HAROLD ROGERS, KENTUCKY, CHAIRMAN C. W. BILL YOUNG, FLORIDA FRANK R. WOLF, VIRGINIA JACK KINGSTON, GEORGIA RODNEY P. FRELINGHUYSEN, NEW JERSEY TOM LATHAM, IOWA ROBERT B. ADERHOLT, ALABAMA KAY GRANGER, TEXAS MICHAEL K. SIMPSON, IDAHO JOHN A.B.C. ARTER, TEXAS ANDER CRENSHAW, FLORIDA JOHN B.C. ARTER, TEXAS RODNEY ALEXANDER, LOUISIANA KEN CALVERT, CALIFORNIA JOHONER, ALABAMA TOM COLE, OKLAHOMA MARIO DIAZ-BALART, FLORIDA CHARLES W. DENT, PENNSYLVANIA TOM GRAVES, GEORGIA KEVIN YODER, KANSAS STEVE WOMACK, ARKANSAS ALAN NUNNELEE, MISSISSIPPI JEFF FORTENBERRY, NEBRASKA THOMAS J. ROONEY, FLORIDA CHARLES J. FLEISCHMANN, TENNESSEE JAIME HERRERA BEUTLER, WASHINGTON DAVID G, VALADAO, CALIFORNIA ANDY HARRIS, MARYLAND

Congress of the United States House of Representatives Committee on Appropriations Washington, DC 20515–6015

February 18, 2014

NITA M. LOWEY, NEW YORK MARCY KAPTUR, OHIO PETER J. VISCLOSKY, INDIANA JOSÉ E. SERRANO, NEW YORK ROSA L. DELAURO, CONNECTICUT JAMES P. MORAN, VIRGINIA ED PASTOR, ARIZONA DAVID E. PRICE, NORTH CAROLINA LUCILLE ROYBAL-ALLARD, CALIFORNIA SAM FARR, CALIFORNIA CHAKA FATTAH, PENNSYLVANIA SANFORD D. BISHOP, JR., GEORGIA BARBARA LEE, CALIFORNIA ADAM B. SCHIFF, CALIFORNIA BARBARA LEE, CALIFORNIA BICHAEL M. HONDA, CALIFORNIA BETTY MCCOLLUM, MINNESOTA TIM RYAN, OHIO DEBBIE WASSERMAN SCHULTZ, FLORIDA HENRY CUELLAR, TEXAS CHELLE PINGREE, MAINE MIKE QUIGLEY, ILLINOIS WILLIAM L. OWENS, NEW YORK

> WILLIAM E, SMITH CLERK AND STAFF DIRECTOR TELEPHONE: (202) 225-2771

Dear Colleague,

As Chairman of the Appropriations Subcommittee on Homeland Security, I want to make you aware of the Subcommittee's procedures for receiving Members' programmatic and language submissions for consideration in the fiscal year 2015 Appropriations bill. Members must transmit submissions to the Subcommittee via electronic form, and in addition must upload a letter to the appropriations submissions system confirming those entries.

- The electronic submission system can be found at <u>https://AppropriationsSubmissions.house.gov</u>. The system will be available to accept submissions starting February 26.
- The deadline for submissions for the Subcommittee on Homeland Security is close of business March 31, 2014.

I would like to emphasize that earmarks, as defined by clause 9(e) of Rule XXI of the Rules of the House, will not be considered. Please also be aware that, should a Member request an earmark, such request invokes the Code of Official Conduct. Clause 17 of the Code prohibits Members from requesting a congressional earmark without disclosing certain information to the Chair of the Committee of jurisdiction. Members are advised to carefully consider their submissions to the Committee in light of this to avoid inadvertently triggering the earmark rules and requirements.

As you prepare your submissions, please note the following guidelines:

- All submissions must be made electronically at the <u>https://AppropriationsSubmissions.house.gov</u> web site. Only submissions received electronically will be considered. Hard-copy submissions are not required and will not be accepted.
- Each electronic submission must include an uploaded letter signed by the Member supporting the submission. Letters should simply list and describe each submission briefly.

- The electronic system will require Members to assign a priority rank order to all their submissions for this subcommittee. The subcommittee will review your priority rankings based on what you enter into the database.
- For requests with <u>multiple</u> Member cosponsors, <u>each</u> cosponsor must enter the same request into the online database. In addition, a scanned copy of the <u>group request letter</u> should be uploaded to the database for each request.
- The electronic system allows access to submissions made in previous years, so you may review those submissions if that is helpful.

Thank you for your interest in the programs and activities of the House Appropriations Subcommittee on Homeland Security. If you have any general questions or require further information, please contact the subcommittee staff at (202) 225-5834. Technical questions related specifically to the operation of the system should be directed to the Committee's IT office at (202) 225-2718.

I look forward to working with you as the fiscal year 2015 appropriations process begins.

Sincerely, a Rader

John Carter Chairman, Subcommittee on Homeland Security