US House of Representatives

House Leadership


Speaker of the House

Speaker Boehner

Speaker of the House

Rep. John Boehner
Elected by the whole of the House of Representatives, the Speaker acts as leader of the House. The Speaker of the House is second in line to succeed the President, after the Vice President.

Republican Leadership

Rep. Cantor

Majority Leader

Rep. Eric Cantor
Represents Republicans on the House floor.

Rep. McCarthy

Majority Whip

Rep. Kevin McCarthy
Assists leadership in managing party’s legislative program.

Rep. Hensarling

Republican Conference Chairman

Rep. Jeb Hensarling
Heads organization of all Republican Party members in the House.

Rep. Tom Price

Republican Policy Committee Chairman

Rep. Tom Price
Heads Conference forum for policy development.

Democratic Leadership

Democratic Leader Pelosi

Democratic Leader

Rep. Nancy Pelosi
Represents Democrats on the House floor.


Democratic Whip

Rep. Steny Hoyer
Assists leadership in managing party's legislative program.


Assistant Democratic Leader

Rep. James Clyburn
Works with caucuses and as liaison to Appropriations Committee.


Democratic Caucus Chairman

Rep. John Larson
Heads organization of all Democratic Party members in the House.