Congress of the United States Washington, DC 20515

March 20, 2020

The Honorable Mike Quigley Chair Subcommittee on Financial Services Committee on Appropriations 2000 Rayburn House Office Building Washington, DC 20515 The Honorable Tom Graves Ranking Member Subcommittee on Financial Services Committee on Appropriations 1016 Rayburn House Office Building Washington, DC 20515

Dear Chair Quigley and Ranking Member Graves:

We urge the Committee to include \$150 million for the Small Business Development Centers (SBDC) program within the Fiscal Year (FY) 2021 Financial Services and General Government Appropriations bill.

SBDCs are a nationwide network of business advisors, trainers, and support staff operating from community and technical colleges, and selected economic development agencies. The SBDCs in our districts are highly effective at helping local small businesses and entrepreneurs succeed and drive economic growth and job creation.

The nearly 1,000 SBDCs nationwide are an important economic development engine. Last year SBDCs helped create over 16,500 new business and 95,000 new jobs. SBDCs helped generate \$7 billion in new sales last year and the return on federal investment was \$2.16 to \$1.

Therefore, we urge the Committee to include \$150 million for the SBDC program within the FY 2021 Financial Services and General Government Appropriations bill, consistent with the House-passed level in FY 2020. This appropriation will be matched more than one-to-one by state, local and private funds, increasing the availability and breadth of services provided to entrepreneurs, like navigating international trade and enhancing cybersecurity. This increased appropriation will also enable SBDCs to serve more businesses and entrepreneurs, enabling more business starts and spurring job creation.

Thank you for your consideration of this request. We look forward to working with you throughout the FY 21 Appropriations process.

Sincerely,

Rick Larsen

Member of Congress

hick Lousen

Don Young

Member of Congress

Congress of the United States Washington, DC 20515

DillAD C-J.

Gilbert R. Cisneros, Jr. Member of Congress

Troy Balderson Member of Congress

FY 2021 SBDC APPROPRIATIONS SIGNATORIES

Rep. Ami Bera, M.D.	Rep. Jenniffer González-Colón	Rep. Jerry McNerney
Rep. Anthony Brindisi	Rep. Josh Gottheimer	Rep. Eleanor Holmes Norton
Rep. Cheri Bustos	Rep. Deb Haaland	Rep. Frank Pallone, Jr.
Rep. Salud Carbajal	Rep. Alcee L. Hastings	Rep. Jimmy Panetta
Rep. Tony Cárdenas	Rep. Jahana Hayes	Rep. Bill Pascrell, Jr.
Rep. André Carson	Rep. Denny Heck	Rep. Donald M. Payne, Jr.
Rep. Sean Casten	Rep. Brian Higgins	Rep. Ed Perlmutter
Rep. Kathy Castor	Rep. Jim Himes	Rep. Chellie Pingree
Rep. Judy Chu	Rep. Pramila Jayapal	Rep. Stacey E. Plaskett
Rep. David N. Cicilline	Rep. Henry C. "Hank"	Rep. Kathleen M. Rice
Rep. Joe Courtney	Johnson, Jr.	Rep. Max Rose
Rep. Susan A. Davis	Rep. John Katko	Rep. Raul Ruiz, M.D.
Rep. Danny K. Davis	Rep. Andy Kim	Rep. Gregorio Kilili Camacho
Rep. Suzan DelBene	Rep. Raja Krishnamoorthi	Sablan
Rep. Antonio Delgado	Rep. Ann McLane Kuster	Rep. David Scott
Rep. Val B. Demings	Rep. James R. Langevin	Rep. Robert C. "Bobby" Scott
Rep. Mark DeSaulnier	Rep. Al Lawson	Rep. Adam Smith
Rep. Adriano Espaillat	Rep. Dave Loebsack	Rep. Mike Thompson
Rep. Dwight Evans	Rep. Alan Lowenthal	Rep. Dina Titus
Rep. Tulsi Gabbard	Rep. Elaine G. Luria	Rep. Paul Tonko
Rep. Matt Gaetz	Rep. Brian Mast	Rep. Nydia M. Velázquez
Rep. Vicente Gonzalez	Rep. A. Donald McEachin	Rep. Jennifer Wexton
1	Rep. James P. McGovern	Rep. Susan Wild
	Rep. James 1. Medovem	Rep. Susan Wha