Congress of the United States Washington, DC 20515

March 20, 2020

The Honorable Nancy Pelosi Speaker U.S. House of Representatives

The Honorable Kevin McCarthy Minority Leader U.S. House of Representatives The Honorable Mitch McConnell Majority Leader U.S. Senate

The Honorable Charles Schumer Minority Leader U.S. Senate

Dear Speaker Pelosi, Leader McConnell, Leader McCarthy, and Leader Schumer:

As Congress continues to confront the new and unforeseen challenges presented by the ongoing COVID-19 pandemic the undersigned strongly urge our leadership to prioritize the security and continuity of our nation's election system. It's vital that we take action now to protect the November election and ensure that it takes place safely.

At no point in our nation's history has a national crisis made it impossible to hold a credible national election. The COVID-19 pandemic raises that possibility — it presents unique challenges to regularly scheduled, in person, voting that even war and natural disasters do not.

We are already seeing indefinite postponements of primary elections around the country in an effort to limit crowd size, promote social distancing, and protect elderly voters and election workers, among other concerns. Given projected timelines for vaccine development, it's becoming increasingly clear that this virus will be with us through the November elections. Therefore, it is incumbent upon us to begin preparations now — and, given the uncertainties Congress is facing, to take action at the next legislative opportunity.

Upcoming coronavirus legislation should include provisions mandating no excuse early voting and vote by mail options in every state, and make funds available for the rapid implementation of both. These tools have the benefit of encouraging both turn out and social distancing, ensuring Americans can remain safe while carrying out their civic duty.

In times of crisis it's crucial for Americans to see that the basic foundations of our democracy and constitutional system are being protected and maintained. As their representatives we have no higher duty than to ensure their voices continue to be heard.

Sincerely,

10m making

Tom Malinowski Member of Congress

Later Porton

Katie Porter Member of Congress

List of Cosigners

Katie Porter Dave Loebsack Nanette Diaz Barragán Lizzie Fletcher Haley M. Stevens Albio Sires Matt Cartwright Marc Veasey Ben Ray Luján Ro Khanna Gregory W. Meeks Jahana Hayes **Eleanor Holmes Norton** Tony Cárdenas Gilbert R. Cisneros, Jr. Veronica Escobar Jared Huffman Alcee L. Hastings Mike Doyle Derek Kilmer Adriano Espaillat Joaquin Castro Jackie Speier Deb Haaland A. Donald McEachin Mark Takano Darren Soto Bonnie Watson Coleman Sheila Jackson Lee Frederica S. Wilson Debbie Mucarsel-Powell, Theodore E. Deutch James P. McGovern Jan Schakowsky Gerald E. Connolly Debbie Dingell Sylvia R. Garcia Lisa Blunt Rochester Norma J. Torres Colin Z. Allred Dina Titus Joe Neguse Juan Vargas Abigail D. Spanberger Susie Lee David N. Cicilline Cindy Axne Kendra S. Horn Sean Casten Jerrold Nadler Elissa Slotkin Diana DeGette Rashida Tlaib Henry C. "Hank" Johnson, Jr. Julia Brownley Steve Cohen