## Cabinet members who did not attend the State of the Union Address (since 1984)

January 24, 2012	Secretary of Agriculture Tom Vilsack
January 25, 2011	Secretary of the Interior Ken Salazar
January 28, 2010	Secretary of Housing and Urban Development Shaun Donovan
February 24, 2009*	Attorney General Eric Holder
January 28, 2008	Secretary of the Interior Dirk Kempthorne
January 23, 2007	Attorney General Alberto Gonzales
January 31, 2006	Veterans Affairs Secretary Jim Nicholson
<b>February 2, 2005</b>	Secretary of Commerce Donald Evans
January 20, 2004	Secretary of Commerce Donald Evans
January 28, 2003	Attorney General John Ashcroft
January 29, 2002	Interior Secretary Gale Norton
February 27, 2001*	Veterans Affairs Secretary Anthony Principi
January 27, 2000	Secretary of Energy Bill Richardson
January 19, 1999	Secretary of Housing and Urban Development Andrew W. Cuomo
January 27, 1998	Commerce Secretary Bill Daley
<b>February 4, 1997</b>	Agriculture Secretary Dan Glickman
January 30, 1996	Health and Human Services Secretary Donna Shalala
January 24, 1995	Transportation Secretary Federico Pena
January 25, 1994	Agriculture Secretary Mike Epsy
February 17, 1993*	Interior Secretary Bruce Babbitt
January 28, 1992	Secretary of Agriculture Ed Madigan
January 29, 1991	Interior Secretary Manuel Lujan

<b>January 31, 1990</b>	Veterans Affairs Secretary Edward J. Derwinski
February 9, 1989*	Unknown
January 25, 1988	Interior Secretary Donald P. Hodel
January 27, 1987	Agriculture Secretary Richard Lyng
<b>February 4, 1986</b>	Secretary of Agriculture John Block
<b>February 6, 1985</b>	Commerce Secretary Malcolm Baldrige
January 25, 1984	Secretary of Housing and Urban Development Samuel R. Pierce Jr.

<sup>\*</sup> This address before a joint session of Congress is not considered an official "State of the Union" message, although the president followed the State of the Union tradition of having a cabinet member stay home.

Senate Historical Office January 2012