Congress of the United States Washington, DC 20515

September 10, 2020

The Honorable Mike Pompeo Secretary U.S. Department of State 2201 C Street NW Washington, D.C., 20520

Dear Mr. Secretary:

We write regarding the closure of the United States consulate in Chengdu following the Ministry of Foreign Affairs of China's decision to revoke its license on July 24, 2020.¹ We are concerned that the consulate's closure will impede the U.S.'s ability to monitor conditions in the Tibet Autonomous Region (TAR), and Tibetan areas in Sichuan, Gansu and Yunnan provinces, as well as in the Xinjiang Uyghur Autonomous Region (XUAR), often referred to as Xinjiang. As such, we urge the Department to send to Congress a strategy for continued monitoring of human rights in these regions.

As you know, the Chengdu consulate is situated further west than the United States' other five consular posts in China, including the embassy in Beijing. As the *New York Times* reported in July, this renders the Chengdu consulate our "most valuable diplomatic outpost for gathering information on Xinjiang and Tibet."² Without this critical vantage point, we are deeply concerned that it will be more difficult for the United States to assess human rights conditions in Tibet, where the Chinese government has long denied the Tibetan people their fundamental human rights and threatened the very existence of their culture, and the XUAR, where Chinese authorities have detained an estimated one million Uyghurs, Kazakhs, Kyrgyz, Hui, and other largely Muslim ethnic minorities.³

As Members of Congress focused on Tibetan human rights, we are concerned that the Chengdu consulate's closure may constitute yet another impediment to human rights monitoring in the region. Despite the enactment of the Reciprocal Access to Tibet Act (P.L. 115-330) in 2018 and the State Department's efforts at implementation, access to the TAR and other Tibetan areas remains highly limited. As the Department reported on August 5, 2020, "the People's Republic of China (PRC) government systematically impeded travel to the Tibetan Autonomous Region (TAR) and Tibetan areas outside the TAR for U.S. diplomats and officials, journalists, and tourists in 2019."⁴

¹ <u>"The Chinese Ministry of Foreign Affairs informs the U.S. to close the U.S. Consulate in Chengdu." Ministry of Foreign Affairs of the People's Republic of China. July 24. 2020.</u>

² "China Orders U.S. to Shut Chengdu Consulate, Retaliating for Houston." *New York Times*. July 24, 2020.

³ "U.S. Adds Sanctions Over Internment of Muslims in China." New York Times. July 31, 2020.

⁴ "Report to Congress on Access to Tibetan Areas of the People's Republic of China (PRC), Sec. 4 of the Reciprocal Access to Tibet Act of 2018, PL 115-330." U.S. Department of State, Bureau of East Asian and Pacific Affairs. August 5, 2020.

We are also concerned that the consulate's closure could make it more difficult to assess the situation in the XUAR. Earlier this year, Congress passed and the President signed the Uyghur Human Rights Policy Act of 2020 (P.L. 116-145), which mandates reports to Congress on human rights in the XUAR.⁵ We recognize that the XUAR lies within the district covered by the Beijing embassy rather than the Chengdu consulate. We are nonetheless concerned that without the consulate, it will be more difficult to communicate with people in the region, and formulate accurate and comprehensive reports about the situation on the ground.

We respectfully request that the Department send to Congress a detailed strategy to continue robust human rights monitoring in Tibet and the XUAR. We also hope that a Special Coordinator for Tibetan Issues, as required by the Tibetan Policy Act of 2002 (P.L. 107-228), will be soon appointed and confirmed.

We thank you for your attention to this matter and stand ready to work with you to end human rights abuses in China.

