## LARSON AND 200+ MEMBERS OF CONGRESS INTRODUCE LANDMARK SOCIAL SECURITY PROPOSAL

## Social Security 2100 Act will Strengthen Social Security, Increase Benefits, Cut Taxes for Seniors

Washington, D.C. – Today, John B. Larson (CT-01), Chairman of the Ways & Means Social Security Subcommittee, introduced the "Social Security 2100 Act," H.R. 860, a bill that increases Social Security's vital benefits while making the system financially strong throughout the 21st century.



"Today, over 200 Members of Congress came together on the anniversary of President Franklin Delano Roosevelt's birth to honor his legacy, and to enhance and expand the nation's most successful insurance program, Social Security, which touches the lives of every American. With 10,000 baby boomers becoming eligible for Social Security every day, the time to act is now. The Social Security 2100 Act will provide economic security not just for today's seniors but for future generations too.

"Social Security has not had any significant adjustments made since 1983, when Tip O'Neill was Speaker and Ronald Reagan was President. It's time for Congress and the President to come together again, just like Speaker O'Neill and President Reagan did to make this a reality. President Trump was the only Republican during the 2016 Presidential campaign who stood up and said he wasn't going to cut Social Security. The time to expand Social Security is now. Let's create an actual solution for millions of Americans and get something done," said **Larson**.

The Social Security 2100 Act, H.R. 860, provides the following:

- An across-the-board benefit increase for current and new beneficiaries
- An improved cost-of-living adjustment (COLA) that takes into account the true costs incurred by seniors
- A stronger minimum benefit, so someone who works their whole life does not retire into poverty
- A tax cut for over 12 million Social Security recipients by eliminating the tax on their benefits

Social Security is the most important source of retirement income for 4 out of 5 seniors. It also provides protections to disabled workers and families who have lost a breadwinner. With common sense steps like those in the Social Security 2100 Act, Congress can improve benefits while ensuring Social Security remains finally strong throughout the century. Current cosponsors of the Social Security 2100 Act include Representatives:

Alma Adams, Pete Aguilar, Nanette Barragán, Karen Bass, Joyce Beatty, Ami Bera, Donald Beyer, Sanford Bishop, Earl Blumenauer, Lisa Blunt Rochester, Suzanne Bonamici, Brendan Boyle, Julia Brownley, Anthony Brown, Cheri Bustos, G.K. Butterfield, Salud Carbajal, Tony Cárdenas, André Carson, Matt Cartwright, Ed Case, Sean Casten, Joaquin Castro, Judy Chu, David Cicilline, Gil Cisneros, Katherine Clark, Yvette Clarke, Wm. Lacy Clay, Emanuel Cleaver, James Clyburn, Steve Cohen, Gerald Connolly, Luis J. Correa, Joe Courtney, TJ Cox, Angie Craig, Jason Crow, Henry Cuellar, Elijah Cummings, Sharice Davids, Danny Davis, Susan Davis, Madeleine Dean, Peter DeFazio, Diana DeGette, Rosa DeLauro, Suzan DelBene, Val Demings, Mark DeSaulnier, Theodore Deutch, Debbie Dingell, Lloyd Doggett, Mike Doyle, Eliot Engel, Veronica Escobar, Anna Eshoo, Adriano Espaillat, Dwight Evans, Bill Foster, Lois Frankel, Marcia Fudge, Tulsi Gabbard, Ruben Gallego, Jesus "Chuy" Garcia, Sylvia Garcia, John Garamendi, Jared Golden, Jimmy Gomez, Vicente Gonzalez, Al Green, Raúl Grijalva, Deb Haaland, Alcee Hastings, Jahana Hayes, Denny Heck, Brian Higgins, Katie Hill, Jim Himes, Kendra Horn, Steven Horsford, Chrissy Houlahan, Jared Huffman, Sheila Jackson Lee, Pramila Jayapal, Hakeem Jeffries, Eddie Bernice Johnson, Henry Johnson, Marcy Kaptur, William Keating, Robin Kelly, Joseph Kennedy, Ro Khanna, Daniel Kildee, Derek Kilmer, Andy Kim, Ann Kirkpatrick, Ann Kuster, Conor Lamb, James Langevin, Rick Larsen, John Larson, Brenda Lawrence, Al Lawson, Barbara Lee, Andy Levin, Mike Levin, John Lewis, Ted Lieu, Zoe Lofgren, Alan Lowenthal, Ben Ray Luján, Stephen Lynch, Tom Malinowski, Carolyn Maloney, Sean Patrick Maloney, Doris Matsui, Betty McCollum, Donald, McEachin, James McGovern, Jerry McNerney, Gregory Meeks, Grace Meng, Gwen Moore, Joe Morelle, Seth Moulton, Debbie Mucarsel Powell, Jerrold Nadler, Grace Napolitano, Richard Neal, Joe Neguse, Donald Norcross, Eleanor Holmes Norton, Alexandria Ocasio-Cortez, Ilhan Omar, Frank Pallone, Jimmy Panetta, Chris Pappas, Bill Pascrell, Donald Payne, Ed Perlmutter, Collin Peterson, Chellie Pingree, Stacy Plaskett, Mark Pocan, Katie Porter, Ayanna Pressley, David Price, Mike Quigley, Jamie Raskin, Kathleen Rice, Cedric Richmond, Harley Rouda, Lucille Roybal-Allard, Raul Ruiz, C.A. Dutch Ruppersberger, Bobby Rush, Tim Ryan, Gregorio Sablan, Linda Sánchez, John Sarbanes, Mary Gay Scanlon, Janice Schakowsky, Adam Schiff, Kim Schrier, Bobby Scott, David Scott, José Serrano, Terri Sewell, Donna Shalala, Brad Sherman, Albio Sires, Adam Smith, Darren Soto, Thomas Suozzi, Jackie Speier, Greg Stanton, Haley Stevens, Eric Swalwell, Mark Takano, Bennie Thompson, Mike Thompson, Dina Titus, Rashida Tlaib, Paul Tonko, Norma Torres, Lori Trahan, David Trone, Lauren Underwood, Juan Vargas, Marc Veasey, Filemon Vela, Nydia Velázquez, Debbie Wasserman Schultz, Maxine Waters, Bonnie Coleman Watson, Peter Welch, Jennifer Wexton, Susan Wild, Frederica Wilson, John Yarmuth

Additional quotes, a fact sheet, endorsements, bill language and more are available online.