## [Table 1-53]

## SENATORS WHO RECEIVED THE CONGRESSIONAL MEDAL of HONOR (in order by date earned)

Date Earned	<u>Name</u>	Date Awarded	<u>Senate Service</u>
July 21, 1861	Adelbert Ames (R-MS)	March 29, 1899	1870-1874
December 13, 1862	Matthew S. Quay (R-PA)	July 9, 1888	1887-1899; 1901-1904
May 3, 1863	William J. Sewell (R-NJ)	March 25, 1896	1881-1887; 1895-1901
May 27, 1863	Francis E. Warren (R-WY)	Sept. 30, 1893	1890-1893; 1895-1929
October 19, 1864	Henry A. du Pont (R-DE)	April 2, 1898	1906-1917
April 21, 1945	Daniel K. Inouye (D-HI)	June 21, 2000	1963-
March 14, 1969	J. Robert Kerrey (D-NE)	May 14, 1970	1989-2001

Total = 7

**Source:** U.S., Congress, Senate, *Biographical Directory of the United States Congress, 1774-1989*, S. Doc. 100-34, 100th Cong., 2d sess., 1989; Medal of Honor Historical Society.

Senate Historical Office June 2004