

Legislative Affairs Division 202-646-4500

State of Tennessee

Federal Disaster Declaration Fact Sheet

May 4, 2010

On May 4, 2010, President Obama declared a major disaster declaration for the State of Tennessee, triggering the release of Federal funds to help people and communities recover from the severe storms, flooding, straight-line winds, and tornadoes beginning April 30, 2010, and continuing. Details of this disaster declaration and assistance programs are as follows:

Declaration Number: FEMA-1909-DR

Incident: Severe Storms, Flooding, Straight-line Winds, and

Tornadoes

Incident Period: April 30, 2010, and continuing

Federal Coordinating Officer: Gracia B. Szczech

National FCO Program

Type of Assistance: <u>Individual Assistance</u>: (Assistance to individuals and

households):

Designated Counties: Cheatham, Davidson, Hickman, and Williamson

Counties.

Type of Assistance: <u>Public Assistance</u>: (Assistance to State and local

governments and certain private nonprofit

organizations for emergency work and the repair or

replacement of disaster-damaged facilities):

Designated Counties: Cheatham, Davidson, Hickman, and Williamson

Counties for debris removal and emergency protective measures (Categories A and B), including direct Federal assistance, under the Public Assistance

program.

Type of Assistance: <u>Hazard Mitigation Grant Program</u>: (Assistance to State

and local governments and certain private non-profit organizations for actions taken to prevent or reduce long-term risk to life and property from natural

hazards):

Designated Counties: All counties in the State of Tennessee are eligible to

apply for assistance under the Hazard Mitigation Grant

Program.

OTHER: Additional designations may be made at a later date after

further evaluation.

If you have any questions or need additional information on this Federal disaster declaration, please contact Jason Nelson at (202) 646-4500, FAX number (202) 646-3600.

###