Press Office

Home   /   District Profile / District Profile
North Carolina's Tenth Congressional District

To view a map of North Carolina's 10th District, click here.

North Carolina’s Tenth Congressional District encompasses some of the most breathtaking scenery America has to offer. The Tenth District stretches from the Tennessee border, where the Blue Ridge Mountains reach up to touch the Carolina Blue sky, all the way to the border with South Carolina.

The Tenth District is comprised, fittingly enough, of ten counties. U.S. Highway 321 is one of the main thoroughfares through the district, starting in historic Lincoln County which produced four Civil War generals and is home to the annual Apple Festival.

From there one would travel north to Catawba County, the center of the district which comprises 20% of the district’s population. Catawba County is also one of North Carolina’s largest counties geographically, stretching from the pristine shores of Lake Norman in the east, through the county seat of Newton to the largest city in the district, Hickory, in the west.

It is in Catawba County that Highway 321 becomes known as the “Furniture Corridor.” As one travels northwest out of Hickory and into Caldwell County, the road is lined with furniture retailers. From small antique shops, to massive outlets, this area is home to one of the largest concentrations of furniture manufacturers and retailers in the country. In fact, the welcome signs for Caldwell’s county seat, Lenoir, welcome visitors to “The Furniture Center of the South.”

Continuing north, one travels deep into the Blue Ridge Mountains to the counties of Avery and Mitchell, from which a large percentage of America’s Christmas trees come each year. The mountains here are some of the oldest in the world. Avery is home to much of North Carolina’s ski industry and Mitchell has vast natural resources including several gem mines. Each June, the Town of Bakersville in Mitchell County hosts the North Carolina Rhododendron Festival, celebrating the world's largest natural Rhododendron gardens atop beautiful Roan Mountain. 

Moving south in the Tenth District, there is sprawling Burke County, the home of legendary North Carolina Senator Sam Ervin. Like Caldwell County, Burke’s landscape is very diverse, ranging from mountains in the northern corners, to rolling foothills in the more southern regions. Burke’s county seat, Morganton, is home to several state offices and institutions including the North Carolina School for the Deaf.

Further south is Rutherford County. The textile industry built most of the small towns that dot this scenic county. However, most people do not know that Rutherford was also the location of America’s very first gold mint, run by the Bechtler family in the early 1800s. Rutherford is also home to Chimney Rock and Lake Lure, two of North Carolina’s most visited tourist towns.

To the east of Rutherford is Cleveland County. Two North Carolina governors have come from here and so have country music legends Earl Scruggs and Don Gibson. Both Cleveland County and its county seat, Shelby, are named after heroes of the Revolutionary War Battle of Kings Mountain, which occurred just to the south of the present day City of Kings Mountain.

Further to the east, the Tenth District takes in portions of Gaston County, including Crowder’s Mountain State Park and the City of Cherryville.

Cherryville is normally known as a baseball town but was also the home to North Carolina’s greatest football player, the legendary Charlie “Choo Choo” Justice of UNC and Washington Redskins fame.  Cherryville is also home to the famous New Year's Shooters who bring in each new year to the bang of black powder guns.

On the eastern edge of the Tenth District is the City of Mooresville in Iredell County.

Nestled on the eastern shores of Lake Norman, Mooresville is the second largest city in the district and the fastest growing. Known as “Race City USA,” Mooresville is home to several NASCAR teams and drivers including Dale Earnhardt, Jr.

The Tenth District is home to three four-year colleges: Lenoir Rhyne in Hickory, Gardner Webb in Boiling Springs and Lees-McRae in Banner Elk. The district is also blessed to have several of North Carolina’s fine community colleges and technical institutes including the Penland School of Crafts and the NASCAR Technical Institute.

  District Office: P.O. Box 1830, 87 4th St. NW Suite A, Hickory, NC 28603 Telephone: 828.327.6100 Fax: 828.327.8311
DC Office: 224 Cannon House Office Building, Washington, D.C. 20515 Telephone: 202.225.2576 Fax: 202.225.0316