WASHINGTON – U.S. Rep. Jo Ann Emerson (MO-08) said today that a Major Disaster Declaration was issued late last night for the state of Missouri. A higher designation was issued for four counties in the Eighth Congressional District which experienced more severe damage from storms and flooding which commenced on April 19th.

"The disaster declaration clears the way for the people most affected by these storms to gain access to emergency programs designed for cases just like this. In Butler, Mississippi, New Madrid and Taney Counties, people are already going about the business of cleaning up the mess and putting their lives back in order," Emerson said. "People have been displaced from their homes by these storms, they've lost property, and many more have a lot of work ahead of them. I can't say enough about the resiliency of our Missouri neighbors during a tough time like this, and I am very proud of the way we have all pulled together to help those affected by this disaster. Now, the federal aspect of this recovery process is in place, and we can expect to have some much-needed resources in place to continue our recovery process."

In addition to the four counties able to access FEMA Individual Assistance programs, all Missouri counties are eligible for assistance under the Hazard Mitigation Program, which funds preventative actions to reduce long-term risk to life and property.

Information required to register for the Individual Assistance is available by telephone by calling 1-800-621-3362.