Congress of the United States Washington, DC 20515

September 28, 2016

The Honorable Paul Ryan Speaker United States House of Representatives H-232, The Capitol Washington, DC 20515 The Honorable Nancy Pelosi Democratic Leader United States House of Representatives H-204, The Capitol Washington, DC 20515

Dear Speaker Ryan and Minority Leader Pelosi,

For more than 40 years, the Payments in Lieu of Taxes (PILT) program has played a critical role in supporting our local communities by providing critical resources to nearly 1,900 counties across 49 states to offset lost property tax revenue due to the presence of tax-exempt federal lands within their jurisdictions. As 2016 comes to an end, we urge you to work in a bipartisan, bicameral fashion to ensure the Payments in Lieu of Taxes (PILT) program is fully funded for FY 2017 and beyond.

For FY 2017, the U.S. Department of the Interior has estimated that \$480 million dollars will be necessary to fully fund PILT. If Congress fails to fully fund the PILT program by the end of the year, public lands counties across the nation will be unable to provide essential public services such as: law enforcement, search and rescue, public health and critical transportation infrastructure.

Current discretionary appropriations for the PILT program are set to expire on September 30, 2016. Without the certainty of full PILT funding for FY 2017, we risk severely crippling counties' ability to provide essential services for their residents and public lands visitors alike.

Moving forward, we hope Congress can work together to enact a fiscally responsible, long-term and sustainable solution to fully fund PILT in FY17 and beyond. As counties across the United States work to balance their budgets, it is essential that Congress act to reaffirm the federal government's long-standing commitment to public lands counties by fully funding PILT.

We look forward to working with you to end the financial uncertainty facing thousands of counties nationwide, and we thank you for your attention to this critical issue.

Sincerely,

Chris Stewart

Member of Congress

Member of Congress

PRINTED ON RECYCLED PAPER

Derek Kilmer

Member of Congress

Jim Costa

Member of Congress

Kyrsten Sinema

Member of Congress

Suzan DelBene

Member of Congress

Ryan Zirke

Member of Congress

Steven Pearce

Member of Congress

/ Paul Cook

Member of Congress

Louie Gohmert

Member of Congress

Paul A. Gosar

Member of Congress

Michelle Lujan Grisham

Member of Congress

John Garamendi

Member of Congress

Mia Love

Member of Congress

Chuck Fleischmann

Member of Congress

Mike Coffman

Member of Congress

Doug Lamborn

Member of Congress

Jaime Herrera Beutler

fomlown

rura Bentler

Raúl M. Grijalva **Member of Congress** Member of Congress **Dina Titus Don Young Member of Congress** Member of Congre Suzanne Bonamici **Bruce Westerman Member of Congress Member of Congress** Joe Heck Member of Congress Member of Congress Mark E. Amodei Robert Aderholt **Member of Congress Member of Congress** Glenn 'GT' Thompson Jason Chaffetz

Member of Congress

Dan Benishek

Member of Congress

Rob Bishop

Member of Congress

Member of Congres

David G. Valadao

Member of Congress

Curt Clawson

amil B. M7 Le Michael Simpson David B. McKinley, P.E. **Member of Congress Member of Congress** Steven Palazzo Ann Kirkpatrick **Member of Congress Member of Congress** Doug kalfalfa Member of Congress Member of Comress Adam Smith Mike Rogers **Member of Congress Member of Congress** Mike Thompson Carlos Curbe **Member of Congress Member of Congress** Gregg Harpe Martha McSally **Member of Congress Member of Congress** Steve Knight Member of Congress **Member of Congress**

Cresent Hardy

Member of Congress

Jana Destette

Diana DeGette

Member of Congress

Matt Salmon

Member of Congress

lared Huffman

Member of Congress

Rick Nolan

Member of Congress

Ken Buck

Member of Congress

Sean Duffy

Member of Congress

Mark Takano

Member of Congress

Cathy McMorris Rodgers

Member of Congress

Kurt Schrader

Member of Congress

viember of Congress

Kevin Cramer

Member of Congress

Dan Newhouse

Member of Congress

Will Hurd

Member of Congress

om McClintock

Member of Congress

Denny Heck

Member of Congress

Earl Blumenauer

Scott Peters Ruben Gallego **Member of Congress** Member of Congress Ralph Abraham, M.D. **Member of Congress Member of Congress** Earl L. Buddley Carter Earl L. "Buddy" Carter Julia Brownley **Member of Congress** Member Congress Ben Ray Lujan **Member of Congress Member of Congress** Michael Michael Michael M. Honda **Member of Congress Member of Congress** Wells Peter Welch Scott R. Tipton **Member of Congress Member of Congress** Elean H. Noton

Tony Cárdenas

Member of Congress

Rick Larsen

Member of Congress

Eleanor Holmes Norton

end

Member of Congress

Dave Reichert

Member of Congress

Trent Franks

Member of Congress

Bennie G. Thompson Member of Congress

Roger Williams

Member of Congress

Andy Barr

Member of Congress

Raul Ruiz

Member of Congress

Madeleine Bordallo

Member of Congress

Mark Pocan

Member of Congress

Linda T. Sánchez

Member of Congress

Member of Congress

Ted S. Yoho, DVM

Member of Congress

H. Morgan Griffith

Member of Congress

Bob Goodlatte