U.S. Senators who have received the Presidential Medal of Freedom

(Total = 21)

Senator	Date received
Howard H. Baker, Jr.,	March 26, 1984
Lloyd M. Bentsen	August 11, 1999
Edward Brooke	June 23, 2004
John Chafee	August 9, 2000
Robert Dole	January 17, 1997
J. William Fulbright	May 5, 1993
Barry M. Goldwater	March 12, 1986
Hubert H. Humphrey	June 9, 1980
Henry M. "Scoop" Jackson	June 26, 1984
Jacob K. Javits	February 23, 1983
Lyndon B. Johnson	June 9, 1980
John F. Kennedy	December 6, 1993
Herbert H. Lehman	January 28, 1964
Michael Mansfield	January 19, 1989
George McGovern	August 9, 2000
George J. Mitchell	March 17, 1999
Daniel Patrick Moynihan	August 9, 2000
Edmund S. Muskie	January 16, 1981
Gaylord Nelson	September 29, 1995

Claude Pepper

May 26, 1989

Margaret Chase Smith July 6, 1989

Sources: Wetterau, Bruce. *The Presidential Medal of Freedom: Winners and their Achievements*. Washington, D.C.: Congressional Quarterly, 1996; Senate Library.

Senate Historical Office June 2004