

MEMO

To: Homeland Security and Governmental Affairs Committee Record

From: Trina Driessnack Tyrer, Chief Clerk

Subject: Business Meeting on November 14, 2007

Date: November 14, 2007

The Committee on Homeland Security and Governmental Affairs held a business meeting at 10 a.m. on Wednesday, November 14, 2007, in SD-342.

1. <u>S. 2324, Inspector General Reform Act of 2007</u>

<u>Results</u>: Ordered reported favorably by voice vote, as amended by the Managers' Amendment.

Senators present: Lieberman, Carper, McCaskill, Tester, Collins, Stevens, Voinovich, Coleman, and Coburn.

A. Managers' Amendment to S. 2324

Results: Adopted by voice vote.

Senators present: Lieberman, Carper, McCaskill, Tester, Collins, Stevens, Voinovich, and Coleman.

2. S. 2292, National Bombing Prevention Act of 2007

<u>Results</u>: Ordered reported favorably by voice vote, as amended by the Collins-Lieberman Substitute Amendment (with Coburn voting "no").

Senators present: Lieberman, Carper, McCaskill, Tester, Collins, Stevens, Voinovich, Coleman, and Coburn.

A. Collins-Lieberman Substitute Amendment to S. 2292

Results: Adopted by voice vote.

Senators present: Lieberman, Carper, McCaskill, Tester, Collins, Stevens, Voinovich, Coleman, and Coburn.

B. Coburn Amendment #1 to S. 2292

Results: Withdrawn.

3. S. 1667, to establish a pilot program for the expedited disposal of Federal real property

<u>Results</u>: Ordered reported favorably by voice vote, as amended by the Lieberman-Collins-Carper-Coburn Substitute Amendment.

Senators present: Lieberman, Carper, McCaskill, Tester, Collins, Stevens, Voinovich, Coleman, and Coburn.

A. Lieberman-Collins-Carper-Coburn Substitute Amendment to S. 1667

Results: Adopted by voice vote.

Senators present: Lieberman, Carper, Landrieu, Collins, Coleman, and Coburn.

4. S. 1000, Telework Enhancement Act of 2007

<u>Results</u>: Ordered reported favorably by voice vote, as amended by the Akaka-Stevens Substitute Amendment.

Senators present: Lieberman, Carper, McCaskill, Tester, Collins, Stevens, Voinovich, Coleman, and Coburn.

A. Akaka-Stevens Substitute Amendment to S. 1000

Results: Adopted by voice vote.

Senators present: Lieberman, Carper, McCaskill, Tester, Collins, Stevens, Voinovich, and Coleman.

5. S. 2321, E-Government Reauthorization Act of 2007

Results: Ordered reported favorably by voice vote (with Coburn voting "no").

Senators present: Lieberman, Carper, McCaskill, Tester, Collins, Stevens, Voinovich, Coleman, and Coburn.

6. <u>H.R. 390, Preservation of Records of Servitude, Emancipation, and Post-Civil War</u> Reconstruction Act

<u>Results</u>: Ordered reported favorably by voice vote, as amended by Lieberman Amendment #1 (with Coburn voting "no").

Senators present: Lieberman, Carper, McCaskill, Tester, Collins, Stevens, Voinovich, Coleman, and Coburn.

A. Lieberman Amendment #1 to H.R. 390

Results: Adopted by voice vote.

Senators present: Lieberman, Carper, McCaskill, Tester, Collins, Stevens, Voinovich, and Coleman.

7. H.R. 3571, a bill to amend the Congressional Accountability Act of 1995 to permit individuals who have served as employees of the Office of Compliance to serve as the Executive Director, Deputy Executive Director, or General Counsel of the Office, and to permit individuals appointed to such positions to serve one additional term

Results: Ordered reported favorably by voice vote.

Senators present: Lieberman, Carper, McCaskill, Tester, Collins, Stevens, Voinovich, Coleman, and Coburn.

8. Nomination of Robert D. Jamison to be Under Secretary, U.S. Department of Homeland Security

<u>Results</u>: Ordered reported favorably en bloc by voice vote (with McCaskill and Tester voting "no") subject to the prior receipt by the Senate of a revised nomination from the White House nominating Mr. Jamison to the new Under Secretary position created by Public Law 110-53, the Implementing Recommendations of the 9/11 Commission Act of 2007.

