

July 30, 2008

The Honorable Edward Kennedy Chairman Committee on Health, Education, Labor and Pensions U.S. Senate Washington, D.C. 20510

The Honorable Barbara Mikulski Acting Chairwoman Committee on Health, Education, Labor and Pensions U.S. Senate Washington, D.C. 20510

The Honorable Howard "Buck" McKeon Ranking Member Committee on Education and Labor U.S. House of Representatives Washington, DC 20515 The Honorable George Miller Chairman Committee on Education and Labor U.S. House of Representatives Washington, D.C. 20515

The Honorable Michael Enzi Ranking Member Committee on Heath, Education, Labor and Pensions U.S. Senate Washington, DC 20510

Dear Chairman Kennedy, Acting Chairwoman Mikulski, Chairman Miller, Ranking Member Enzi and Ranking Member McKeon:

We are writing today to express our appreciation for the work of the House and Senate on the College Opportunity and Affordability Act and specifically your efforts in creating the Education Disaster Loan provision (Title VIII, Section 824). In addition we are grateful that the committees have resolved issues regarding accreditation, campus crime, and illegal downloading as well as the inclusion of year-round Pell Grants, which are of great importance to many of our institutions.

As you know, the Education Disaster Loan provision was initially conceived as part of an effort to address the devastation of Hurricane's Katrina and Rita in 2005. The colleges and universities in our state have overcome tremendous obstacles and are providing critical resources to the region's continuing recovery. While the Gulf Coast Institutions remain our primary focus, we know that because of your work and support, this program will provide a financial lifeline to higher education institutions in the future should they be faced with a similar catastrophic disaster. The opportunity to have access to important bridge funding while working through the bureaucratic maze of insurance carriers and FEMA will be invaluable in times of crisis.

Again, we thank you for your support of this important program and look forward to the final passage of the bill.

Sincerely,

Scott Cowen

President, Tulane University

Timothy P. Ryan

Chancellor, University of New Orleans

Larry H. Hollier, M.D.

Chancellor, LSU-HSC at New Orleans

Rev. Kevin W. Wildes

President, Loyola University

Dr. Ron D. Wright

Chancellor, Delgado Community College

Thomas R. Warner

Chancellor, Nunez Community College

On Behalf Of:

Southern University New Orleans

Xavier University

Cc: U.S. Senator Mary Landrieu

U.S. Senator David Vitter

U.S. Representative William Jefferson

U.S. Representative Charlie Melancon

U.S. Representative Charles Boustany

U.S. Representative Jim McCrery

U.S. Representative Steve Scalise

U.S. Representative Don Cazayoux