Origin and Purposes

Historical Summary

Membership of the MDL Panel







he United States Judicial Panel on Multidistrict Litigation, known informally as the MDL Panel, was created by an Act of Congress in 1968 – 28 U.S.C. §1407. The job of the Panel is to 1) determine whether civil actions pending in different federal districts involve one or more common questions of fact such that the actions should be transferred to one federal district for coordinated or consolidated pretrial proceedings; and 2) select the judge or judges and court assigned to conduct such proceedings. The purposes of this transfer or "centralization" process are to avoid duplication of discovery, to prevent inconsistent pretrial rulings, and to conserve the resources of the parties, their counsel and the judiciary. Transferred actions not terminated in the transferee district are remanded to their originating transferor districts by the Panel at or before the conclusion of centralized pretrial proceedings.

ince its inception, the Panel has considered motions for centralization in more than 2,870 dockets involving almost 670,000 cases and millions of claims therein. These dockets encompass litigation categories as diverse as airplane crashes, other single accidents such as train wrecks or hotel fires; mass torts, such as those involving asbestos, drugs and other products liability cases; data security breaches, patent validity and infringement; antitrust price fixing; marketing and sales practices, securities fraud; and employment practices. Statistical and other information can be found on the Panel's web site:

www.jpml.uscourts.gov

he MDL Panel consists of seven sitting federal judges, who are appointed to serve on the Panel by the Chief Justice of the United States. The multidistrict litigation statute provides that no two Panel members may be from the same federal judicial circuit. The current Chair of the Panel is Judge Sarah S. Vance, who sits in the Eastern District of Louisiana. The remaining Panel members, in order of appointment to the Panel are Lewis A. Kaplan (S.D. New York), Ellen Segal Huvelle (D. District of Columbia), R. David Proctor (N.D. Alabama), Catherine D. Perry (E.D. Missouri), Karen K. Caldwell (E.D. Kentucky, and Nathaniel M. Gorton (D. Massachusetts).



For additional information, please contact the Clerk's Office:

United States Judicial Panel on Multidistrict Litigation

> Jeffery N. Lüthi Clerk of the Panel

One Columbus Circle, N.E. North Lobby, Room G-255 Washington, DC 20002-8004

http://www.jpml.uscourts.gov

(202) 502-2800 (202) 502-2888 (Fax)

United States Judicial Panel o Multidistrict Litigation

One Columbus Circle, N.E. North Lobby, Room G-255 Washington, DC 20002-800 (202) 502-2800 An
Introduction
to the
United States
Judicial Panel
on
Multidistrict
Litigation

