

District Export Councils (DECs) A Resource for Small Business Constituents

WHAT IS A DEC?

<u>District Export Councils (DECs)</u> are organizations comprised of international trade experts from the local business community whose knowledge and experience provide a key resource for local firms interested in boosting their exports. Currently, there are 58 local DECs covering nearly every region in the United States ready to share best practices and advice on how to better compete in the global market.

Each local DEC includes around 30 experts from all sectors of the international trade spectrum, including customs and logistics, international marketing, trade finance, manufacturing, and local government. Members are nominated by the United States Secretary of Commerce, and DECs are chaired by the Department of Commerce's (DOC) local Commercial Service (CS) Export Assistance Center Director. The DECs are organized through an elected National Steering Committee, which coordinates the national strategy and priority objectives for the DECs.

DEC members are unpaid volunteers and they work closely with the DOC on initiatives aimed to promote United States exports. They play an important role in educating small businesses and communicating the importance of increasing exports.

DEC MISSION AND PURPOSE

The DEC's mission is to support export promotion efforts by counseling businesses on the international trade process and conducting education and community outreach. Each local DEC plans and coordinates events specific for their region's businesses, including education events, webinars, trade shows, and other activities. In addition, the DECs hold an annual conference to discuss current issues, best practices and future strategy. The 2012 DEC National Conference will be held on October 16 in Washington, DC.

COORDINATING WITH YOUR LOCAL DEC

Working with your local DEC provides a great opportunity to build relationships with the small businesses and exporters in your district, while taking concrete steps to help them grow and create jobs. Further, these relationships offer important resources to help you better understand international trade issues important to your district. Members of Congress may wish to introduce their local businesses to DEC's, participate in DEC events, or partner in offering education to small firms interested in exporting.

To find your local DEC, please visit their website at: http://www.districtexportcouncil.com or contact the local CS Export Assistance Center Executive Secretary (shown below). When reaching out to these organizations, Andy Karellas (202-225-5821), professional staff at the Small Business Committee, can help you identify and connect with the appropriate person (list updated 9/12/12).

DEC Executive Secretary Email Address

Alabama	Nelda Segars	Nelda.Segars@trade.gov
Alaska	Greg Mignano	Greg.Mignano@trade.gov
Arizona	Eric Nielsen	Eric.Nielsen@trade.gov
Arkansas	Patricia Gonzalez	Patricia.Gonzalez@trade.gov
California Inland Empire	Fred Latuperissa	Fred.Latuperissa@trade.gov
Connecticut	Anne Evans	Anne.Evans@trade.gov
Florida	Eduardo Torres	Eduardo.Torres@trade.gov
New Hampshire	Justin Oslowski	Justin.Oslowski@trade.gov
Hawaii/Pacific	John Holman	John.Holman@trade.gov
Houston	Steve Recobs	Steve.Recobs@trade.gov
Idaho	Amy Benson	Amy.Benson@trade.gov
Illinois	Julie Carducci	Julie.Carducci@trade.gov
Indiana	Mark Cooper	Mark.Cooper@trade.gov
Iowa	Allen Patch	Allen.Patch@trade.gov
Kentucky	Peggy Pauley	Peggy.Pauley@trade.gov
Louisiana	Donald van de Werken	Donald.Vandewerken@trade.gov
Maine	Jeffrey Porter	Jeffrey.Porter@trade.gov
Maryland/DC	Bill Burwell	Bill.Burwell@trade.gov
Massachusetts	James Paul	James.Paul@trade.gov
Michigan-East	Richard Corson	Richard.Corson@trade.gov
Michigan-West	Kendra Kuo	Kendra.Kuo@trade.gov
Mid-America	Regina Heise	Regina.Heise@trade.gov
Mid-Atlantic	Antonio Ceballos	Antonio.Ceballos@trade.gov
Minnesota	Ryan Kanne	Ryan.Kanne@trade.gov
Mississippi	Carol Moore	Carol.Moore@trade.gov
Missouri	Cory Simek	Cory.Simek@trade.gov
Montana	Carey Hester	Carey.Hester@trade.gov
Nebraska	Meredith Bond	Meredith.Bond@trade.gov
Nevada	Andrew Edlefsen	Andrew.Edlefsen@trade.gov
New Jersey	Susan Widmer	Susan.Widmer@trade.gov
New York	Carmela Mammas	Carmela.Mammas@trade.gov
North Carolina	Greg Sizemore	Greg.Sizemore@trade.gov
North Dakota	Heather Ranck	Heather.Ranck@trade.gov
Georgia	Brent Omdahl	Brent.Omdahl@trade.gov
North Texas	Daniel Swart	Daniel.Swart@trade.gov
Northern California	Greg Mignano	Greg.Mignano@trade.gov
Oklahoma	Marcus Verner	Marcus.Verner@trade,gov
Oregon	Scott Goddin	Scott.Goddin@trade.gov
Puerto Rico/Virgin Is	Jose Burgos	Jose.Burgos@trade.gov
Rhode Island	Keith Yatsuhashi	Keith.Yatsuhashi@trade.gov
Rocky Mountain	Paul Bergman	Paul.Bergman@trade.gov
San Diego	Matt Andersen	Matt.Andersen@trade.gov
South Carolina	Dorette Coetsee	Dorette.Coetsee@trade.gov
South Dakota	Cinnamon King	Cinnamon.King@trade.gov
So California	Rachid Sayouty	Rachid.Sayouty@trade.gov
Southern Ohio	Marcia Brandstadt	Marcia.Brandstadt@trade.gov
Tennessee	Dean Peterson	Dean.Peterson@trade.gov
Texas Camino Real	Karen Parker	Karen.Parker@trade.gov

Upstate NY	James Mariano	James.Mariano@trade.gov
US Mexico Border	James Kennedy	James.Kennedy@trade.gov
Utah	David Fiscus	David.Fiscus@trade.gov
Vermont	Susan Murray	Susan.Murray@trade.gov
VA-DC	Bill Fanjoy	William.Fanjoy@trade.gov
Washington	Bob Deane	Bob.Deane@trade.gov
West Texas	Harry Henson	Harry.Henson@trade.gov
West Virginia	Leslie Drake	Leslie.Drake@trade.gov
Western PA	Lyn Doverspike	Lyn.Doverspike@trade.gov
Wisconsin	Damian Felton	Damian.Felton@trade.gov