This web site was copied prior to December 11, 2006. It is now a Federal record managed by the National Archives and Records Administration. External links, forms, and search boxes may not function within this collection. Learn more.   [hide]
May 11, 2006

Pryce Announces Winners of 2006 Congressional High School Art Competition

Columbus, Ohio – Congresswoman Deborah Pryce (R-Upper Arlington) today announced the winners of the 2006 Congressional Art Competition for high school students in her district.  The entries were displayed and reviewed at the Drexel Gateway Theater.

"There are so many gifted, young artists in Central Ohio and the ‘Artistic Discovery’ program is a wonderful opportunity to showcase their talents,” Pryce said.  “And I encourage families visiting the U.S. Capitol Building to view the exhibition, and enjoy the vast array of entries from districts all across our nation.”

The first place winner is Stephanie Lukito, a senior at Dublin Scioto High School.  As a result of her win, her scratchboard entry entitled, “Self-Portrait #1” will be displayed in a national exhibition near the U.S. Capitol building in Washington, D.C., for one year.  Stephanie will also be invited along with her family to attend a gala reception in the nation’s capital on June 28th to kick off the 2006 "An Artistic Discovery" exhibit.  Southwest Airlines graciously donated ticket vouchers for the family’s travel to Washington.

Second place went to Natalie Krauss, an 11th grader from Hilliard Darby High School, who submitted an acrylic painting entitled "Inside.”  Drew Reihle from Dublin Scioto High School entered digital art entitled "Her Crows," which received the third place prize. The three top prize recipients each received a gift certificate from Blick Art Materials in Dublin.

Now in its 25th year, "An Artistic Discovery" is the annual nationwide Congressional High School Art Competition initiated by Members of the United States House of Representatives. Pryce has participated in the "Artistic Discovery" program since her first term in 1993.