Ribble Leads House Freshmen Effort Urging Economic Certainty and Tax Reform

Sep 19, 2012 Issues: Jobs and the Economy, Taxes

Washington, D.C. –Representative Reid Ribble (R-WI), along with Representatives Marlin Stutzman (R-IN), Richard Hanna (R-NY), Tim Scott (R-SC), Mike Kelly (R-PA), Todd Rokita (R-IN) and Tim Griffin (R-AR), led a group of 50 Freshmen Republican members in sending a letter to Chairmen Dave Camp and Pat Tiberi of the House Ways and Means Committee. In the letter, the members applaud the Committee for analyzing expired and soon-to-expire tax provisions and urge them to continue evaluating these measures in a fiscally responsible manner while working toward comprehensive tax reform.

In the letter the Freshmen GOP members write:

“We are cognizant that many businesses and families have planned their operations or budgets around existing tax incentives.

“Therefore, while we may not agree on the merits of each and every extender, we are advocating for an appropriate and fiscally responsible transition period to prevent any negative economic impacts. We also are concerned with our nation’s economic condition, and we believe that this should be considered when discussing extending certain expired or expiring tax breaks.”
The House Ways and Means Committee is expected to work on a tax “extender” package later this year. The House Freshmen sent this letter because they believe that extending certain tax provisions until Congress tackles comprehensive tax reform will provide certainty to businesses and families during these tough economic times.

List of coauthors: Reid Ribble (WI), Marlin Stutzman (IN), Richard Hanna (NY), Tim Scott (SC), Mike Kelly (PA), Todd Rokita (IN), Tim Griffin (AR), Joe Heck (NV), David Rivera (FL), Steve Southerland (FL), Dan Benishek (MI), Tom Marino (PA), Larry Bucshon (IN), Todd Young (IN), Allen West(FL) , Scott Tipton (CO), Randy Hultgren (IL), Alan Nunnelee (MS), Ann Marie Buerkle (NY), Kevin Yoder(KS), Bill Huizenga (MI), Steve Womack (AR), Robert Dold (IL), Jim Renacci (OH), Stevan Pearce (NM), Steve Stivers (OH), Mark Amodei (NV), Michael Grimm (NY), Mike Fitzpatrick (PA), Chip Cravaack (MN), Dennis Ross (FL), Bill Johnson (OH), Morgan Griffith (VA), Adam Kinzinger (IL), Billy Long (MO), Chris Gibson (NY), Sandy Adams (FL), Richard Nugent (FL), Steven Palazzo (MS), Jeff Denham (CA), Nan Hayworth (NY), David Schwiekert (AZ), David McKinley (WV), Bob Gibbs (OH), Cory Gardner (CO), Tim Walberg (MI), Martha Roby (AL), Mo Brooks (AL), James Lankford (OK), Bob Turner (NY)

Link to signed letter