

U.S. Department of Justice

Office of Legislative Affairs

Office of the Assistant Attorney General

Washington, D.C. 20530

June 21, 2007

The Honorable John Conyers, Jr. Chairman
Committee on the Judiciary
U.S. House of Representatives
Washington, DC 20515

Dear Mr. Chairman:

This responds to your request that the Department produce certain official documents that were returned to the Department by Monica Goodling following her resignation from the Department. We note at the outset that a number of the documents that your staff had requested have previously been produced to Congress. See OAG000000573—OAG000000576, OAG000000754—OAG000000773. With respect to those documents that have not previously been produced, the enclosed documents represent the bulk of those requested, with only limited redactions to protect privacy and other interests. We are prepared to make unredacted copies of these documents available for review by Members and Committee staff.

A small number of the requested documents concern law enforcement interests or U.S. Attorneys whose departures were unconnected to the eight U.S. attorneys who were replaced. We are prepared to make those documents available for review by Members and Committee staff. Of the remaining 12 pages you requested, two of the pages have previously been noted on the Index of Goodling Documents Withheld on the Basis that They Were Generated for the Purpose of Responding to Congressional or Media Inquiries (Document #306), and will continue to be withheld. The remaining 10 pages of documents that were requested concern replacement candidates who were considered following the replacement of the eight U.S. Attorneys, and will be withheld, consistent with our prior correspondence to the Committee.

Please do not hesitate to contact this office if you would like additional assistance related to this matter.

Sincerely,

Richard A. Hertling

Poll A. Heat

Principal Deputy Assistant Attorney General

Enclosures

cc: The Honorable Lamar Smith Ranking Minority Member

The Honorable Patrick Leahy Chairman Committee on the Judiciary United States Senate

The Honorable Arlen Specter Ranking Minority Member Committee on the Judiciary United States Senate