New Democrat Coalition: More than One Fourth of the Democratic Caucus


Washington, D.C. – Today, in preparation for the 113th Congress, the New Democrat Coalition took a series of moves to strengthen their role as Congress' largest coalition of moderates heading into the 113th Congress.

First, the Coalition inducted new Members and elected a new leadership team.  New Dems elected Rep. Ron Kind (WI-03) as the Chair and re-elected Reps. Jim Himes (CT-04), Rick Larsen (WA-02), and Allyson Schwartz (PA-13) as Vice Chairs and added Rep. Gerry Connolly (VA-11) as a Vice Chair.  

“We stand at a critical juncture for our nation.  The smart decisions we make today will instill a bright future moving forward.  As New Dems, we understand government cannot guarantee our success, but it must create the opportunity for America to grow and succeed.  In the short term, we look forward to working collaboratively with other Members to develop a comprehensive bipartisan deal to avert severe economic consequences, work to create an environment for continued job growth, and provide certainty to American families and businesses.”                

As of today, the New Democrat Coalition stands at 51 Members in the 113th Congress including the 5 outstanding races (2 New Dem incumbents and 3 New Dem endorsed candidates are ahead in their outstanding races).  The New Democrat Coalition accounts for more than one fourth of the Democratic Caucus. 

Newly inducted Members included:

  • Ami Bera (CA-13)*
  •  Member-elect Joaquin Castro (TX- 20)
  •  Member-elect John Delaney (MD - 6)
  •  Rep.  Suzan DelBene (WA- 1)
  •  Member-elect Elizabeth Esty (CT - 5)
  •  Member-elect Bill Foster (IL-11)
  •  Member-elect Joe Garcia (FL-26)
  • Member-elect Denny Heck (WA-10)
  • Member-elect Derek Kilmer (WA- 6)
  • Member-elect Dan Maffei (NY-24)
  • Member-elect Sean Patrick Maloney (NY-18)
  • Patrick Murphy (FL-18)*
  • Rep. Mike Quigley (IL-05)
  • Scott Peters (CA-52)*
  • Member-elect Brad Schneider (IL-10)
  • Member-elect Juan Vargas (CA- 51)
  • Member-elect Filemon Vela (TX-34)


*These candidates are ahead in their undecided races.

Statement supported by New Dem Leadership Members, led by Chair Representative Ron Kind(WI-03), and Vice-Chairs Representative Gerry Connolly (VA-11), Jim Himes (CT-04), Representative Rick Larsen (WA-02), and Representative Allyson Schwartz (PA-13).

The New Democrat Coalition is dedicated to maintaining America’s standing as the world’s strongest, most successful nation. Founded in 1997, the New Dems believe firmly in the power of American ingenuity and innovation, and are focused on finding ways to foster and harness this creativity to grow our economy, create new American jobs, and ensure a safer and more secure future for our country.