#### Regional Commissions: Brief History & Overview

- Establish unique intergovernmental partnership among federal and state leaders to target areas with chronic and severe poverty or economic distress
- Focus on building fundamental community building blocks needed to support economic development
- Provide gap financing/matching funds for projects

#### Federal-State Regional Commissions

Authorized and Funded

- Appalachian Regional Commission (1965)
- Delta Regional Authority (2000)
- Denali Commission in Alaska (1998)

Authorized

- Northern Great Plains Regional Authority (2002)
- Northern Border Regional Commission (2008)
- Southeast Crescent Regional Commission (2008)
- Southwest Border Regional Commission (2008)

#### New Federal-State Regional Commissions

Farm Bill Authorizes 3 New Regional Commissions:

- Northern Border Regional Commission
  - Parts of Maine, New Hampshire, New York and Vermont
- Southeast Crescent Regional Commission
  - Parts of Alabama, Florida, Georgia, Mississippi, North Carolina, South Carolina and Virginia
- Southwest Border Regional Commission
  - Parts of Arizona, California, New Mexico and Texas

#### Authorization Funding Levels:

- \$30 million annually for FY2008-2012 for each commission
- However, funding levels for each commission are subject to the annual federal appropriations process

#### Governance:

Voting leadership composed of:

- Federal Co-Chairperson, who is appointed by the President and confirmed by the US Senate
- Governors of each state in the region

Policy, funding and operational decisions all require the affirmative vote of the Federal Co-Chair and majority approval of the region's governors

#### **Core Functions of Each Regional Commission:**

- Assess the needs and assets of the region
- Develop economic and infrastructure strategies and provide grants to support development
- Encourage private investment
- Develop priorities in a regional plan with 5-year goals
- Work with states and locals to develop model development legislation
- Encourage interstate cooperation

#### **Project Funding:**

- 40 percent of funding reserved to develop transportation infrastructure, basic public infrastructure or telecommunications infrastructure
- 50 percent of overall funds are reserved for "distressed" counties and "isolated areas of distress"

### **Project Share:**

- Commission's share of a project cost will generally be no more than 50 percent
- In "distressed" counties or "isolated areas of distress" the Commission share may rise to 80 percent
- Regional projects involving three or more counties or more than one state is no more than 60 percent
- Commission share for planning and administrative grants to LDDs is no more than 80 percent
- Commission funds may be used as local match for other federal programs, but combined share capped at 80 percent

### **Project Selection:**

- Project and grant proposals will originate at the local level and then be submitted to the state for approval
- Approved projects are then forwarded to the Commission for certification and approval of the Federal Co-Chair
- Finally, projects must receive majority approval from the Commission (meaning at least a simple majority of the region's Governors)

# **Commission Meetings:**

- Each commission must have an initial meeting within 180 days of enactment and annually thereafter
- Representatives from each regional commission must meet together every two years to discuss issues confronting regions suffering from continuous distress as well as successful strategies for promoting regional development

# Northern Border Regional Commission Counties

- *Maine* the counties of Androscoggin, Aroostook, Franklin, Hancock, Kennebec, Knox, Oxford, Penobscot, Piscataquis, Somerset, Waldo, and Washington
- New Hampshire the counties of Carroll, Coos, Grafton, and Sullivan
- *Vermont* the counties of Caledonia, Essex, Franklin, Grand Isle, Lamoille, and Orleans
- *New York* the counties of Cayuga, Clinton, Essex, Franklin, Fulton, Hamilton, Herkimer, Jefferson, Lewis, Madison, Oneida, Oswego, Seneca, and St. Lawrence.