trone Member of Congress

Debbie Wasserman Schultz Member of Congress

> Dina Titus Member of Congress

Eddie Bernice Johnson Member of Congress

G. K. Butterfield Member of Congress

Ilhan Omar Member of Congress Adam Smith Member of Congress

Alcee L. Hastings Member of Congress

Andy Levin Member of Congress

Anna G. Eshoo Member of Congress

Barbara Lee Member of Congress

Bill Foster Member of Congress

Brad Sherman Member of Congress

Charlie Crist Member of Congress

Chrissy Houlahan Member of Congress

David N. Cicilline Member of Congress

Deb Haaland Member of Congress

Derek Kilmer Member of Congress

Donna E. Shalala Member of Congress

Eleanor Holmes Norton Member of Congress

Grace Meng Member of Congress

Jahana Hayes Member of Congress Al Green Member of Congress

Alma S. Adams, Ph.D. Member of Congress

Ann Kirkpatrick Member of Congress

Anthony G. Brown Member of Congress

Bennie Thompson Member of Congress

Bobby L. Rush Member of Congress

Brenda L. Lawrence Member of Congress

Chellie Pingree Member of Congress

Daniel T. Kildee Member of Congress

David Price Member of Congress

Debbie Dingell Member of Congress

Diana DeGette Member of Congress

Earl Blumenauer Member of Congress

Emanuel Cleaver, II Member of Congress

Gwen Moore Member of Congress

James P. McGovern Member of Congress Jamie Raskin Member of Congress

Jerry McNerney Member of Congress

Joe Neguse Member of Congress

Joseph P. Kennedy, III Member of Congress

Julia Brownley Member of Congress

Kurt Schrader Member of Congress

Marcia L. Fudge Member of Congress

Mark Takano Member of Congress

Paul D. Tonko Member of Congress

Pramila Jayapal Member of Congress

Rosa L. DeLauro Member of Congress

Sheila Jackson Lee Member of Congress

Ted Deutch Member of Congress

Tim Ryan Member of Congress

Val B. Demings Member of Congress Jan Schakowsky Member of Congress

Jimmy Panetta Member of Congress

John Garamendi Member of Congress

Josh Harder Member of Congress

Karen Bass Member of Congress

Lloyd Doggett Member of Congress

Marcy Kaptur Member of Congress

Mike Quigley Member of Congress

Peter A. DeFazio Member of Congress

Rashida Tlaib Member of Congress

Sanford D Bishop Member of Congress

Suzan DelBene Member of Congress

Ted Lieu Member of Congress

TJ Cox Member of Congress

William R. Keating Member of Congress Jared Huffman Member of Congress

Joe Courtney Member of Congress

John Yarmuth Member of Congress

Judy Chu Member of Congress

Kim Schrier, M.D. Member of Congress

Lois Frankel Member of Congress

Mark Pocan Member of Congress

Mike Thompson Member of Congress

Peter Welch Member of Congress

Ro Khanna Member of Congress

Sean Casten Member of Congress

Suzanne Bonamici Member of Congress

Thomas R. Suozzi Member of Congress

Tulsi Gabbard Member of Congress

Zoe Lofgren Member of Congress