This web site was copied prior to December 11, 2006. It is now a Federal record managed by the National Archives and Records Administration. External links, forms, and search boxes may not function within this collection. Learn more.   [hide]
Download David's latest & previous District Newsletters.

Download Newsletters

Click Here For More Information
Home   /   State / Rockdale, Newton and Walton Counties

In 1870, the state legislature took incorporated Rockdale County from parts of Henry and Newton Counties making it the 133rd of 159 counties in Georgia. At 133 square miles, Rockdale is the second smallest county in the state. The county was named after Rockdale Church as well as the vein of granite that runs beneath it. The county seat, Conyers, is also the only incorporated municipality in the county. It is named after a local physician who donated the right of way for the first railroad and a lot for the railway depot. Rockdale County is a fast growing suburban community that is located 24 miles east of Atlanta on I-20.

Newton County was formed in 1821 becoming the 53rd county in Georgia. It is named after revolutionary war hero, John Newton. Covington, the county seat, used to be known as the Hollywood of the south due to the high number of television shows that were filmed there, including “In the Heat of the Night” and “the Dukes of Hazard.”

Walton County was organized as Georgia’s 46th County in 1819 as a result of the Lottery Act of 1818. The county is named after George Walton, one of Georgia’s three signers of the Declaration of Independence and one of only three Georgians to be a United States Senator and a Governor. Including Governor Walton, eight Georgia governors have come from Walton County.

Biography | District Resources | News | Calendar | Issues & Legislation
Services | Photo Album | Contact | Privacy | Home