CONTACT Corie Whalen (202) 225-3831 corie.whalen@mail.house.gov

Representatives renew demand for briefing on Yahoo email searches after inadequate response from administration

Attorney General and Director of National Intelligence ignore briefing request

WASHINGTON, D.C. – Reps. Justin Amash (R-Mich.), Ted Lieu (D-Calif.), and dozens of their colleagues today responded to a letter from Attorney General Loretta Lynch and Director of National Intelligence James Clapper that failed to address a bipartisan request for a briefing to resolve questions raised by recent reports that Yahoo had searched all its users' incoming emails at the federal government's request.

On October 14, 2016, Amash and Lieu led a bipartisan coalition of 48 representatives on <u>a letter</u> requesting information and a briefing for all members of Congress. <u>In response</u>, representatives of the Attorney General and Director of National Intelligence wrote that a briefing was to be provided only to certain committee staff.

The new letter is attached.

"The administration's flippant response to a bipartisan request from members of Congress is unacceptable," said Amash. "When elected representatives ask to be briefed on a matter that may impact Americans' constitutionally protected rights, we expect action."

In addition to Amash and Lieu, the letter was signed by Reps. Jerrold Nadler (D-N.Y.), Donna F. Edwards (D-Md.), Raúl R. Labrador (R-Idaho), Debbie Dingell (D-Mich.), Alan Lowenthal (D-Calif.), Matt Salmon (R-Ariz.), Cynthia M. Lummis (R-Wyo.), Anna G. Eshoo (D-Calif.), Randy Weber (R-Texas), Rod Blum (R-Iowa), H. Morgan Griffith (R-Va.), Mark Sanford (R-S.C.), Thomas Massie (R-Ky.), Louie Gohmert (R-Texas), John Fleming, M.D. (R-La.), Tulsi Gabbard (D-Hawaii), Dave Brat (R-Va.), Paul A. Gosar, D.D.S. (R-Ariz.), Zoe Lofgren (D-Calif.), Andy Harris (R-Md.), Jeff Duncan (R-S.C.), Jared Polis (D-Calif.), Tom McClintock (R-Calif.), Darrell Issa (R-Calif.), F. James Sensenbrenner, Jr. (R-Wis.), Curt Clawson (R-Fla.), Walter Jones (R-N.C.), Mo Brooks (R-Ala.), Ted Poe (R-Texas), James P. McGovern (D-Mass.), Joe Barton (R-Texas), Jim Jordan (R-Ohio), Dan Kildee (D-Mich.), Michael M. Honda (D-Calif.), Ryan Zinke (R-Mont.), Lloyd Doggett (D-Texas), Tim Huelskamp (R-Kan.), Scott Garrett (R-N.J.), Tom Emmer (R-Minn.), Trey Gowdy (R-S.C.), Barbara Lee (D-Calif.), Raúl Grijalva (D-

Ariz.), Suzan K. DelBene (D-Wash.), Jason Chaffetz (R-Utah), and Dana Rohrabacher (R-Calif.).

###