## **District Profile**

Source: Nationalatlas.gov

The Second Congressional District of South Carolina extends from the state's capital city of Columbia in the Midlands, to the coastal cities of Beaufort and Hilton Head Island. The district is comprised of 6 full counties (Allendale, Barnwell, Beaufort, Hampton, Jasper, and Lexington) and parts of 4 others (Aiken, Calhoun, Orangeburg, and Richland).

Our district has a rich military tradition with bases in and around Beaufort and Columbia, including Beaufort Marine Corps Air Station, Parris Island Marine Corps Recruit Depot, Beaufort Naval Hospital, and Fort Jackson. Although Shaw Air Force base lies just outside the District in the northern Midlands, many of its personnel live in the Second District. We are proud of our troops and the support they enjoy in South Carolina and are thankful for their selfless dedication to protect the American people and our way of life.

South Carolina is renowned for its generous hospitality and its beautiful, historic landscape. With its beginnings in colonial America, South Carolina's rich history spans centuries. More Revolutionary war battlefields transverse South Carolina than anywhere else in the nation. Centuries-old gardens and historic homes are reminders of the Palmetto State's vibrant past. As you consider places to visit, I am hopeful you will remember South Carolina.

The following links will provide you with additional information about South Carolina:

- Colleges and Universities
- Community Resources
- County Links
- Military Bases
- Government Site