## **Chairmen of the Committee on Finance**

<u>Name</u>	Party/State	Congress
George W. Campbell	DR-TN	December 14, 1815 – April 20, 1818
John W. Eppes	DR-VA	November 16, 1818 – March 3, 1819
Nathan Sanford	DR-NY	December 6, 1819 – March 3, 1821
John Holmes	DR-ME	December 3, 1821 – May 8, 1822
Walter Lowrie	DR-PA	December 2, 1822 – March 3, 1823
Samuel Smith	CR/J-MD	December 1, 1823 – March 2, 1833
Daniel Webster	Whig- MA	December 2, 1833 – July 4, 1836
Silas Wright, Jr.	D-NY	December 5, 1836 – March 3, 1841
Henry Clay	Whig-KY	May 31, 1841 – September 13, 1841
George Evans	Whig-ME	December 6, 1841 – March 3, 1845
Levi Woodbury	D-NH	March 10, 1845 – March 20, 1845
John C. Calhoun	D-SC	December 1, 1845 – January 7, 1846* *Excused at own request
Dixon H. Lewis	D-AL	January 7, 1846 – March 3, 1847
Charles G. Atherton	D-NH	December 6, 1847 – March 3, 1849
Daniel S. Dickinson	D-NY	March 7, 1849 – September 30, 1849
Robert M.T. Hunter	D-VA	December 3, 1849 – January 21, 1861* *Excused
James A. Pearce	D-MD	January 21, 1861 – March 3, 1861
William P. Fessenden	R-ME	March 4, 1861 – July 4, 1864 March 4, 1865 – March 3, 1867

John Sherman	R-OH	December 5, 1864 – March 3, 1865 March 4, 1867 – March 3, 1877
Justin S. Morrill	R-VT	October 15, 1877 – March 3, 1879 March 4, 1881 – March 3, 1893 December 2, 1895 – December 12, 1898* *Passed away while in office
Thomas F. Bayard, Sr.	D-DE	March 18, 1879 – March 3, 1881
Daniel W. Voorhees	D-IN	August 7, 1893 – March 3, 1895
Nelson W. Aldrich	R-RI	February 2, 1899 – March 3, 1911
Boies Penrose	R-PA	April 4, 1911 – March 3, 1913 April 2, 1917 – December 31, 1921* *Passed away while in office
Furnifold M. Simmons	D-NC	April 7, 1913 – March 2, 1917
Porter J. McCumber	R-ND	January 19, 1922 – March 3, 1923
Reed Smoot	R-UT	December 3, 1923 – March 3, 1933
Pat Harrison	D-MS	March 9, 1933 – June 22, 1941* *Passed away while in office
Walter F. George	D-GA	July 31, 1941 – August 2, 1946 January 3, 1949 – July 7, 1952
Eugene D. Millikin	R-CO	January 3, 1947 – December 31, 1948 January 3, 1953 – December 2, 1954
Harry Flood Byrd	D-VA	January 5, 1955 – November 10, 1965* *Resigned from the Senate
Russell B. Long	D-LA	January 14, 1966 – December 16, 1980
Robert J. Dole	R-KS	January 5, 1981 – October 12, 1984
Robert W. Packwood	R-OR	January 3, 1985 – October 18, 1986 January 4, 1995 – September 8, 1995* *Resigned from the Senate

Lloyd M. Bentsen, Jr.	D-TX	January 6, 1987 – October 8, 1992
Daniel Patrick Moynihan	D-NY	January 5, 1993 – December 1, 1994
William V. Roth, Jr.	R-DE	September 26, 1995 – December 15, 2000
Max Baucus	D-MT	January 3, 2001 – January 20, 2001 June 6, 2001 – November 22, 2002 January 4, 2007 – Present
Chuck Grassley	R-IA	January 20, 2001 – June 6, 2001 January 7, 2003 – December 9, 2006

DR – Democratic Republican CR – Crawford Republican

J – Jacksonian

D – Democratic

R-Republican