Committee Background

The Joint Economic Committee (JEC) is a bicameral Congressional Committee composed of ten members from each the Senate and the House of Representatives.  There are twelve Democrats and eight Republicans on the Committee.  The JEC was established by the Employment Act of 1946 (Public Law 304).  Its main purpose is to make a continuing study of matters relating to the US economy.  The Committee holds hearings, performs research and advises Members of Congress.

maloney 2

The JEC is currently chaired by Congresswoman Carolyn Maloney (D-NY)


The Vice Chair is Senator Charles Schumer (D-NY).