Sincerely,

ANDY LEVIN Member of Congress

COLIN Z. ALLRED Member of Congress

AMI BERA, M.D. Member of Congress

EARL BLUMENAUER Member of Congress

JULIA BROWNLEY Member of Congress

ANDRÉ CARSON Member of Congress

JOAQUIN CASTRO Member of Congress James P. Une Doner

JAMES P. MCGOVERN Member of Congress

KAREN BASS Member of Congress

DONALD S. BEYER JR. Member of Congress

SUZANNE BONAMICI Member of Congress

CHERI BUSTOS Member of Congress

SEAN CASTEN Member of Congress

DAVID N. CICILLINE Member of Congress

⁵ <u>Public Law No: 116-145.</u>

YVETTE D. CLARKE Member of Congress

STEVE COHEN Member of Congress

J. LUIS CORREA Member of Congress

JOE COURTNEY Member of Congress

JASON CROW Member of Congress

DANNY K. DAVIS Member of Congress

SUZAN DELBENE Member of Congress

TED DEUTCH Member of Congress

ELIOT L. ENGEL Member of Congress

DWIGHT EVANS Member of Congress

BILL FOSTER Member of Congress

RUBEN GALLEGO Member of Congress

JIMMY GOMEZ Member of Congress

JOSH GOTTHEIMER Member of Congress

MARK E. GREEN, M.D. Member of Congress EMANUEL CLEAVER, II Member of Congress

GERALD E. CONNOLLY Member of Congress

JIM COSTA Member of Congress

DAN CRENSHAW Member of Congress

SHARICE L. DAVIDS Member of Congress

PETER A. DEFAZIO Member of Congress

VAL BUTLER DEMINGS Member of Congress

DEBBIE DINGELL Member of Congress

ADRIANO ESPAILLAT Member of Congress

BRIAN FITZPATRICK Member of Congress

LOIS FRANKEL Member of Congress

JOHN GARAMENDI Member of Congress

VICENTE GONZALEZ Member of Congress

AL GREEN Member of Congress

RAÚL M. GRIJALVA Member of Congress DEB HAALAND Member of Congress

JAHANA HAYES Member of Congress

CHRISSY HOULAHAN Member of Congress

PRAMILA JAYAPAL Member of Congress

HENRY C. "HANK" JOHNSON, JR. Member of Congress

DANIEL T. KILDEE Member of Congress

JOHN B. LARSON Member of Congress

BARBARA LEE Member of Congress

ZOE LOFGREN Member of Congress

NITA M. LOWEY Member of Congress

TOM MALINOWSKI Member of Congress

DORIS MATSUI Member of Congress

MICHAEL T. MCCAUL Member of Congress

GREGORY W. MEEKS Member of Congress

ELEANOR HOLMES NORTON Member of Congress ALCEE L. HASTINGS Member of Congress

BRIAN HIGGINS Member of Congress

JARED HUFFMAN Member of Congress

EDDIE BERNICE JOHNSON Member of Congress

RO KHANNA Member of Congress

JAMES R. LANGEVIN Member of Congress

BRENDA L. LAWRENCE Member of Congress

DANIEL W. LIPINSKI Member of Congress

ALAN LOWENTHAL Member of Congress

STEPHEN F. LYNCH Member of Congress

SEAN PATRICK MALONEY Member of Congress

BEN MCADAMS Member of Congress

BETTY MCCOLLUM Member of Congress

JOE NEGUSE Member of Congress

ALEXANDRIA OCASIO-CORTEZ Member of Congress CHRIS PAPPAS Member of Congress

MARK POCAN Member of Congress

DAVID PRICE Member of Congress

DENVER L. RIGGLEMAN Member of Congress

C.A. DUTCH RUPPERSBERGER Member of Congress

JAN SCHAKOWSKY Member of Congress

BRAD SHERMAN Member of Congress

CHRISTOPHER H. SMITH Member of Congress

DARREN SOTO Member of Congress

JACKIE SPEIER Member of Congress

DINA TITUS Member of Congress

LORI TRAHAN Member of Congress

JUAN VARGAS Member of Congress

ANN WAGNER Member of Congress

MAXINE WATERS Member of Congress DEAN PHILLIPS Member of Congress

AYANNA PRESSLEY Member of Congress

JAMIE RASKIN Member of Congress

FRANCIS ROONEY Member of Congress

BOBBY L. RUSH Member of Congress

ADAM B. SCHIFF Member of Congress

ALBIO SIRES Member of Congress

ADAM SMITH Member of Congress

ABIGAIL D. SPANBERGER Member of Congress

THOMAS R. SUOZZI Member of Congress

RASHIDA TLAIB Member of Congress

DAVID TRONE Member of Congress

NYDIA M. VELÁZQUEZ Member of Congress

DEBBIE WASSERMAN SCHULTZ Member of Congress

BONNIE WATSON COLEMAN Member of Congress PETER WELCH Member of Congress

SUSAN WILD Member of Congress

JOHN YARMUTH Member of Congress JENNIFER WEXTON Member of Congress

FREDERICA S WILSON Member of Congress

TED S. YOHO, D.V.M. Member of Congress