You are viewing a Web site, archived on 19:28:33 Nov 08, 2016. It is now a Federal record managed by the National Archives and Records Administration.
External links, forms, and search boxes may not function within this collection.

Recent News

Joint Committee on the Library

May 14 2015

The Joint Committee on the Library, the oldest continuing Congressional joint committee, was created in 1806 (2 Stat. 129). Its membership consists of five Senators (the chairman and four members of the Committee on Rules and Administration) and five Representatives (the chairman and three members of the Committee on House Administration and the Chairman of the House Appropriations Subcommittee on the Legislative Branch) (2 U.S.C. 132b; PL 106-554). The Joint Committee oversees the operations of the Library of Congress, the Botanic Gardens, the National Statuary Collection and the works of fine art in the Capitol that are not solely under the jurisdiction of the Senate or House.

For the 114th Congress, the Joint Committee met on May 14, 2015, and elected Senator Roy Blunt as Chairman and Representative Gregg Harper as Vice Chairman. 

Joint Committee on the Library Members for the 114th Congress are:

Sen. Roy Blunt (R-MO)

Sen. Pat Roberts (R-KS)

Sen. Shelley Moore Capito (R-IA)

Sen. Charles E. Schumer (D-NY)

Sen. Patrick Leahy (D-VT)

Rep. Gregg Harper (R-MS)
Vice Chairman

Rep. Candice Miller (R-MI)

Rep. Tom Graves (R-GA)

Rep. Robert Brady (R-PA)

Rep. Zoe Lofgren (D-CA)