New Democrat Coalition Stands Behind Russia PNTR

Washington, D.C. – Today, New Democrat Coalition Chair Ron Kind (WI-03), and Vice Chairs Representatives Gerry Connolly (VA-11), Jim Himes (CT-04), Rick Larsen (WA-02), and Allyson Schwartz (PA-13) released the following statement after the House of Representatives voted in favor of passage of H.R. 6156, The Russia and Moldova Jackson-Vanik Repeal and Sergei Magnitsky Rule of Law Accountability Act of 2012.

“Our vote, today, ensures that Russia will be held accountable for their actions and American businesses will be active participants in Russia’s lucrative market.  By opening new markets overseas and reducing tariff and non-tariff trade barriers for U.S. goods and services, we are advancing America’s stake in the global economy and guaranteeing American competitiveness for years to come.”

Yesterday, members of the New Democrat Coalition Trade, Critical Infrastructure and Manufacturing Task Force, sent a letter to their colleagues in the House of Representatives urging support of passage for Permanent Normal Trade Relations (PNTR) with Russia. 

To view the Dear Colleague, please click here

Statement supported by New Dem Leadership Members, led by Chair Representative Ron Kind(WI-03), and Vice-Chairs Representative Gerry Connolly (VA-11), Jim Himes (CT-04), Representative Rick Larsen (WA-02), and Representative Allyson Schwartz (PA-13).

The New Democrat Coalition is dedicated to maintaining America’s standing as the world’s strongest, most successful nation. Founded in 1997, the New Dems believe firmly in the power of American ingenuity and innovation, and are focused on finding ways to foster and harness this creativity to grow our economy, create new American jobs, and ensure a safer and more secure future for our country.