## Congress of the United States

## Washington, DC 20515

October 17, 2008

The Honorable Henry M. Paulson, Jr. Secretary of the Treasury 1500 Pennsylvania Avenue NW Washington, D.C. 20220-0002 The Honorable Ben S. Bernanke Chairman, Federal Reserve Board of Governors Twentieth Street & Constitution Avenue NW Washington, DC 20551

Dear Secretary Paulson and Chairman Bernanke:

We write to express strong concerns about AIG's possible misuse of federal taxpayer funds.

It has come to our attention that, after the Federal Government provided a loan of \$85 billion to AIG, the AIG executives hosted a lavish \$440,000 retreat at the St. Regis Resort in Monarch Beach, California. Even more troubling, the day after this was revealed to the House Oversight and Government Reform Committee, the New York branch of the Federal Reserve announced it will borrow \$37.8 billion in investment-grade securities from AIG in exchange for cash.

At a time when many of our constituents have serious concerns about their own financial security, we demand that you ensure that no taxpayer funds were used by AIG to host this retreat. If taxpayer funds were used, we demand that AIG repay the American people in full. It is crucial that the American people be able to trust the actions of the Federal Reserve and the Treasury.

Vernon J. Ehlers **/** Member of Congress

David G. Reichert Member of Congress

Michael N. Castle Member of Congress

e Knollenberg

Member of Congress

Mark Steven Kirk Member of Congress

Sincerely,

Vhenty

James L. Oberstar Member of Congress

Chris Van Hollen Member of Congress

Wilson

Kirsten E. Gillibrand Member of Congress

Wen Moore

Member of Congress

Adam B. Schiff

Member of Congress

PRINTED ON RECYCLED PAPER

Tim Walberg Member of Congress

Christopher Shays Member of Congress

Judy Biggert

Member of Congress

John R. "Randy" Kuhl Member of Congress

Howard "Buck" McKeon Member of Congress

Miller

Candice S. Miller Member of Congress

MMM

Jim Ramstad Member of Congress

John Sullivan Member of Congress

02009

W. Todd Akin Member of Congress

en Shelley Berkley Member of Congress

Brian Higgins

Ed Perlmutter

Member of Congre

Member of Congress

James P. McGovern

James P. McGovern Member of Congress

Steve Cohen Member of Congress

Patrick J. Murphy Member of Congress

Janice D. Schakowsky

Member of Congress

Sander M. Levin Member of Congress

ter lelel

Peter Welch Member of Congress

T. Uldan

Michael T. McCaul Member of Congress

Dave Camp Member of Congress

wifd

David Dreier Member of Congress

Rodney Alexander Member of Congress

Tim Murphy

Member of Congress

16

Bob Inglis Member of Congress

Mary Bono Mack

Mary Bono Mack Member of Congress

Ric Keller Member of Congress

Joseph R. Pitts

Member of Congress

Raul M. Grijalva

Member of Congress

elisada

David Loebsack Member of Congress

utto

Betty Sutton Member of Congress

Muchav

Michael H. Michaud Member of Congress

Dale E. Kildee Member of Congress

Solomon P. Ortiz Member of Congress

Er L. had

Eliot L. Engel Member of Congress

Rosa L. DeLauro Member of Congress

Nita M. Lowey Member of Congress

irginia tox

Virginia Foxx Member of Congress

Doug Lamborn Member of Congress

Kay Granger

Member of Congress

Durel

Louie Gohmert Member of Congress

Todd Russell Platts Member of Congress

Henry E. Brown, Jr. Member of Congress

Thomas H. Allen Member of Congress

Greg Walden Member of Congress

Michael C. Burgess Member of Congress

Tim Holden Member of Congress

Bob Filner Member of Congress

Maurice D. Hinchey Member of Congress

il. Md

Mike McIntyre Member of Congress

Tammy Baldwin Member of Congress

Timothy V. Johnson Member of Congress

Sam Johnson Member of Congress

Michael R Simpson Member of Congress

Donald A. Manzullo Member of Congress

Page 5 Kline

John Kline Member of Congress

Shelley Moore Capito Member of Congress

Joe Wilson Member of Congress

Marilyn N. Musgrave Member of Congress

Pete Sessions Member of Congress

Jeff Fortenberry

Member of Congress

1. 1 0

Virgil H. Goode, Jr. Member of Congress

Thaddeus G. McCotter Member of Congress

erry Moran

Jerry Moran Member of Congress

lup

Fred Upton Member of Congress

Mark E. Souder Member of Congress

Peter Hoekstra Member of Congress

1-15

Bob Goodlatte Member of Congress

Dan Burton Member of Congress

Elton Gallegly Member of Congress

Walter B. Jones Member of Congress

John M. McHugh Member of Congress

Jo Ann Emerson Member of Congress

Christopher H. Smith Member of Congress

M. Hall

Ralph M. Hall Member of Congress

1 LoBuch

Frank A. LoBiondo Member of Congress

John Shimkus Member of Congress

Lee Terry Member of Congress

Vererombie

Neil Abercrombie Member of Congress

Tom en

Terry Everett Member of Congress