Senators present: Lieberman, Carper, McCaskill, Tester, Collins, Stevens, Voinovich, Coleman, and Coburn.

9. <u>Nomination of Wiley Ross Ashley III to be Assistant Administrator of the Federal Emergency Management Agency, U.S. Department of Homeland Security</u>

Results: Ordered reported favorably en bloc by voice vote.

Senators present: Lieberman, Carper, McCaskill, Tester, Collins, Stevens, Voinovich, Coleman, and Coburn.

10. Nomination of the Honorable Ellen C. Williams to be a Member of the Postal Board of Governors

Results: Ordered reported favorably en bloc by voice vote.

Senators present: Lieberman, Carper, McCaskill, Tester, Collins, Stevens, Voinovich, Coleman, and Coburn.

11. **Post Office Naming Bills**

Results: Ordered reported favorably en bloc by voice vote.

Senators present: Lieberman, Carper, McCaskill, Tester, Collins, Stevens, Voinovich, Coleman, and Coburn.

- A. S. 2174, a bill to designate the facility of the United States Postal Service located at 175 South Monroe Street in Tiffin, Ohio, as the "Paul E. Gillmor Post Office Building;"
- B. H.R. 2089, a bill to designate the facility of the United States Postal Service located at 701 Loyola Avenue in New Orleans, Louisiana, as the "Louisiana Armed Services Veterans Post Office;"
- C. H.R. 3297, a bill to designate the facility of the United States Postal Service located at 950 West Trenton Avenue in Morrisville, Pennsylvania, as the "Nate DeTample Post Office Building;"
- D. H.R. 3308, a bill to designate the facility of the United States Postal Service located at 216 East Main Street in Atwood, Indiana, as the "Lance Corporal David K. Fribley Post Office;"
- E. H.R. 3530, a bill to designate the facility of the United States Postal Service located at 1400 Highway 41 North in Inverness, Florida, as the "Chief Warrant Officer Aaron Weaver Post Office Building;"
- F. H.R. 2276, a bill to designate the facility of the United States Postal Service located at 203 North Main Street in Vassar, Michigan, as the "Corporal Christopher E. Esckelson Post Office Building;"
- G. H.R. 3325, a bill to designate the facility of the United States Postal Service located at 235 Mountain Road in Suffield, Connecticut, as the "Corporal Stephen R. Bixler Post Office;"
- H. S. 2110, a bill to designate the facility of the United States Postal Service located at 427 North Street in Taft, California, as the "Larry S. Pierce Post Office;"
- I. H.R. 3382, a bill to designate the facility of the United States Postal Service located at 200 North William Street in Goldsboro, North Carolina, as the "Philip A. Baddour Sr. Post Office;"
- J. S. 2290, a bill to designate the facility of the United States Postal Service located at 16731 Santa Ana Avenue in Fontana, California, as the "Beatrice E. Watson Post Office Building;"
- K. S. 2272, a bill to designate the facility of the United States Postal Service known

Homeland Security and Governmental Affairs Committee Record November 14, 2007

- as the Southpark Station in Alexandria, Louisiana, as the "John 'Marty' Thiels Southpark Station;"
- L. H.R. 3446, a bill to designate the facility of the United States Postal Service located at 202 East Michigan Avenue in Marshall, Michigan, as the "Michael W. Schragg Post Office Building;"
- M. S. 2150/H.R. 3572, a bill to designate the facility of the United States Postal Service located at 4320 Blue Parkway in Kansas City, Missouri, as the "Wallace S. Hartsfield Post Office Building;"
- N. S. 2107/H.R. 3307, a bill to designate the facility of the United States Postal Service located at 570 Broadway in Bayonne, New Jersey, as the "Dennis P. Collins Post Office Building;"
- O. H.R. 3518, a bill to designate the facility of the United States Postal Service located at 1430 South Highway 29 in Cantonment, Florida, as the "Charles H. Hendrix Post Office Building."