
What phase of re-opening is Florida in?
Pursuant to Governor DeSantis’ all counties in Florida except Miami-Dade, Broward and Palm Executive Order 20-139, 
Beach may enter Phase 2 of the Governor’s Safe. Smart. Step-by-Step. Plan for Florida’s Recovery effective 
June 5, 2020. 

Miami-Dade, Broward and Palm Beach Counties may seek approval to enter Phase 2 with a written request from the 
County Mayor, or if no mayor, the County Administrator.

When did the Governor’s Executive Order take effect for Phase 2? Does this order apply to all counties? 
How long does it last?
 The executive order for Phase 2 (  is effective from 12:01 a.m. on June 5, 2020, until further notice. 20-139)

All Florida counties except Miami-Dade, Broward and Palm Beach may enter Phase 2. Miami-Dade, Broward and Palm 
Beach Counties may seek approval to enter Phase 2 with a written request from the County Mayor, or if no mayor, the 
County Administrator.

What does Phase 2 mean for Floridians? 
 Pursuant to Governor DeSantis’  Phase 2 includes:Executive Order 20-139

RESTAURANTS may continue operating at 50% indoor seating capacity and full capacity outdoors with ü
appropriate social distancing. Restaurants may allow bar-top seating. 

BARS, PUBS AND TAVERNS may operate at 50 percent seating capacity inside and full capacity outside with ü
appropriate social distancing. Patrons may only receive service if seated.

GYMS may operate at full capacity with appropriate social distancing and frequent sanitization. ü

MUSEUMS AND LIBRARIES may operate at full capacity if permitted by local governments. ü

PROFESSIONAL SPORTS VENUES may remain open and continue operating for games, events, competitions and ü
training.

RETAIL ESTABLISHMENTS may operate at full capacity with appropriate social distancing and sanitization ü
protocols. 

ORGANIZED YOUTH ACTIVITIES, including youth sports teams and leagues, youth clubs and programs and ü
childcare, may operate. Summer camps and youth recreation camps may also operate. (See Executive Order 20-
131 for additional information).

AMUSEMENT PARKS may re-open if they submit a re-opening plan to the State. The plan must have already ü
received approval from the county. 
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Do any businesses remain closed during Phase 2?
 Nightclubs remain closed during Phase 2.

When can we expect Phase 3 to start?

Does this executive order supersede local law?
 No.

 Phase 2 is in effect in all counties except for Miami-Dade, Broward and Palm Beach, until further notice. 

PERSONAL SERVICES BUSINESSES, including but not limited to tattoo parlors, acupuncture establishments, ü
tanning salons and massage establishments may operate while adhering to guidance from the Florida Department 
of Health. Additional guidance regarding personal care services is available on the Florida Department of Health 
website.

INDIVIDUALS OVER 65 OR WITH UNDERLYING MEDICAL CONDITIONS are strongly encouraged to avoid crowds and ü
take measures to limit their risk of exposure to COVID-19. 

ENTERTAINMENT BUSINESSES, including but not limited to movie theaters, concert houses, auditoriums, ü
playhouses, bowling alleys and arcades may operate at 50 percent capacity with appropriate social distancing and 
sanitization protocols. 

HOSPITALS may continue to conduct elective surgeries provided they have adequate Personal Protective ü
Equipment (PPE) and abide by safety protocols. 

LONG-TERM CARE FACILITIES are required to transfer residents that have tested positive for COVID-19 if the facility ü
is not equipped for appropriate care. When Department of Health testing takes place at a facility, all facility staff 
members are required to submit to COVID testing as well.

PARI-MUTUEL FACILITIES may seek to operate with a written request from the County Mayor, or if no mayor, the ü
county administrator. The request should be submitted to for approval. DBPR 

 Effective May 18, 2020, all Florida counties were permitted to enter Full Phase 1 of the Governor’s Safe. Smart. Step-
by-Step. Plan for Florida’s Recovery. 

ALL PERSONS in Florida are encouraged to avoid congregating in groups larger than 50.ü

HOSPITALS are required to test all individuals for COVID-19 before being discharged to long-term care facilities.ü

Miami-Dade, Broward and Palm Beach may seek approval to enter Phase 2 with a written request from the County 
Mayor, or if no mayor, the County Administrator.

