JURISDICTION

Each subcommittee shall have the following general jurisdiction and number of members:

- Conservation, Credit, Energy, and Research (32 members, 19 majority and 13 minority).—Soil, water, and resource conservation, small watershed program, energy and biobased energy production, rural electrification, agricultural credit, and agricultural research, education and extension services.
- Department Operations, Oversight, Nutrition, and Forestry (12 members, 7 majority and 5 minority).—Agency oversight, review and analysis, special investigations, food stamps, nutrition and consumer programs, forestry in general, and forest reserves other than those created from the public domain.
- General Farm Commodities and Risk Management (20 members, 12 majority and 8 minority).—Program and markets related to cotton, cottonseed, wheat, feed grains, soybeans, oilseeds, rice, dry beans, peas, lentils, the Commodity Credit Corporation, risk management, including crop insurance, and commodity exchanges.
- Horticulture and Organic Agriculture (12 members, 7 majority and 5 minority).—Fruits and vegetables, honey and bees, marketing and promotion orders, plant pesticides, quarantine, adulteration of seeds, and insect pests, and organic agriculture.
- Livestock, Dairy, and Poultry (20 members, 12 majority and 8 minority).— Livestock, dairy, poultry, meat, seafood and seafood products, inspection, marketing, and promotion of such commodities, aquaculture, animal welfare, and grazing.
- Rural Development, Biotechnology, Specialty Crops, and Foreign Agriculture (12 members, 7 majority and 5 minority).—Peanuts, sugar, tobacco, marketing orders relating to such commodities, rural development, farm security and family farming matters, biotechnology, foreign agricultural assistance, and trade promotion programs, generally.