Press Office

Home   /   News / Page

Contact: Brock McCleary (202) 225-2576

Disaster Assistance Available to all 10 Counties in Tenth District

Production losses caused by drought and excessive heat

Washington, Nov 10 -

Today, Congressman Patrick McHenry announced that all 10 counties comprising the Tenth District have qualified for federal loan assistance stemming from the drought and excessive heat experienced in 2008.

The U.S. Department of Agriculture (USDA) has determined that there were sufficient agriculture production losses to warrant a disaster designation across the Tenth District.  This designation makes farm operators in Avery, Burke, Caldwell, Catawba, Cleveland, Gaston, Iredell, Lincoln, Mitchell, and Rutherford Counties eligible for consideration of low-interest emergency loans from USDA’s Farm Service Agency (FSA).

For more information, farmer operators are encouraged to contact their local FSA offices.

Avery County:
FSA Farm Loan Office for Appraiser
140 Cranberry Street
Newland, NC 28657
(828) 733-7010

Burke & Caldwell Counties:
Burke County Farm Service Agency
130 Ammons Drive
Morganton, NC 28655
(828) 439-9727 ext 2

Catawba County:
Catawba County Farm Service Agency
1175 S. Brady Avenue
Newton, NC 28658
(828) 464-1382 ext 2

Cleveland County:
Cleveland County Farm Service Agency
844 Wallace Grove Drive
Shelby, NC 28150
(704) 471-0235 ext 2

Gaston & Lincoln Counties:
Gaston County Farm Service Agency
1303 Dallas Cherryville Highway
Dallas, NC 28034
(704) 922-3806

Iredell County:
Iredell County Farm Service Agency
444 Bristol Drive
Statesville, NC 28677
(704) 872-5061

Mitchell County:
Mitchell County Farm Service Agency
11943 S. 226 Highway
Spruce Pine, NC 28777
(828) 765-5049 ext 2

Rutherford County:
Rutherford County Farm Service Agency
121 Laurel Drive
Rutherfordton, NC 28139
(828) 287-4220



Print version of this document

  District Office: P.O. Box 1830, 87 4th St. NW Suite A, Hickory, NC 28603 Telephone: 828.327.6100 Fax: 828.327.8311
DC Office: 224 Cannon House Office Building, Washington, D.C. 20515 Telephone: 202.225.2576 Fax: 202.225.0316