Congress of the United States Washington, DC 20515

May 14, 2020

The Honorable Alex Azar Secretary U.S. Department of Health and Human Services 200 Independence Avenue SW Washington, DC 20201

Dear Secretary Azar,

We write to urge you to allocate a significant portion of the remaining Provider Relief Fund dollars to hospitals and providers who serve a disproportionate number of Medicaid and low-income patients. We are grateful for your swift action to deliver much-needed resources appropriated by Congress to hospitals and providers preparing for and responding to the COVID-19 pandemic. However, we are concerned the allocations to date do not provide sufficient relief for health care providers in our districts treating the most vulnerable populations at risk for becoming infected with the virus.

Congress initially appropriated \$100 billion in the Coronavirus Aid, Relief, and Economic Security Act (P.L. 116-136) to support health care providers as they concurrently increase spending to prepare for a surge in COVID-19 patients and drastically reduce revenue by cancelling elective procedures and appointments. This perfect storm of increased expenses and lost revenue creates an immediate and vast need that is most acutely felt by those providers with limited financial reserves and who serve high-need, high-cost patients. Recognizing the dire situation of health care providers responding to the pandemic, Congress appropriated an additional \$75 billion in the Paycheck Protection Program and Health Care Enhancement Act (P.L. 116-139).

To date, the Department of Health and Human Services (HHS) has disbursed around \$72 billion from the Provider Relief Fund. However, the distribution methodology, particularly for the largest \$50 billion disbursement of emergency funds, disadvantages providers who see a lower volume of traditional Medicare patients and have fewer commercial payers. The net patient revenue metric does not fully capture the unique challenges faced by providers on the front lines of the health care safety net. Consequently, it does not provide adequate support to the providers who serve vulnerable communities disproportionately at risk of exposure and infection.

The COVID-19 crisis is threatening the stability of the health care safety net. For example, we have heard from a number of mission-driven hospitals who are losing tens of millions of dollars yet have received limited federal support. Many of these hospitals have thin operating margins and are struggling to make payroll while simultaneously outfitting their facilities and personnel and competing for scarce resources to respond to the COVID-19 outbreak.

The Honorable Alex Azar May 14, 2020 Page 2

Lloyd Doggett

Member of Congress

We understand the challenge of expeditiously allocating funds to providers ensuring these funds are both fairly distributed and reach the providers with the most imminent need. Regretfully, the methodology so far has fallen short of this critical goal.

We respectfully urge you to quickly target a significant portion of the remainder of the Provider Relief Fund to providers who serve high Medicaid and low-income patient populations. This funding is imperative to bolster hospitals and other safety-net providers with modest resources, enabling them to fulfill their mission during the current public health emergency.

Thank you for your attention to this critical matter.

Very truly yours,

G. K. Butterfield Member of Congress Pete Olson Member of Congress

Jr.

Veronica Escobar

Member of Congress

Nanette Diaz Barragán	Ami Bera, M.D.	Sanford D. Bishop, Jr
Member of Congress	Member of Congress	Member of Congress
Lisa Blunt Rochester	Brendan F. Boyle	Julia Brownley
Member of Congress	Member of Congress	Member of Congress
Tim Burchett	Tony Cárdenas	Kathy Castor
Member of Congress	Member of Congress	Member of Congress
Joaquin Castro	Steve Chabot	Judy Chu
Member of Congress	Member of Congress	Member of Congress
Katherine Clark	Yvette. D. Clarke	Emanuel Cleaver, II
Member of Congress	Member of Congress	Member of Congress
Steve Cohen	Tom Cole	TJ Cox
Member of Congress	Member of Congress	Member of Congress
Dan Crenshaw	Henry Cuellar	Danny K. Davis
Member of Congress	Member of Congress	Member of Congress
Madeleine Dean	Diana DeGette	Val B. Demings
Member of Congress	Member of Congress	Member of Congress

Mike Doyle

Member of Congress

Adriano Espaillat	Dwight Evans	Brian Fitzpatrick
Member of Congress	Member of Congress	Member of Congress
Chuck Fleischmann	Marcia L. Fudge	Jesús G. "Chuy" García
Member of Congress	Member of Congress	Member of Congress
Jimmy Gomez	Anthony Gonzalez	Al Green
Member of Congress	Member of Congress	Member of Congress
Raúl M. Grijalva	Deb Haaland	Alcee L. Hastings
Member of Congress	Member of Congress	Member of Congress
Jahana Hayes	Brian Higgins	French Hill
Member of Congress	Member of Congress	Member of Congress
Will Hurd	Sheila Jackson Lee	Pramila Jayapal
Member of Congress	Member of Congress	Member of Congress
Henry C. "Hank" Johnson, Jr.	Eddie Bernice Johnson	Robin L. Kelly
Member of Congress	Member of Congress	Member of Congress
Daniel T. Kildee	Conor Lamb	John B. Larson
Member of Congress	Member of Congress	Member of Congress
Brenda L. Lawrence	Mike Levin	Andy Levin
Member of Congress	Member of Congress	Member of Congress
Ted W. Lieu	Alan Lowenthal	Ben Ray Luján
Member of Congress	Member of Congress	Member of Congress
Stephen F. Lynch	Carolyn B. Maloney	Doris Matsui
Member of Congress	Member of Congress	Member of Congress
A. Donald McEachin	James P. McGovern	Grace Meng
Member of Congress	Member of Congress	Member of Congress
Eleanor Holmes Norton	Jimmy Panetta	Ayanna Pressley
Member of Congress	Member of Congress	Member of Congress
Jamie Raskin	Lucille Roybal-Allard	Bobby L. Rush
Member of Congress	Member of Congress	Member of Congress
Gregorio Kilili Camacho Sablan	Linda T. Sánchez	John P. Sarbanes
Member of Congress	Member of Congress	Member of Congress
José E. Serrano	Elissa Slotkin	Darren Soto
Member of Congress	Member of Congress	Member of Congress

The Honorable Alex Azar May 14, 2020 Page 4

Abigail D. Spanberger Member of Congress

Paul D. Tonko Member of Congress

Lori Trahan Member of Congress

Marc Veasey Member of Congress

John Yarmuth Member of Congress Jackie Speier Member of Congress

Norma J. Torres Member of Congress

Michael R. Turner Member of Congress

Nydia M. Velázquez Member of Congress

Ted S. Yoho, D.V.M. Member of Congress

Dina Titus

Member of Congress

Xochitl Torres Small Member of Congress

Juan Vargas Member of Congress

Peter Welch Member of Congress