This web site was copied prior to December 11, 2006. It is now a Federal record managed by the National Archives and Records Administration. External links, forms, and search boxes may not function within this collection. Learn more.   [hide]
June 14, 2006

Pryce Honored with Cancer
Leadership Award

OSU James Cancer Hospital, Stefanie Spielman among presenters  

WASHINGTON, DC – On Tuesday, Congresswoman Deborah Pryce (R-Upper Arlington) was recognized with the 2006 Congressional Leadership Award by the Alliance of Dedicated Cancer Centers (ADCC) for her efforts to advance cancer-specific causes and issues at both the state and national levels.  Pryce was the sole recipient of this honor.

“It is profoundly humbling to be recognized with this award,” said Pryce.  “While I strive to keep cancer-related issues at the forefront of the congressional agenda, our work is but ancillary to compassionate care and groundbreaking research being performed at the James and other ADCC member institutions.  They are the heroes in our shared fight against this dreadful disease.”

Presenting Pryce with the award were Dennis Smith, Executive Director of the James Cancer Hospital, Dr. Michael Caligiuri, Director of OSU’s Comprehensive Cancer Center, and Stefanie Spielman, a breast cancer survivor and advocate, and wife of former OSU football star and All-Pro NFL linebacker Chris Spielman. 

“The award itself is a manifest honor, but to receive it from a woman as courageous and inspiring as Stefanie Spielman is deeply meaningful to me. Stefanie is as effective an advocate for cancer research as any I have ever met, and her impact on the search for a breast cancer cure is immeasurable.”

Pryce is Co-Chair of the House Cancer Caucus .  She is the author of the Access to Cancer Therapies Act, the Compassionate Care for Children Act, the Access to Cancer Clinical Trials Act, and the Conquer Childhood Cancer Act, and is founder of Hope Street Kids, a nonprofit charity dedicated to pediatric cancer research.

The OSU James Cancer Hospital is one of 10 nationally recognized comprehensive cancer centers that comprise the Alliance of Dedicated Cancer Centers. The Cancer Centers play a pivotal role in the National Cancer Program, which was enacted by Congress in 1971 to improve the detection, prevention, diagnosis and treatment of cancer.

ADCC members include:

  • The Arthur G. James Cancer Hospital and Solove Research Institute
  • Memorial Sloan Kettering Cancer Center
  • Fox Chase Cancer Center
  • UM Sylvester Comprehensive Cancer Center
  • Dana-Farber Cancer Institute
  • Seattle Cancer Care Alliance
  • Roswell Park Cancer Institute
  • H. Lee Moffitt Cancer Center & Research Institute
  • The University of Texas MD Anderson Cancer Center
  • City of Hope

    *Click here for photo.