BARBER SHOPS AND COSMETOLOGY SALONS (hair and nails) may continue operating while adhering to safety ü
protocols. Additional guidance for barber shops and cosmetology salons is available on the Florida Department of 
Business and Professional Regulation website. 

How is Phase 2 different from Full Phase 1?

Phase 2 applies to all counties in Florida except Miami-Dade, Broward and Palm Beach and is effective beginning 
Friday, June 5, 2020. 

For additional information on what’s new in Phase 2, please review the presentation provided by Governor Ron DeSantis 
provided on June 3, 2020.

COUNTIES MAY SEEK APPROVAL TO OPERATE VACATION RENTALS by submitting a written request and a county ü
vacation rental safety plan to the (DBPR).Florida Department of Business and Professional Regulation 
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Can individuals visit nursing homes and long-term care facilities? 

Hospitals, surgery centers and other medical facilities must maintain adequate bed capacity and PPE. They must also 
have the capacity to immediately convert additional surgical and intensive care beds in a surge situation and must not 
have received or sought any additional federal, state or local government assistance regarding PPE after resuming 
elective procedures.

Florida’s state universities developed a task force to create a framework to re-open Florida’s campuses in the fall and 
universities will present their plans on June 23, 2020. Visit the  for State University System of Florida’s website
additional information.

Are there any restrictions on a person’s movements or interactions?

All medical services, including dental offices and other health care practitioners’ offices, may continue to operate. As a 
condition of resuming elective procedures, hospitals are required to assist nursing homes and long-term care facilities 
in their efforts to protect the vulnerable.

No, those restrictions remain in place during Phase 2 with conditions set by the Agency for Health Care Administration 
(AHCA).

Will universities open for the Fall 2020 semester?

Can I go to my doctor if it’s not COVID-19 related? 

Will K-12 schools open for the Fall 2020 semester?
 The Florida Department of Education (FDOE) has been working diligently with Florida school districts, colleges, career 

and technical centers and early learning centers to develop recommendations for the 2020-2021 school year. FDOE will 
have further recommendations in the coming weeks. Visit the  for additional Florida Department of Education’s website
information.

No. Individuals over 65 or with underlying medical conditions are strongly encouraged to avoid crowds and take 
measures to limit their risk of exposure to COVID-19. 

Yes. Travelers from the New York Tri-State area must continue to self-quarantine for 14 days upon arriving in Florida, 
unless travelers meet the emergency, commercial or education activity exceptions. See Executive Orders 20-80 and  
20-82 for additional information.

Are travel restrictions and airport screening and isolation still in effect for visitors from highly-impacted 
COVID-19 areas?
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RESTAURANTS may continue operating at 50% indoor seating capacity and full capacity outdoors with appropriate ü
social distancing. Restaurants may allow bar-top seating. 

GYMS may operate at full capacity with appropriate social distancing and frequent sanitization. ü

ü ENTERTAINMENT BUSINESSES, including but not limited to movie theaters, concert houses, auditoriums, 
playhouses, bowling alleys and arcades may operate at 50 percent capacity with appropriate social distancing and 
sanitization protocols. 

 For all counties except for Miami-Dade, Broward, and Palm Beach:

ü PERSONAL SERVICES BUSINESSES, including but not limited to tattoo parlors, acupuncture establishments, 
tanning salons and massage establishments may operate while adhering to guidance from the Florida Department 
of Health. Additional guidance regarding personal care services is available on the Florida Department of Health 
website.

Can I open my business? Are there any regulations I need to follow? 

BARS, PUBS AND TAVERNS may operate at 50 percent seating capacity inside and full capacity outside with ü
appropriate social distancing. Patrons may only receive service if seated.

RETAIL ESTABLISHMENTS may operate at full capacity with appropriate social distancing and sanitization ü
protocols. 

BARBER SHOPS AND COSMETOLOGY SALONS (hair and nails) may continue operating while adhering to safety 
protocols. Additional guidance for barber shops and cosmetology salons is available on the Florida Department of 
Business and Professional Regulation website. 

