Charles W. Dent, Pennsylvania Chairman Linda T. Sánchez, California Ranking Member

Patrick Meehan, Pennsylvania Trey Gowdy, South Carolina Susan W. Brooks, Indiana Kenny Marchant, Texas

Michael E. Capuano, Massachusetts Yvette D. Clarke, New York Ted Deutch, Florida John B. Larson, Connecticut



ONE HUNDRED FOURTEENTH CONGRESS

## **U.S. House of Representatives**

COMMITTEE ON ETHICS

## FOR RELEASE: Upon Receipt

December 15, 2016

## STATEMENT OF THE CHAIRMAN AND RANKING MEMBER OF THE COMMITTEE ON ETHICS REGARDING REPRESENTATIVE DUNCAN HUNTER

Pursuant to House Rule XI, clause 3(b)(8)(A), and Committee Rules 17A(b)(1)(A), 17A(c)(1) and 17A(j), the Chairman and Ranking Member of the Committee on Ethics have jointly decided to extend the matter regarding Representative Duncan Hunter, which was transmitted to the Committee by the Office of Congressional Ethics on August 31, 2016.

The Committee notes that the mere fact of a referral or an extension, and the mandatory disclosure of such an extension and the name of the subject of the matter, does not itself indicate that any violation has occurred, or reflect any judgment on behalf of the Committee.

The Committee will announce its course of action in this matter following its organizational meeting and adoption of Committee Rules in the 115<sup>th</sup> Congress.

###

Thomas A. Rust Staff Director and Chief Counsel

Joanne White Administrative Staff Director

Clifford C. Stoddard, Jr. Counsel to the Chairman

Daniel J. Taylor Counsel to the Ranking Member

1015 Longworth House Office Building Washington, D.C. 20515–6328 Telephone: (202) 225–7103 Facsimile: (202) 225–7392