You are viewing a Web site, archived on 01:40:39 Dec 12, 2008. It is now a Federal record managed by the National Archives and Records Administration.
External links, forms, and search boxes may not function within this collection. Note that this document was downloaded, and not saved because it was a duplicate of a previously captured version (17:11:41 Nov 24, 2008). HTTP headers presented here are from the original capture.

About the Office of the Clerk

Along with the other House officers, the Clerk is elected every two years when the House organizes for a new Congress. The majority and minority caucuses nominate candidates for the House officer positions after the election of the Speaker. The full House adopts a resolution to elect the officers, who will begin serving the Membership after they have taken the oath of office.

The Clerk of the House

The Honorable Lorraine C. Miller

Clerk of the U.S. House of Representatives

Lorraine C. Miller

Lorraine C. Miller was sworn in as the 35th Clerk of the House of Representatives on February 15, 2007. The clerk manages the day-to-day operations of the House and oversees nine departments that employ more than 270 people. She is the first African American and third woman to serve as an officer of the United States House of Representatives. Ms. Miller previously served as Senior Advisor and Director of Intergovernmental Relations to Speaker Nancy Pelosi and has nearly two decades of experience working for the House. In addition to working for Speaker Pelosi, Ms. Miller has worked for two other Speakers, Jim Wright and Tom Foley, as well as Congressman John Lewis of Georgia.

Ms. Miller’s extensive government tenure includes work as the Deputy Assistant to the President for Legislative Affairs (House) during the Clinton Administration. She served as Bureau Chief for Consumer Information at the Federal Communications Commission after serving four years as the Director of Government Relations for the Federal Trade Commission.

A life-long supporter and Golden Heritage Life member of the National Association for the Advancement of Colored People (NAACP), Ms. Miller was elected president of the Washington, D.C. Branch NAACP in 2004 and elected to the NAACP National Board of Directors in February 2008.

A native of Fort Worth, Texas, Ms. Miller graduated from North Texas State University with a bachelor’s degree in political science and later earned an executive master’s degree from the Georgetown School of Business. She is a member of the historic Shiloh Baptist Church of Washington, where she sings in its Senior Choir and a member of Shiloh’s Henry C. Gregory Family Life Center Foundation Board of Directors.

Deputy Clerk

Deborah M. Spriggs
Deputy Clerk of the U.S. House of Representatives

Robert Reeves
Deputy Clerk of the U.S. House of Representatives

Contact Information

Mailing Address
U.S. Capitol, Room H154, Washington, DC 20515–6601

Telephone Number
(202) 225–7000

Office Hours
9:00 AM–6:00 PM, Monday–Friday

Office of the Clerk - U.S. Capitol, Room H154, Washington, DC 20515-6601
(202) 225-7000 | info.clerkweb@mail.house.gov