Ribble Forms Congressional Job Creators Caucus

Mar 29, 2011 Issues: Congressional Reform, Budget

Washington, DC – Representative Reid Ribble today announced the formation of the Congressional Job Creators Caucus in the 112th Congress. The permanent working group, which is open exclusively to those members of congress with experience as small business owners, intends to apply real-world job creating experience to the congressional legislative process through forums, white papers and most importantly, recommended legislative action.

As a former small business owner for over 30 years Representative Ribble was surprised to learn that no such caucus existed here in Congress.

“No offense to my colleagues here, but we’ve created a caucus for just about everything under the sun except creating a job. I hope this group of business owners-turned legislators can help fill that void.” Ribble said.

“In my business, I’ve experienced good times and bad. I’ve hired and fired and budgeted and dealt with government bureaucracies and regulators,” said Ribble. “Decades of experience taught me what it takes to run a successful business that creates jobs. All the members of this caucus bring that same experience to the table and stand ready to apply their private sector skills into molding a more jobs-friendly government.”

Another caucus member, Rep. Scott Rigell (R-VA) also commented on the formation of the new group.

"As a business owner and entrepreneur with more than 25 years of private sector experience, I am excited to join other Members of Congress in the Job Creators Caucus who have a similar background. With unemployment pushing 9%, Congress needs the input of former business owners who have had the first hand experience of saying, "You're hired.” I will bring my experience as a job creator to work in this caucus to get government out of the way and free up our small business owners across the country to start hiring again."

Current members of the caucus include: Reid Ribble (WI-08), Scott Rigell (VA-02), Richard Hanna (NY-24), Bob Gibbs (OH-18), Marlin Stutzman (IN-03) and Stephen Fincher (TN-08).