Congress of the United States Washington, DC 20515

December 9, 2010

The Honorable Nancy Pelosi Speaker of the House of Representatives Office of the Speaker H- 232, The Capitol Washington, DC 20515

Madam Speaker,

We thank you for your steadfast leadership and commitment to the heroes of 9/11. It is because of your unwavering support and direction that HR 847, the *the James Zadroga 9/11 Health and Compensation Act*, passed the House of Representatives on September 29, 2010, on a strong bipartisan vote of 268 – 160.

The Senate is working to pass the companion legislation during the lame duck session of Congress. Senators Gillibrand and Schumer have been working hard to pass the bill and have commitments from all 58 Democratic Senators as well as Republican Senator Mark Kirk to vote for the bill. Though we are hopeful that the efforts to pass the stand alone bill will succeed and the bill will be signed into law by the President, we feel that we must seize every opportunity possible to ensure that this bill become law. As such, we request that you include HR 847 as part of the must-pass 2001 and 2003 tax cut extensions bill that is moving through Congress.

HR 847 will provide capped mandatory funding for the health programs that will treat those exposed to toxins released by the collapse of the World Trade Center towers. The funding would be guaranteed and <u>fully paid for</u>. The programs funded by the bill provide medical monitoring and treatment to over 60,000 WTC responders, survivors, and national responders who came from all over the country, whose health has been impacted from exposures to toxins in or around the WTC site in the aftermath of September 11th. We understand that every month approximately 200 more responders or survivors come forward seeking monitoring and or treatment. If we do not pass this bill and create a steady funding stream, heroes who sacrificed their health to help others in the aftermath of the tragedy of 9/11 will not receive the treatment and monitoring they need and deserve and services or research that are needed would be threatened or not provided.

We thank you for your years of support for HR 847 and for your commitment to the responders and survivors who sacrificed their health in the aftermath of the tragedy of 9/11.

Sincerely,

PRINTED ON RECYCLED PAPER

Cauga M. Cat Scott Maryly allen Bey En former

Viane & Watson Elijah Emmings Fauld Toulis 1421 Hang E. Willel 425 Du Berros GA-Julie Speier CA 12 Leuise Haughter James & France SHEILA JACKSON LEE Mawa / Len tand B Miffin N 12 NH-02

Phil Hare Il-17 Juny M. Plan CAII J.m W9/Z MN Mald Brysly Dumpore Kled Deuth FL19 Hon Lucy Clay Mo. 1. Men Tx 9 Grace I Napolitano Co might-Alland 34)

List of Signatories to 9/11 Health Tax Bill Letter December 9, 2010

Carolyn B. Maloney

Jerrold Nadler

Charles Rangel

Anna G. Eshoo

Eliot Engel

Edolphus Towns

Yvette Clarke

Nita Lowey

Judy Chu

Shelley Berkley

Michael McMahon

Nydia Velázquez

Michael Arcuri

Frank Pallone

Allen Boyd

Earl Pomeroy

Joseph Crowley

Loretta Sanchez

Gary Ackerman

Peter King

Alan Grayson

Carolyn McCarthy

Scott Murphy

Brian Higgins

Jan Schakowsky

Anthony Weiner

Laura Richardson

Gerry Connolly

Ed Perlmutter

Gregory Meeks

Keith Ellison

Paul Tonko

Harry Mitchell

John Barrow

Jackie Speier

Louise Slaughter

James Langevin

Sheila Jackson Lee

Maurice Hinchey

Daniel Maffei

Paul Hodes

Diane Watson

José Serrano

Hank Johnson
Sam Farr
Charles Gonzalez
Ted Deutch
Al Green
Grace Napolitano
Lucile Roybal- Allard
James P. McGovern
Luis Gutierrez
Phil Hare
Jerry McNerney
Tim Walz
Dennis Moore
William Lacy Clay
Joe Baca

Chaka Fattah