The Office of the Chief Administrative Officer (CAO) was created during the 104th Congress (1995-1997). The predecessor to the CAO was the Director of Non-Legislative and Financial Services.

The Chief Administrative Officer is nominated by the Speaker of the House, elected by a majority of House members at the start of each Congress, and subject to the oversight of the Committee on House Administration. If there is a mid-Congress vacancy the Speaker of the House may nominate a replacement to serve until the start of a new Congress.


Congress (Years) 

Chief Administrative Officer

 Date Elected

104th (1995-97)

         Scot M. Faulkner

  Jan. 4, 1995


         Jeff Trandahl

  Nov. 22, 1996

105th (1997-99)

         Jeff Trandahl

  Jan. 9, 1997


         James M. Eagen, III

  July 31, 1997

106th (1999-2001)

         James M. Eagen, III

  Jan. 6, 1999

107th (2001-03)

         James M. Eagen, III

  Jan. 3, 2001

108th (2003-05)

         James M. Eagen, III

  Jan. 7, 2003

109th (2005-07)

         James M. Eagen, III

  Jan. 4, 2005

110th (2007-09)

         James M. Eagen, III

  Jan. 4, 2007


         Daniel P. Beard

  Feb. 15, 2007

111th (2009-11)

         Daniel P. Beard

  Jan. 6, 2009


         Daniel J. Strodel

  July 18, 2010

112th (2011-present)

         Daniel J. Strodel

  Jan. 5, 2011