IN ALL COUNTIES: If your business is open, it may remain open and should continue appropriate social distancing and 
sanitization measures. Also, any activity or work that has been available under the previous order remains available. 
Businesses should adopt appropriate social distancing and sanitization measures.

Are there minimum health protocols that must be met to open my business?
Regulated businesses should adhere to  Additionally, businesses should consult with the most up-to-agency guidance.
date guidance from the  (DOH),  (CDC) and the Florida Department of Health Centers for Disease Control and Prevention
Occupational Safety and Health Administration (OSHA).

What do I need to do to open my business?

Are masks required for employees and customers?

If a restaurant, bar or entertainment business exceeds 50 percent capacity, can they get fined?
Yes, enforcement penalties remain in place, including a second-degree misdemeanor with a fine up to $500. Certain 
regulated businesses may face enforcement action for violations from their regulatory agency.

The Governor’s Executive Order does not mandate the use of masks, however, DBPR guidance for barbershops and 
cosmetology salons does require masks for those licensed employees while performing personal services. Additionally, 
Department of Health guidance requires masks for tattoo parlors, acupuncture establishments, tanning salons and 
massage establishments for licensed employees or employees of licensed facilities. 

Who enforces compliance?
Local law enforcement may enforce Executive Orders, along with the regulatory agencies, such as the Department of 
Business and Professional Regulation, that oversee businesses.

Review the requirements of the Governor’s Executive Orders , , , ,  and . 20-112 20-120 20-123 20-131 20-13920-122
Also, review any guidance that has been provided from state and federal regulatory agencies including the Centers for 
Disease and Control and Prevention Occupational Safety and Health Administration Florida , the  (OSHA), the 
Department of Health Department of Business and Professional Regulation and the .

BUSINESS
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Museums and libraries may operate at full capacity if permitted by local governments.  

Are childcare centers allowed to be open?

Floridians are encouraged to reach out to the entity or organization hosting a professional sporting event for additional 
information.

Can I go to a professional sporting event? 

Yes. Any building or venue that is open should continue to follow appropriate social distancing and sanitization 
procedures. The Florida Department of Health encourages them to follow  guidance specific to faith organizations.CDC

Can I rent or stay at a vacation rental?
Yes, in certain counties. Counties may seek approval to operate vacation rentals by submitting a written request and 
county vacation rental safety plan to the Florida Department of Business and Professional Regulation. Many counties 
have approved plans in place. Visit  for additional information.DBPR’s website

Are state parks and beaches open?
Florida State Parks have started re-opening for day use with access to trails, limited camping and some beach access 
with limited facilities. Visit the  for additional information.Florida State Parks website

Professional sporting events and sports teams are welcome in Florida and may open and operate for games, events, 
competitions and training.

May churches, synagogues, or other houses of worship hold services?

Yes.

Are museums and libraries open? 

May organized youth activities operate?
Organized youth activities may operate, including youth sports teams and leagues, youth clubs and programs and childcare. 
Summer camps and youth recreation camps may also operate. See  for additional information. Executive Order 20-131

  
 Yes. Individuals should continue to practice appropriate social distancing. 

Visitation to long-term care facilities, including nursing homes and assisted living facilities, continues to be prohibited. 

May I exercise outside or participate in recreational activities?
Yes. Individuals are encouraged to continue practicing social distancing and abide by  and  guidelines. CDC DOH

Can I visit or travel to a family member?

Restrictions on business are enforceable by the appropriate regulatory agency and/or local law enforcement.
How is the Governor’s Executive Order on Phase 2 enforced?

Yes.

Are local authorities allowed to adopt requirements directly on businesses, operations or venues, including 
buildings, beaches and local parks, that may be stricter than the Governor’s Executive Order regarding Phase 2?

LOCAL GOVERNANCE & ENFORCEMENT

ACTIVITIES

https://www.cdc.gov/
http://www.myfloridalicense.com/DBPR/vacation-rental-status/
http://www.floridastateparks.org
https://www.flgov.com/wp-content/uploads/2020/05/EO-20-131.pdf
https://www.cdc.gov/
https://floridahealthcovid19.gov/
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