House History

Republican Whips

(1897 to present)
The Republican Whip assists the Republican leadership in managing the party's legislative program on the House floor. The Whip keeps track of all legislation and ensures that all party members are present when important measures are to be voted upon. Information on the current activities of the Republican Whip is available at the House Republican Whip's Web site.

Congress Name State Years of Service
55th-58thJames A. TawneyMinnesota1897-1905
59th-60thJames E. WatsonIndiana1905-1909
61st-62ndJohn W. DwightNew York1909-1913
63rdCharles H. BurkeSouth Dakota1913-1915
64th-65thCharles M. HamiltonNew York1915-1919
66th-67thHarold KnutsonMinnesota1919-1923
68th-71stAlbert H. VestalIndiana1923-1931
72ndCarl G. BachmannWest Virginia1931-1933
73rd-78thHarry L. EnglebrightCalifornia1933-19431
78th-93rdLeslie C. ArendsIllinois1943-1975
94th-96thRobert H. MichelIllinois1975-1981
97th-100thTrent LottMississippi1981-1989
101stDick CheneyWyoming19892
101st-103rdNewt GingrichGeorgia1989-19952
104th-107thTom DeLay Texas1995-2003
108th-presentRoy BluntMissouri2003-present

1 Died in office, May 13, 1943.
2 Representative Gingrich was elected Whip on March 22, 1989, following Representative Cheney's resignation from the House on March 17, 1989, to become Secretary of Defense.

Office of the Clerk - U.S. Capitol, Room H154, Washington, DC 20515-6601
(202) 225-7000 |