This web site was copied prior to December 11, 2006. It is now a Federal record managed by the National Archives and Records Administration. External links, forms, and search boxes may not function within this collection. Learn more.   [hide]
Congresswoman Deborah Pryce | Proudly Serving Ohio's 15th Congressional District
Columbus, Ohio
Home > House Cancer Caucus

House Cancer Caucus


2015 & House Cancer Caucuses Resolve to Find a Cure for Cancer

WASHINGTON, D.C . - U.S. Reps. Clay Shaw (R-FL) and Collin Peterson
(D-MN), co-founders of the 2015 Caucus, along with the co-chairs of the House Cancer Caucus, Reps. Deborah Pryce (R-OH), Sue Myrick (R-NC),
Lois Capps (D-CA) and Steve Israel (D-NY) will hold a press conference on Wednesday, September 21, to announce their resolution to find a cure for
a cancer, or treat it as a manageable disease, by the year 2015. Dr. Andrew von Eschenbach, National Cancer Institute (NCI) Director, and American Cancer Society CEO, Dr. John Seffrin, will join the Members in expressing their commitment to the goal of eliminating cancer death and suffering by the year 2015. 

Cancer survivors themselves, Reps. Clay Shaw (R-FL) and Collin Peterson (D-MN) co-founded the bipartisan 2015 Caucus in 2003 as a forum for House Members who have cancer or who have defeated it. The Caucus
also includes Members who have a spouse, child, parent or sibling who have been directly affected by the disease. 

The 2015 Resolution is named for the National Cancer Institute's (NCI)
goal of treating cancer as a manageable disease rather than a life-threatening disease in the next ten years. Shaw and Peterson believe
that with the right resources and scientific developments, great strides
can be made to make cancer a manageable disease, and become one
step closer in the quest for a cure.

The House Cancer Caucus co-chairs who will be present at the event include: House Republican Conference Chairman Deborah Pryce (R-OH),
Lois Capps (D-CA), Sue Myrick (R-NC) and Steve Israel (D-NY).

Wednesday, September 21, 2005
2:00pm EST
Cannon Terrace
Capitol Hill Washington, D.C.

Reps. Clay Shaw & Collin Peterson
Chairman Deborah Pryce
Rep. Sue Myrick
Rep. Lois Capps
Rep. Steve Israel
Dr. Andrew von Eschenbach, National Cancer Institute Director
Dr. John R. Seffrin, PhD, American Cancer Society CEO

Featured Links
Members of the House Cancer Caucus

Home | Search | Privacy Statement | Site Map                                                                                     DHS Threat Advisory
Office of Congresswoman Deborah Pryce  |  204 Cannon  |  Washington, DC  20515  |  p: (202) 225-2015