**NEWS** 

House Foreign Affairs Committee U.S. House of Representatives

Ileana Ros-Lehtinen, Ranking Republican

CONTACT: Sam Stratman, (202) 226-7875, January 23, 2007 Lee Cohen (202) 225-1139

## For IMMEDIATE Release

## Ros-Lehtinen Announces Ranking GOP Members for Subcommittee Posts on Foreign Affairs

(WASHINGTON) - U.S. Rep. Ileana Ros-Lehtinen (R-FL), ranking Republican member on the House Foreign Affairs Committee, announced the appointment today of the senior GOP members on the committee's seven subcommittees.

Ros-Lehtinen named U.S. Rep. Christopher H. Smith (R-NJ) ranking member on the Subcommittee on Africa and Global Health; U.S. Rep. Dan Burton (R-IN), Subcommittee on the Western Hemisphere; U.S. Rep. Elton Gallegly (R-CA), Subcommittee on Europe; U.S. Rep. Dana Rohrabacher (R-CA), Subcommittee on International Organizations, Human Rights and Oversight; U.S. Rep. Edward R. Royce (R-CA), Subcommittee on Terrorism, Nonproliferation, and Trade; U.S. Rep. Donald A. Manzullo (R-IL), Subcommittee on Asia, the Pacific and the Global Environment; and U.S. Rep. Mike Pence (R-IN), Subcommittee on the Middle East and South Asia.

"The Republican members of the committee represent an extraordinary array of talent and experience in the area of foreign policy, and are well-equipped to address the broad spectrum of threats and opportunities that our country now faces," said Ros-Lehtinen.

"In the new Congress, we expect on-going debate on issues ranging from America's role in Iraq and Afghanistan to making our nation safe from the scourge of international terrorism, narcotics, and crime. We look forward to working with our Democrat colleagues on a bipartisan basis to further U.S. interests, but will hold the majority accountable when they seek to politicize U.S. policy for partisan purposes," she added.

Ros-Lehtinen said that the appointments will be confirmed later today when the committee formally organizes.

In addition to Ros-Lehtinen and the seven ranking members, the committee will also include GOP Reps. Steve Chabot (OH), Thomas G. Tancredo (CO), Ron Paul (TX), Jeff Flake (AZ), Jo Ann Davis (VA), Thaddeus G. McCotter (MI), Joe Wilson (SC), John Boozman (AR), J. Gresham Barrett (SC), Connie Mack (FL), Jeff Fortenberry (NE), Michael T. McCaul (TX), Ted Poe (TX), Bob Inglis (SC), Luis G. Fortuño (PR).

##30##